We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying in New York with Sandy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 446 hotels in New York City
Write a Review

1,531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    718
    215
    62
    66
See reviews for
469
508
73
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here (the week before Hurricane Sandy) for 3 nights. The stay was what we expected from a New York hotel. The check in process wasn't very friendly but every staff we encountered after that was incredibly helpful and pleasant. Our room was big and clean with an "amazing" dress mirror but the room was very dark! Our windows were blocked out and our bathroom didn't have a fan. After two days our bathroom started smelling like urine. It was the oddest thing and we had to shut the bathroom door to prevent the smell from penetrating into our sleeping and clothes area. No maid came in to clean it up. We're assuming the smell may have been coming from the shower curtains. The hallways were filled with garbage bags when we checked in too but we soon realized that it was NYC's trash day and every one left their garbage on the sidewalk so they must have been moving it downstairs. The bartender and the bar on the 2nd floor is super quaint and cozy. Drinks were priced very affordable. During our stay the elevator broke once which meant we had to climb the 7 floors to our room. That wasn't problematic for us but we felt sorry for the older guests. There were a lot of them. The coffee machine also broke once but all the broken stuff were fixed immediately. Overall - the staff really knew their guests and after our first night there they all knew who we were and always greeted us. The location of the hotel is terrific!!!! If you're looking to save $$$ you'll get what you paid for here. Wasn't a 5 star hotel but its what we expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its atmosphere. There was a nice touch of quality about the place, but without any of the stuffiness that you get in many of the overrated hotels. I stayed with a friend twice within a few days, and the first time had a deluxe room, which is worth the extra bit of money if you like a little space or privacy. The reception staff were helpful by and large, although I preferred some to others. I would definitely stay here again; this hotel does all the important things well and is suitably modern and comfortable. We did have a slight issue at the end when a receptionist booked us a taxi (without us really asking for it) when he knew we were leaving the next morning, and the taxi driver than tried to charge us over the odds, but this was just a minor blip in what was otherwise a great hotel, but I will definitely catch my own taxi next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is conviently located, in New York' midtown, near the Avenue of Americas and Times Square, i.e. the Theatre District. The room was rather large (for New York). "Continental" breakfast, including fresh fruit, bagels, cream cheese, etc. was included, which we appreciated a lot. However, our room on the fifth floor overlooking 46th street was noisy; at 6 A.M. trucks were showing up...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

+ free wi-fi and coffee 24 hour
+ good location

- very dirty and old rooms (flaked plaster and wallpaper)
- not customer oriented stuff in the bar on 2nd floor
- constraction work outside so very noisy
- very good audibility like you live with all you neighbours
- noisy air conditional

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very dissatisfied with our stay at this hotel and even more dissatisfied that they didn't even acknowledge my email (August 2012) outlining reasons as below: It is a perfect location, nice looking building, pleasant reception area and the male receptionist was helpful and friendly. However...the two rooms we were given were grimy, dirty, grotty and had numerous broken items: main door lock (teenage daughter wouldn't, understandably, sleep in unsecure room), telephone broken - line not working, another line blocked open, socket smashed, aircon unit broken and noisy, nails sticking through carpet, glass in picture frame broken with sharp edges, back of door/handle/lock covered brown sticky substance, bedding less than fresh and given above although bathroom looked clean (shower curtain very smelly), how can anyone trust the hygiene? If it hadn't been so late in the evening after a long flight, we would have left there and then. Breakfast was as advertised and fine but we checked out based on the condition of the rooms. We were offered another room but declined; no attempt was made to ask for details of the problems or why we weren't happy. The unused night was refunded but given the miserable first night, I would expect more. Perhaps someone in management reads the reviews and perhaps they will respond to this?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear cate2,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry about your experience at our hotel. Our staff works very hard to ensure that all rooms are cleaned thoroughly between guests and that all appliances are in working order. We sincerely apologize for overlooking some things and would have been happy to offer you a new room the night you checked in. We can assure you that all of the problems you mentioned have been fixed and do not occur on a regular basis.

We hope you will give us another chance on your next New York City trip. The majority of our guests are very satisfied with their stay and many return multiple times and continue to enjoy their stay. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope to welcome you soon.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York
Super 8 New York
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.