We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic cosy and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #289 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“basic cosy and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed during the hurricaine Sandy and found the hotel comfortable and a good deal for the price. The internet and tv problems were probably due to the weather but there were some indications from staff that they have on going problems. Normally TV would not be an issue but during the storm it was our life line to what was going on, the effects and length of the storm, what was closed (everything) and how the airports fared.
The price was excellent compared to other NYC hotels
We moved to Comfort Inn Manhattan half way though the trip to take advantage of reward miles and would have preferred to stay at the Hotel at Times Square. Comfort Inn was dark and dated in comparison.
Hotel at Times Square was better for location, hotel room sized and updates. It was much closer to times Square and Midtown attractions.
Comfort Inn Manhattan had a better breakfast and was better for access to lower Manhattan which we could access after the storm. It was closer to the subway.

Room Tip: rooms off the street are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    1,098
    363
    100
    90
See reviews for
728
779
105
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here (the week before Hurricane Sandy) for 3 nights. The stay was what we expected from a New York hotel. The check in process wasn't very friendly but every staff we encountered after that was incredibly helpful and pleasant. Our room was big and clean with an "amazing" dress mirror but the room was very dark! Our windows were blocked out and our bathroom didn't have a fan. After two days our bathroom started smelling like urine. It was the oddest thing and we had to shut the bathroom door to prevent the smell from penetrating into our sleeping and clothes area. No maid came in to clean it up. We're assuming the smell may have been coming from the shower curtains. The hallways were filled with garbage bags when we checked in too but we soon realized that it was NYC's trash day and every one left their garbage on the sidewalk so they must have been moving it downstairs. The bartender and the bar on the 2nd floor is super quaint and cozy. Drinks were priced very affordable. During our stay the elevator broke once which meant we had to climb the 7 floors to our room. That wasn't problematic for us but we felt sorry for the older guests. There were a lot of them. The coffee machine also broke once but all the broken stuff were fixed immediately. Overall - the staff really knew their guests and after our first night there they all knew who we were and always greeted us. The location of the hotel is terrific!!!! If you're looking to save $$$ you'll get what you paid for here. Wasn't a 5 star hotel but its what we expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its atmosphere. There was a nice touch of quality about the place, but without any of the stuffiness that you get in many of the overrated hotels. I stayed with a friend twice within a few days, and the first time had a deluxe room, which is worth the extra bit of money if you like a little space or privacy. The reception staff were helpful by and large, although I preferred some to others. I would definitely stay here again; this hotel does all the important things well and is suitably modern and comfortable. We did have a slight issue at the end when a receptionist booked us a taxi (without us really asking for it) when he knew we were leaving the next morning, and the taxi driver than tried to charge us over the odds, but this was just a minor blip in what was otherwise a great hotel, but I will definitely catch my own taxi next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is conviently located, in New York' midtown, near the Avenue of Americas and Times Square, i.e. the Theatre District. The room was rather large (for New York). "Continental" breakfast, including fresh fruit, bagels, cream cheese, etc. was included, which we appreciated a lot. However, our room on the fifth floor overlooking 46th street was noisy; at 6 A.M. trucks were showing up...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

+ free wi-fi and coffee 24 hour
+ good location

- very dirty and old rooms (flaked plaster and wallpaper)
- not customer oriented stuff in the bar on 2nd floor
- constraction work outside so very noisy
- very good audibility like you live with all you neighbours
- noisy air conditional

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.