We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good size rooms for NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Ledyard,CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location. Good size rooms for NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Room was well layed out. Clean. Updated furnishings. Nice bedding. Bathroom was good size but poor choice of toilet. Room was very warm even for Nov. we had to turn the air on. Our room was on 2nd floor so in path of the bar. Other than some rude guests at 6 am yelling at each other down the hall the hall noise was fine. We also did nt need to use elevator just had one flight of stairs.
The breakfast was a little more than I expected. Bread, donuts, yogurt, juices, coffee and some hard boiled eggs. Cold cereal and oatmeal. The problem is the other guests aren't exactly polite or neat. It was so busy and people were so rude blocking the toasters standing in the way of fridges, we left. Being busy the staff couldn't keep up with cleaning. Especially since the guest couldn't be bothered to clean up their trash.
Staff at the desk was not overly friendly but since she was alone at the desk and had to check us in while trying to answer questions from someone on the phone I figure nothing to be bothered with.
The lobby and computer area was nice. Good chairs and tables.
All in all I would stay again. Great lcatin to resturants and sight seeing picks. Close to subway access. We came one night to see the Macy's parade, so it was perfect location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    931
    286
    84
    76
See reviews for
617
655
95
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lago Vista, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clean room, good continential breakfast at no extra charge, great location, helpful staff - We forgot things in our room and they held it for two days until we could pick it up. No extra person fee, some hotels charge when we travel as a family. Bar prices were lower than other bars close by. Perfect place to stay for Macy Day Parade less than a block from the route on the slightly less crowded side of the street. GREAT $1 slice pizza at place next door, best food deal in NYC (loved the itialin pop music)

Room Tip: We stayed on a busy weekend so had to wait for the elevator and probably would have picked a lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear lakechiro,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had fun at the Parade. Our staff works very hard to make sure guests are happy so we will certainly pass your kind words on to them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family on your next trip to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our bus tour hotel .. centrally located and our very clean room on the 12th floor was quiet. OUr room bigger than expected and always done up well and towels etc always plentiful. Having access to drinking water and other beverages 24 hours a day in the lobby was a bonus. Breakfast was adequate...and even as late comers one morning found all the items in good supply. Not a luxury hotel and the buildings nearby were being renovated with lots of construction mess etc but that is progress...We walked to the theatres and other events .... would go back to this hotel .. found it very satisfactory.. staff, especially young man "Sonny "very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors to eradicate street and construction noise.A little bar frig in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel at Times Square 18th-20th October and 27th-29th October extended to 4th November due Hurricane Sandy. When our flight home was cancelled the Front Desk staff most helpful in extending our stay in the same room. Both visits we had a bedroom with two Queen sized beds, The rooms were clean with plenty storage space and adequate sized. Beds were very comfortable and no noise was experienced during both visits. Good continental breakfast with boiled eggs, although breakfast room was busy at times resulting in having to wait for a table. This was included in the room rate. All the staff were very pleasant and helpfull and the concierge desk especially so. The hotel is two blocks from Times Square and most theatres within walking distance. Would not hesitage to return any future visit to New York and highly recommend this budjet hotel.

Room Tip: 9021 and 10021
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went with Family for a few days to NYC,stayed here,it was great. We had 3 rooms,they put us on the same floor,you could use the stairs if you wanted.
The breakfast there in AM is great,Your basic fruit,bagels,yogurt,cereal ,danish-but instead of going out with so many in our group,it was very helpful not to have to go find somewhere to have breakfast.
The italian restaurant across the street was very good and close.
3 Blocks from Times Square-
Staff very helpful. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

With only 2 days in New York and a tight budget, the Hotel @ Times Square ticked all the right boxes for me.

I knew that I wanted to be within walking distance to Times Square, so I was very happy to find this Hotel offering discounted rates.

I had booked to stay the previous week but due to the arrival of hurricane Sandy had to postpone.

The Hotel was happy to change the dates for me. The Hotel had only had their power restored the day before I arrived. I would have never know there had been any disruptions as everything about the Hotel was running efficiently.

My room was clean and as it was already available the staff were happy to let me check in earlier which I really appreciated.

Some of the reviews I had read stated that the room was tiny. I disagree. Although not being huge, the room was a great size with plenty storage space in both a large cupboard as a large chest of drawers.

The bathroom was fully equipped with everything you could possible need. It's favourite feature for me being the lovely hot shower which had plenty of water pressure.

The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on.

The complimentary breakfast was far more extensive than I had expected. It included yoghurt, cereal, fresh fruit, toast, bagels, donuts, hard boiled eggs, juice, tea, coffee hot chocolate and even daily newspapers.

The wifi in the room was very fast and reliable.

The hotel has a lovely lounge room with a large heater which is very welcoming.

The hotel is located 2 blocks from Times Square which is great because you are so close to Times Square and yet removed enough so as not hear the noise of Times Square.

The Hotel is getting a little older, but it is clean and convenient.

I would highly recommend the Hotel @ Times Square and hope to,stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Where should I begin? was it the fact that I asked to move to another room and received a counter welcoming answer with zero patience from the receptionist? or was it the fact that I had to wait for more than 20 minutes for the elevator and than to share it with the cleaning lady and her cleaning cart leaving no space on the elevator?
My room was located on the midst of the stairway which many other guests used in lack of elevator activity what made it VERY noisy on all hours and I found it very hard to sleep nor to rest. The room was not clean, fresh air was sparse and the ironing table was broken.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Amots Y,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not pleased with your experience at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to share an elevator with a member of the cleaning staff. As with many city center hotels, the staff sometimes have to use during the day while guests are in it. Our staff works very hard to ensure that everything is cleaned thoroughly and that the appliances in the room are all working. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience.

The overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy their stay because of the excellent location and value and many of our prior reviews in this forum and elsewhere reflect that.

We hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.