We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The strict minimum necessary (great for a budget!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morningside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Morningside Inn to your Saves list
Morningside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 West 107th Street, New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #380 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“The strict minimum necessary (great for a budget!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

For someone staying on a budget in New York for a few days and not planning to stay in their room for the time there, this is perfect. Rooms are quite clean. Bathrooms are fine too. Possibility of storing luggage, even before and after checking in/out. The staff is professional. Very near to a subway stop. Walking distance of the Cathedral of Saint John the Divine (world's 4th biggest church - nice to check out). The price suits the place, i.e. shouldn't be cheaper nor more expensive for NYC. However, watch out for the elevator, smells more than BAD. Also, don't relly on them for a wake up call.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small - keep that in mind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    152
    161
    75
    123
See reviews for
78
191
79
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Being two college students at the time, we needed something on a budget. While this is a hostel, we made sure we picked a room in which we had our own bathroom. Everything is very small and it's hard to move around. However, it was worth having a small room for our own bathrooms. The beds were very small as well. I'm only 5'7 and my feet were nearly off the bed. The staff was friendly, though. The location is nice as well. We were just a Subway ride away from Times Square. I felt very safe in the neighborhood. We were also a walk away from Central Park. If you're young and looking for a budget, this isn't a bad deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe room,. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The location was awesome. It is a simple room but had a fridge. Located close to the subway, yummy restaurants and markets. WIll stay here again. It is a basic budget hotel but it is great. If you have a street facing rooms I would recommend earplugs but that is a-ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were a group of 14 that visited NYC for an Interdisciplinary Art Department Trip. Everything with the Morningside Inn made us feel comfortable and at ease when we were not busy visiting NY's museums. It is a recently renovated facility but yet boasts the original character and architecure of the building. The location is great and allows you to easily navigate through the city by walking, or catching the subways and taxis. Mr. Patrick (the general manager) and his crew provided us with everything our group requested and even arranged for fleet service back to the airport. Looking for a place with plush towels, marble floors and down-filled comforters? This is the place!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street side are great because you get to see the locals in the neighborhood stroll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal, RN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We (me and my wife) stayed at 4th floor for 7 days. The room was good and the bathroom ok. A very quiet local, good for rest. Theres a metro station 3 blocks near e the central park is 3 blocks to. There is a bus station 1 block near where you can get the M60 bus to em from La Guardia airport. The manager, Patrick, was very kind with us. The price is not so cheap, but that's New York city, right?! We would stay there again and recommend the morning side inn hostel to everybody.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

this hotel was horrible! we had come off a 20 hour flight, and were exhausted, and we entered our hotel room and found one double bed that barely fit in the room. we also had a communal bathroom in which we had to share with many others. the doors didnt lock either, which meant we had to take all valubles with us!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Sorry to read about your stay here at The Morningside Inn,the room that you reserve is the the room you booked.we try to upgrade you the next day but it seems like you was not happy with your room and you did not want to listen to anything we had to offer.I do apologize for the mishap which we did try to correct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been staying at morningside inn when I travel to New York for about eight years. I absolutely love it here. Patrick, the manager, is awesome and always takes great care of us. Wendy is also wonderful. I would and do recommend this place to anyone going to New York. It is affordable and right by a subway stop that takes you to downtown. The neighborhood is great and you are blocks away from Riverside park, a great place for a run.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Address: 235 West 107th Street, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morningside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great and affordable place to stay in New York City for travelers and students, as well as the perfect solution to all short and long term housing.The Morningside Inn is in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside - Morningside Heights. So close to Columbia and Barnard, the music and theological colleges, as well as the magnificent Cathedral St. John the Divine. The Hudson River Greenway and Riverside Park are steps from our door. The hotel is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are fresh and have been decorated in comfortable style. Excellent citywide bus and subway transportation are at Broadway, and the city M60 bus takes our guests from and to LaGuardia Airport directly for one Metrocard fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Budget Places, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Morningside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Hotel New York City
Morningside New York City
Morningside Inn New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morningside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.