We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you can find a different hotel, you'd better do it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“if you can find a different hotel, you'd better do it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Where should I begin? was it the fact that I asked to move to another room and received a counter welcoming answer with zero patience from the receptionist? or was it the fact that I had to wait for more than 20 minutes for the elevator and than to share it with the cleaning lady and her cleaning cart leaving no space on the elevator?
My room was located on the midst of the stairway which many other guests used in lack of elevator activity what made it VERY noisy on all hours and I found it very hard to sleep nor to rest. The room was not clean, fresh air was sparse and the ironing table was broken.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Amots Y,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not pleased with your experience at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to share an elevator with a member of the cleaning staff. As with many city center hotels, the staff sometimes have to use during the day while guests are in it. Our staff works very hard to ensure that everything is cleaned thoroughly and that the appliances in the room are all working. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience.

The overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy their stay because of the excellent location and value and many of our prior reviews in this forum and elsewhere reflect that.

We hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    874
    265
    79
    71
See reviews for
581
615
88
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently stayed three nights at The Hotel in New York’s Times Square and really enjoyed ourselves.

The Hotel is on West 46th Street between 6th Avenue (Avenue of the Americas) and 5th Avenue in Mid-town Manhattan. It’s conveniently located just a short walk from Times Square, and had many amenities near by including a pharmacy, restaurants/bars, and shopping.

The Hotel is roughly a 45 minute taxi ride from Newark Airport on a good day, but leave yourself 2+ hours on days when traffic is at a standstill around NYC. Believe it or not, we were actually stuck at one intersection for almost 25 minutes due to gridlock at 5pm on a Tuesday!

About the Hotel:
- It seemed like a modernized Manhattan apartment building, and we had no complaints with it. It had two passenger elevators, and a staircase if you preferred to walk.
- Our room was clean, and well furnished with a king-sized bed, a flat screen TV, in room programmable-safe, and a large bathroom with a full size tub/shower. One problem with the bathroom however, was the fact that the door had frosted glass on it, which when someone used the washroom during the night, acted like a giant night light which lit-up the rest of the room. Our room had independent Heating/AC controls, and the windows also opened (although the Hotel discouraged guests from opening them for liability). The room was surprisingly quiet, and the window’s blackout curtains helped keep the sunrise out until we were ready to wake up. A downside to the area was the construction noise from outdoors, but your can’t fault the Hotel for its neighbours.
- The Hotel offered a modest continental breakfast each morning, and we were pleasantly surprised with the dining hall and its menu. The room was very clean, and the selection included Coffee/Tea/Juices/Milk along with Boiled Eggs/Cereal/Toast/Bagels/Doughnuts/Fresh fruit/Yoghurt daily. There was definitely enough variety to jump start us before heading out for the day.
- In the evening there’s a quaint little bar on the second floor that doesn’t hide the fact that it’s small. There’s seating for maybe 10 people, but cozy enough that we’d pop in for a night cap each night after a day of sightseeing.
- Wi-Fi is available throughout the Hotel, but our opinion may be biased because it was extremely difficult to for us connect to. We were using Blackberry cell-phones, while our friends had no difficulty connecting to their eReaders or Apple devices.
- There’s no gift shop at the Hotel, so definitely get to know the neighbourhood if you’ll need snacks or travel goods.
- There’s a tour desk on the ground floor and staff were able to offer us suggestions on sightseeing/dining/directions. On our final day, the CSR was able to book a shuttle van for us so to get back to Newark Airport.
- The price for our room was a bit pricey ($315.31 w/taxes per night), but relative to other Hotels in the area I suppose we got a good deal. (We were in New York City after all!)

Any regrets? Not really. We thought our Hotel was in a great location, and easily within walking distance to many places we visited. The Front Desk staff were very pleasant, and we didn’t feel that we couldn’t turn to them if a problem arose – which it didn’t. Overall, we would definitely stay at The Hotel at Times Square whenever visiting New York City. They were very good!

Here’s a few tips we’d learned in our travels:
- Be sure to a take business card of your Hotel and keep it with you. It’s easier to tell a taxi driver the exact address rather than taking a costly scenic tour back to your hotel!
- To get a feel for the neighbourhood before your visit go online to Google Maps/Street View. We were able to see many nearby businesses, and had an idea of what to expect before we got there. It was extremely helpful!
- Visit the nearby dollar store which is a quick walk up the street near W46th Street and 5th Avenue. We went there often for water, snacks and even soap for some last minute laundry.
- Traffic in Manhattan can be brutal! Be sure to give yourself plenty of extra time if you’re travelling to the airport and/or anyplace with a deadline.
- Pack a sleeping mask & ear plugs if you’re a light sleeper. You never know who your neighbours might be one night!
- For a quick bite, try eating at a food-truck for a change! There’s so much variety out there, and it hasn’t been sitting around like on hot-dog carts.
- For another quick bite goto 2 Bros Pizza which is next door to the hotel. You can grab a cheese-slice for only a dollar! (Other slices cost slightly more)

Room Tip: Caution for travellers with children - the windows in the rooms do open, and there are no screens. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed during the hurricaine Sandy and found the hotel comfortable and a good deal for the price. The internet and tv problems were probably due to the weather but there were some indications from staff that they have on going problems. Normally TV would not be an issue but during the storm it was our life line to what was going on, the effects and length of the storm, what was closed (everything) and how the airports fared.
The price was excellent compared to other NYC hotels
We moved to Comfort Inn Manhattan half way though the trip to take advantage of reward miles and would have preferred to stay at the Hotel at Times Square. Comfort Inn was dark and dated in comparison.
Hotel at Times Square was better for location, hotel room sized and updates. It was much closer to times Square and Midtown attractions.
Comfort Inn Manhattan had a better breakfast and was better for access to lower Manhattan which we could access after the storm. It was closer to the subway.

Room Tip: rooms off the street are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here (the week before Hurricane Sandy) for 3 nights. The stay was what we expected from a New York hotel. The check in process wasn't very friendly but every staff we encountered after that was incredibly helpful and pleasant. Our room was big and clean with an "amazing" dress mirror but the room was very dark! Our windows were blocked out and our bathroom didn't have a fan. After two days our bathroom started smelling like urine. It was the oddest thing and we had to shut the bathroom door to prevent the smell from penetrating into our sleeping and clothes area. No maid came in to clean it up. We're assuming the smell may have been coming from the shower curtains. The hallways were filled with garbage bags when we checked in too but we soon realized that it was NYC's trash day and every one left their garbage on the sidewalk so they must have been moving it downstairs. The bartender and the bar on the 2nd floor is super quaint and cozy. Drinks were priced very affordable. During our stay the elevator broke once which meant we had to climb the 7 floors to our room. That wasn't problematic for us but we felt sorry for the older guests. There were a lot of them. The coffee machine also broke once but all the broken stuff were fixed immediately. Overall - the staff really knew their guests and after our first night there they all knew who we were and always greeted us. The location of the hotel is terrific!!!! If you're looking to save $$$ you'll get what you paid for here. Wasn't a 5 star hotel but its what we expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its atmosphere. There was a nice touch of quality about the place, but without any of the stuffiness that you get in many of the overrated hotels. I stayed with a friend twice within a few days, and the first time had a deluxe room, which is worth the extra bit of money if you like a little space or privacy. The reception staff were helpful by and large, although I preferred some to others. I would definitely stay here again; this hotel does all the important things well and is suitably modern and comfortable. We did have a slight issue at the end when a receptionist booked us a taxi (without us really asking for it) when he knew we were leaving the next morning, and the taxi driver than tried to charge us over the odds, but this was just a minor blip in what was otherwise a great hotel, but I will definitely catch my own taxi next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.