We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morningside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morningside Inn to your Saves list
Morningside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 West 107th Street, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #376 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Sao Paulo, Sp
1 review
“Very clean hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I was surprised with this hostel, I got a private room and it came with a queen bed, the room was very clean like a good hotel. Good environment, quiet and with nice front desk person. No complains at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    147
    151
    73
    119
See reviews for
72
186
73
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hostel is on the Upper West Side of NY, which is considered the rich part of Manhattan. I had the budget single room, which had a full/dbl size bed, mini fridge, sink (with no mirror), small dresser, small closet, and TV (which didn't work). I paid like $80/night (total for three nights came to $270) and the room size was perfect for me since I traveled solo. I was right next to the bathroom in the hall, so that was a plus also. I didnt' have to walk down the hall or far from my room. I had two issues with this hotel. The first was that I booked this through www. agoda.com and when I went to confirm my reservation the day before my arrival, the hotel didn't have me in the system. Luckily, the front desk person (Wendy) was nice and she said that they have plenty of rooms and I would have one when I arrived the next day. So, I then called Agoda to see what the mix-up was. They, too, were nice about it and called the hotel while I waited on hold to make sure I was in their system. No one could tell me why I wasn't in the hotel system. I'm glad I called ahead of time! Jeez!

My second issue was that when I got to the hotel (I stayed Thus thru Sunday) the TV didn't work. I didn't try to turn it on until Fri morning while I was getting ready for my day. It said something about a remote and there was not a remote in the room. So I stopped by the front desk on my way out and told the front desk person. She said that they were in the middle of converting from old to new cable boxes, so some rooms had cable and some didn't. Of course I had a room with no cable. She said she would talk to the manager (Patrick). I stopped back by Fri night and she said the manager said the TVs should be back on Sat. I said ok and asked when he would be in the office. She said from 8-4pm so I was going to try and catch him Sat. Sat morning about 9am I stop by the front desk and she said Patrick hadn't come in yet because he had to work overnight, but that he should be there by noon. Well I was on my way out for the day and was not gonna wait around for him. I was leaving the next day (Sunday) and at this point it was ridiculous playing cat and mouse.

My point of trying to talk to Patrick was to get some kind of compensation for my stay. I understand that most people aren't even in their rooms half the time, but I'm one that likes the TV on when I am getting ready in the morning and watches it before I go to sleep at night. It would have simply been nice to know I had a room with no TV when I checked in that I had no working TV because to me that's false advertising.

PROS: Only 3 blocks to subway, Great price for the location, right next to my bank/ATM, close to food/restaurants
CONS: Communication sucked (between Agoda and the hotel with my reservation, and the fact that no one told my I had a non-working TV). Too far from where I spent most of my time. I was primarily in lower Manhattan so it took 35-45min by subway ride. Loud, walls thin, can hear your neighbor (I was prepared with other reviews and brought ear plugs, so I was fine)

Room Tip: I was in 408. It was right next to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangamati, Bangladesh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The place is good for the price, and reception people are friendly and helpful. But during our stay a bag full of goodies I bought in the pharmacy - and I bought a lot, for $145 - was gone. It was sitting there on the bathroom floor, and then it was gone. To be fair the manager offered us refund but since he didn't know who took it we didn't want him to impose the fine on an innocent person. Apart from that good place and good location, and if we are in new York we will go for it again I suppose

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Riga, Latvia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Actully everything was nice - location is good, lovely bars and restaurants around, staff is nice, elevator. BUT - something with plumbing (? water in WC) - time after time there is terrible sound from water coming (from somewhere). Acoustic is low, so you can't sleep. There is kitchen also, just no dishes at all, so you can't prepare food or even tea/coffe.
Otherwise - price is very good for what you get, very good that WC is inside room. We came from Europe, adaptation period is longer, so it is good if you have more comfort! Thank you :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Address: 235 West 107th Street, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morningside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great and affordable place to stay in New York City for travelers and students, as well as the perfect solution to all short and long term housing.The Morningside Inn is in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside - Morningside Heights. So close to Columbia and Barnard, the music and theological colleges, as well as the magnificent Cathedral St. John the Divine. The Hudson River Greenway and Riverside Park are steps from our door. The hotel is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are fresh and have been decorated in comfortable style. Excellent citywide bus and subway transportation are at Broadway, and the city M60 bus takes our guests from and to LaGuardia Airport directly for one Metrocard fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Morningside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Hotel New York City
Morningside New York City
Morningside Inn New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morningside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.