We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 466 Hotels in New York City
leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its atmosphere. There was a nice touch of quality about the place, but without any of the stuffiness that you get in many of the overrated hotels. I stayed with a friend twice within a few days, and the first time had a deluxe room, which is worth the extra bit of money if you like a little space or privacy. The reception staff were helpful by and large, although I preferred some to others. I would definitely stay here again; this hotel does all the important things well and is suitably modern and comfortable. We did have a slight issue at the end when a receptionist booked us a taxi (without us really asking for it) when he knew we were leaving the next morning, and the taxi driver than tried to charge us over the odds, but this was just a minor blip in what was otherwise a great hotel, but I will definitely catch my own taxi next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is conviently located, in New York' midtown, near the Avenue of Americas and Times Square, i.e. the Theatre District. The room was rather large (for New York). "Continental" breakfast, including fresh fruit, bagels, cream cheese, etc. was included, which we appreciated a lot. However, our room on the fifth floor overlooking 46th street was noisy; at 6 A.M. trucks were showing up...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank AlfredSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

+ free wi-fi and coffee 24 hour
+ good location

- very dirty and old rooms (flaked plaster and wallpaper)
- not customer oriented stuff in the bar on 2nd floor
- constraction work outside so very noisy
- very good audibility like you live with all you neighbours
- noisy air conditional

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxana___1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very dissatisfied with our stay at this hotel and even more dissatisfied that they didn't even acknowledge my email (August 2012) outlining reasons as below: It is a perfect location, nice looking building, pleasant reception area and the male receptionist was helpful and friendly. However...the two rooms we were given were grimy, dirty, grotty and had numerous broken items: main door lock (teenage daughter wouldn't, understandably, sleep in unsecure room), telephone broken - line not working, another line blocked open, socket smashed, aircon unit broken and noisy, nails sticking through carpet, glass in picture frame broken with sharp edges, back of door/handle/lock covered brown sticky substance, bedding less than fresh and given above although bathroom looked clean (shower curtain very smelly), how can anyone trust the hygiene? If it hadn't been so late in the evening after a long flight, we would have left there and then. Breakfast was as advertised and fine but we checked out based on the condition of the rooms. We were offered another room but declined; no attempt was made to ask for details of the problems or why we weren't happy. The unused night was refunded but given the miserable first night, I would expect more. Perhaps someone in management reads the reviews and perhaps they will respond to this?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear cate2,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry about your experience at our hotel. Our staff works very hard to ensure that all rooms are cleaned thoroughly between guests and that all appliances are in working order. We sincerely apologize for overlooking some things and would have been happy to offer you a new room the night you checked in. We can assure you that all of the problems you mentioned have been fixed and do not occur on a regular basis.

We hope you will give us another chance on your next New York City trip. The majority of our guests are very satisfied with their stay and many return multiple times and continue to enjoy their stay. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope to welcome you soon.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel at Times Square. Two blocks from Times Square and near the subway and just about any of the midtown attractions are within walking distance. It was well decorated, clean and busy with a full house! Even though it was completely full of guests, our room was quiet and very restful after busy days of sight seeing. We would defintely stay there again!

Room Tip: We thought we would like a room at the front with a street view but our room at the back was so nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCC108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for 4 nights. This was a family holiday and one of our stops was New York to do sight seeing as we had not been before. I travelled with my Husband and 2 daughters aged 21 and 18. I chose this hotel mainly because of the price and that it offered breakfast. We shared a room which was clean and adequate in size. I know people have said that the rooms are small which they are, but if you are spending your time in New York like us then the room is only there to sleep in. And sleep we could as it was very comfortable and quite. It was such an advantage to just get up have breakfast quickly then set off for the day. The breakfast is nothing startling but is adequate to get you off on your way. The breakfast room did get busy between 8.30 and 9.00 but you could take the food to your room if you wanted. The location of this hotel was excellent 5 mins walk from Times Square and 5th Avenue plus easy walking distance to the Rockerfellar centre and the Empire State Building. Overall this hotel was excellent value for money, I was so pleased we chose it and would definately stay again if we were to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieIrving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#213 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#327 of 466 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,260 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#305 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#296 of 466 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,021 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,987 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#112 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing