We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and cheap.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morningside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morningside Inn to your Saves list
Morningside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 West 107th Street, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #376 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location and cheap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Book a budget standard room and expecting a shared common bathroom but to our surprised we will given a room with bathroom in our room that's was pleasant. Room was small, free wifi. Location was near to subway and supermarkets. From the exterior of the hostel it looks very decent and nice. All I have to say is the location is good :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    147
    151
    73
    119
See reviews for
72
186
73
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I recently had to travel to N.Y. to enroll my son at Columbia University. A friend of mine booked this hotel because it was close and seemed convenient so a booking was made. When he arrived in the morning he was informed that he could not check in until 2:00 P.M. This was no problem, he was told that they would hold their bags and to return after 2:00 to check in. He returned at 3:30 P.M. and tried to check in. I accompanied him to the hotel and this is what happened.

We were told that their computers were down and that it would be anywhere from 4:40 P.M. to 7:00 P.M. before he could expect to get checked in. We asked if there might be a way to ask maid services which rooms might be ready as he was only going to be there overnight. We were told that this was not possible, and we were asked to sit in the lobby and wait until the maids shift ended at 7:00 P.M. if the computers did not come up. The reason for this was not really explained we were just told to wait or we could just get another room somewhere else.

We tried to impart to the registration girl that we had hoped to get into the room at "check in time" (2:00 P.M.) and the fact that it was now 4:00 in the afternoon and he would be checking out by 8:00 A.M. the next morning. We were informed that they had 80 rooms and that she had no way of knowing which rooms were ready and therefore she could not let us into any room until either "the computers come back up (or) the maids give them room list at 7:00 P.M.

I have to say this is without a doubt, a very BAD CHOICE if you need to stay near Columbia University, do not choose this hotel. I only made it as far as registration but I have to say this it smelled pretty bad upon entry and I did not expect it to get any better. We ended up asking our friend to change hotels and they ended up at the ALOFT just up the street a ways.

Room Tip: GO to the ALOFT and ask for the COLUMBIA RATE if you are taking your kid to school there or if you j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

aefercol
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Why you should stay:
1) When you come out of the hotel and walk towards left (Broadway), you will find a bank at the corner, a great bagel shop, tons of restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy, bakery, ice cream, etc.
2) Walk towards the right (Amsterdam Ave) and you find more stuff including a nice little bar, the Amsterdam Tavern.
3) The subway is a few blocks (quick walk) away (103rd st and 110th). If heading to Times Square or China Town you don't need to make any transfers.
4) Its clean, safe
5)You'll feel more like a local rather than a tourist
6) If you are in NY for the city, not the accommodations
7)Staff we encountered was very nice.
8)Some rooms have a kitchen, which is a benefit if you are trying to save money (As mentioned, a few places to get groceries are near by).

Why you shouldn't stay;
1)The hotel is a repellent to the word "luxury" or even "standard". Can't even say its cozy.
2)My bed was uncomfortable, hard as a rock. For three people we got a queen bed and a sofa bed.
3)Its more of a hostel/B&B feel than a hotel
4)If you need the pampering, forget about it.
5)Everything is worn out. My local Salvation Army might have better furniture and sheets for sale.

We chose this hotel for the location and the price. When I think back on this particular trip, I don't even think about the hotel since we had such a great time in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Much better than we expected! The room was a fair size and the hostel was nice and clean, our rooms were cleaned every day and we were provided with new towels every day. We had a large TV and a fridge that we didn’t really use. Wi-Fi was free and accessible anywhere in the building. There was a kitchenette on each floor with a sink and a microwave.

We had read about other people arriving to find that they had no reservation, so we made sure to call to confirm prior to our arrival and everything was fine.

The shared bathroom situation was ok, there were 2 bathrooms per floor, that seemed to be cleaned daily and if they were ever occupied/unclean you could always find a free one on a different floor. They were never unclean for long. Each bathroom literally had a toilet, shower and sink - no public showering luckily!

The hostel was in a really good location - very nice, safe area with loads of places to eat/ buy groceries only 2 minutes down the road. Also only a 10 minute metro journey to Times Square (but make sure you go to the right station as there are two with the same name and one is a lot closer!)

Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone travelling on a budget, we got a lot more than what we were expecting from the price we paid. It isn’t a social hostel though and no real communal area. The horror story reviews sound like they're from people expecting to turn up to a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel was Ok!
It was our first time in the city and we really enjoyed it!
The room was small but we got free towels every day and never had to wait for the bathroom.
Because some reviews complaint, that they made a reservation but didn't receive a room, we called the establishment to verify our reservation. But every thing was ok!
The internet wasn't fast but it worked. The last day we discovered there was a kitchen... It would have been nice if they had told us!
The location was great, subway was very close and around the corner was 'absolute bagle' here you can buy bagles from 6 am to 6 pm. Cheap and delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My expectations were not high after reading the reviews, but still, I was disappointed when I saw the room. The room was really small - even smaller than rooms in Europe hotels - looked sad and needed some maintenance. Moreover, the bedclothes were stained. However, the hotel is close from 2 subway stations and from Central Park. The floor was quiet and there was always hot water. It was clean and looked bugs free. So overall, it was alright. You just have to realize the hotel is like a "private bedroom and bathroom" hostel. Hotel in NYC are super expensive, so Morningside Inn is still a reasonnably good option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Morningside Inn in November of 2011. My husband & son had been to NY but it was my daughter & my first time. We were somewhat on a budget so we had to be frugal. We found this hotel on a search engine & booked it...we couldn't have been happier! The location is excellent, close to the subway that will take you anywhere in the city. The rooms were very clean & the staff very helpful. We arrived a little early & thought we would have to wait to check in but the front desk person said one of our rooms were ready so if we wanted to we could check into that one, go explore the city & come back later & check in to the other. The corner store, The Garden of Eden, is very convenient & open late to accommodate the late night munchies. Our overall experience was favorable & we have determined we no longer need to "search" for a place to stay when we visit NYC...Morningside Inn is the perfect place for us!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Address: 235 West 107th Street, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morningside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great and affordable place to stay in New York City for travelers and students, as well as the perfect solution to all short and long term housing.The Morningside Inn is in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside - Morningside Heights. So close to Columbia and Barnard, the music and theological colleges, as well as the magnificent Cathedral St. John the Divine. The Hudson River Greenway and Riverside Park are steps from our door. The hotel is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are fresh and have been decorated in comfortable style. Excellent citywide bus and subway transportation are at Broadway, and the city M60 bus takes our guests from and to LaGuardia Airport directly for one Metrocard fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Morningside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Hotel New York City
Morningside New York City
Morningside Inn New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morningside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.