We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Clean hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 451 hotels in New York City
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Clean hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We make an annual trip to NYC each year and stay at this hotel each year. It used to be the Super 8 hotel. Since Apple Core group bought the hotel they have done an amazing job remodeling the entire hotel. The staff is friendly, they remember us from year to year! The rooms are beautiful and clean. No bed bugs here. I highly recommend this hotel to families or anyone traveling to NYC. Its one of the more affordable hotels in mid town Manhattan. The complimentary breakfast is great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    794
    235
    67
    68
See reviews for
527
561
82
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I wanted an inexpensive hotel for a business trip, but I wanted to be in the center of things, clean and quiet. The Hotel at Times Square worked well for all of those things.

On the negative, the room was small and a bit dingy, and the mattresses were cheap feeling. The TV didn't turn on, but in fairness, I didn't ask them to fix it. I'm sure they would have.

BUT, clean quiet, safe and central, with a decent price. Exactly what I asked for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

Expensive neighbourhood. Loud reconstruction works outside start early. Clean. Small.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

Value is not a good word to describe it because it usually associates with low quality, but not here. This hotel has very small rooms, but the attention to detail in the cleanliness was appreciated. Hotel bar is okay.
Discounted parking was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with 22 other people when we went up to New York with my daughter's dance studio to see some shows and take some dance classes. The hotel was very convinient to restaurants, the theaters and Broadway Dance Center where the girls went to dance. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only complaint that I have about the room is that there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom and by the time one person in our room was done showering and drying their hair, everything in the bathroom was very wet, slippery and dangerous. Not to mention the step up to get into the bathroom - quite a road hazard if you have to go to the bathroom in the dark in the middle of the night. The breakfast in the morning was decent. There was fruit, different kinds of hot and cold cereals, bagels, donuts, and different kinds of hot and cold beverages. The only problem that we had with the hotel was the amount of time that we had to wait for an elevator. There are two banks of elevators in the hotel - one bank for the front section of the hotel and one bank for the back section. Our rooms were in the back section and we had to use one very small elevator (4 people could fit into this elevator with their luggage). Our rooms were on the 8th and 9th floors, so walking up 8 or 9 floors with luggage really was not an option. We spent a lot of time waiting. I don't think the hotel can do anything about this, just allow time to wait on the elevator if your room number's last digits are 12 to 23 (example 612 to 623). Overall we had a good experience here and I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Hotel at Times Square is a bit closer to 5th Avenue and a great location for visiting New York. It is a very nice three star hotel, newly renovated and very clean. The rooms are comfortable, with good beds and nice quality furnishings. The windows open and there are cordless phones. The hotel does not charge for local calls and long distance is charged at a reasonable rate. Other hotels take note.

One of the big advantages of the hotel is they supply a continental breakfast, which is very good. Nothing too fancy, but good coffee, a selection of cereals and fruit, doughnuts, bagels and toast. Ideal for starting the day. There is also a small bar on the second floor, that charges 3 dollars for a beer and 5 dollars for a glass of wine.

The area around the hotel is known as Little Brazil and there are a good selection of Brazilian restaurants. If you are shopping for electronics in New York, Best Buy is at 44th and 5th Avenue and the service is good. Much better than trying to find what you want in the Apple Store at 59th and 5th, which was heaving when I was there.

They also have wi fi for guests and two computers in the lobby for you to use. While I was there, it was mid term and there seemed to be a school group - well behaved children. Judging from accents there was also quite a few French and British guests.

All in all, a good stay and a good value hotel I will recommend to everyone. It is part of the Apple Core group of five hotels in Mid Town Manhattan.

Room Tip: IRooms at the front overlook a little plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Nice room,good atmosphere,free wi-fi,free internet at the reception ,free breakfst,free phone nation wide.You can also have a discount on several parking around the Hotel if you stamp the ticket at the reception.
The location is great, Little Brasil of New York City walking distance to 5th avenue,Time Square.Subway just close by.
The service is good and the staff very helpful.There is a small bar but friendly at the 2nd floor.Very affordable drink with happy hours.If you want to go for nice breakfast go to Le Pain Quotidien on West 40th street opposit Bryant Park ,fantastic place and concept .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#234 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.