We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service...but door personel, thats another story!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro-Home Sutton Place

Save Saved
You added Metro-Home Sutton Place to your Saves list
Metro-Home Sutton Place
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro-Home Sutton Place
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   310 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great customer service...but door personel, thats another story!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2006

My friend and I arrived from Las Vegas Saturday early morning hoping to be able to get into our apt to get some sleep before our day out in the big city. Making reservation via phone was of no prblem as the customer service girls made the whole process smooth sailing. We also informed them of our early arrival and they assured us that there would be no problem as there would be a 24hr doorman who would have our keys. We received our confirmation via e-mail within 20 minutes and we were all set for out trip to the great NYC. Unfortunately the great service we were getting by Metro Home was short lived as when we arrived at the building we were "greeted" by a so-called doorman! With feet up on desk watching TV, paid no attention to us and later refused to give us keys to our apt! Over all service from doorman, rude, plain rude! Hence, after a 30minute wait, one of the ladies from Metro Home arrived and of-course gave us entry that we had been requesting! The apts are not bad them selves, could use some up grading, but for an older building its understandable (steam heaters! and old pipe system). Thanks for our reservation and stay but we will think twice if we want to come back and experience lack of courtesy and ignorance from door personnel, this really makes a difference for a returning client, if you want return business!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

Stayed at Metro-Home for three nights on a business trip to Midtown Manhattan. The location is just fantastic - 5 minute walk to Bloomingdales, 10 to Central Park, with the neighbourhood restaurants of 2nd and 3rd on the Upper East Side close to hand.

The studio apartments have solid wood floors and would be about 10 sq ft larger if the owners would only strip the 437 extra coats of paint off the woodwork - the apartment was a little tired and in need of a "remodel" - but I accept I may be a little picky here. The owners had a genuine difficulty in fitting all of their large furniture into a studio - it was furnished with a leather 3 seater sofa and a dining table and four chairs as well as a writing desk, a TV chest and a huge sleigh bed, so it looked as if everything had been stuffed in with little thought. The furniture was excellent quality, solid wood, none of your flat pack MDF with veneer here. The sleigh bed had a superb, firm mattress. The bathroom had a great shower, the kitchen was well appointed and the entire place was spotlessly clean on arrival. And frankly, tired wiring and jaded gloss paint notwithstanding, it represented excellent value for money for E55th and 2nd in New York. If you stayed in a hotel with the same sized room, the price would multiply by two or three in a trice. I would have no hesitation in booking with Metro-Home again.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2005

I stayed at the Sutton Place for 9 nights in August... in between apartments. It was better than either one of my apartments. Had ordered the basic studio, though was given a full-blown one bedroom apartment. It was definately way beyond my expectations. Like I said- would rather live here than my own apartment. The sat TV was great, the kitchen had all appliances needed, hot water with working stove, two A/Cs and large bed. I would definately reccomend Sutton Place to any one visiting the city for a week or any one in b/w apartments or the like.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

We spent 10 days here in a studio in October. It was very satisfactory for our needs and a great value for what we paid. It was very clean and the bed and linens were good quality. It would have been nice to have instructions for the cable TV, but the doorman was very nice about helping us.
It is a good location, although a bit of a trek to the nearest subway. It is however close to Starbucks, a wine store and a grocery store.
The lobby really needs some upgrading but it doesn't reflect the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

Had booked to stay in Metro-Home Sutton Place before I started to read the reviews on this page. Was very worried going to New York but was very pleased with the one bed studio that we got. Perfect. Good bed, clean, clean bathroom, leather couch, sat TV. Really all you need when staying in NYC. And as for the door man, could not have been better, got up every time to open the door for us in and out. Bit of a walk to Times Square but 10mins will take you to 5th Ave, 15-20 to Times Sqaaure, but you don't find the walk as its NY so there is plenty to look at on the way. Great Bar on the corner fo 3rd and 55th called PJ Clarke's, always a good buzz and the food is top notch, can't make reservations, just have to wait a bit in the bar. Plus a couple Cafe's across the road for the breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

Stayed at Metro-Home Sutton Place -- it's really 55th and 2nd Ave so don't be fooled by the name of the place. It is a real apartment building with residents that look askance at the transient guest in their building. The elevators smell like it had just been fumigated with roach spray. The doormen were pretty surly and not very helpful at all -- like your minimum wage NYers that don't care. There are no bell caps or reception area to greet you. The rooms themselves are spacious but pretty run down on the scale of a 2-star hotel. Paint chipping, poor plaster repair jobs -- not exactly 3-star quality. The price was right for a place in Manhattan at $199/night which I have since seen $325/night for the place on Expedia recently.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2005

We stayed here a week in May of 2005 at rate of $200 a night for four. Let me break it down.
1. Reservations. Friendly, courteous, patient.

2. Location. Nice neighborhood, but nothing on building to identify it but numbers. If you look for a "Sutton Place" or "Metro Home" sign, there isn't one. We walked right past it. Pretty far trek to subway but we often caught bus to subway stop, and on return came back via bus on 1st.
We discovered a nice, pretty large grocery store about four blocks uptown on 1st. You can get a membership card and get discounts even if you are notstaying in NY very long. Other grocery stores all over the area, but small and expensive.
If you are headed to Times Square, catch bus just off Lexington that goes past Rockerfeller Plaza, then actually makes a turn south on Broadway and goes right through Times Square...no subway, no stairs, no kidding.

3. Room, a bit run down, but clean. A/C in living room did not work, but they did send a guy to fix it after a day or so. Brand new dishwasher, but so new it was not hooked up so we did dishes by hand because they said they would not send anyone until we left. Fridge, stove, microwave means you can save on food. Fold out couch so bad we just took mattress off it and put it on the floor...it was much better that way. Good closet space, small dining area makes for comfortable stay.

4. Doorman. They advertise a 24 hour doorman, but this is fiction. One guy parked his car by the curb and sat in it smoking and listening to the radio and barely glanced at us as we came and went. At least three or four times we actually walked in and out of door--propped open for breeze--right past sound-asleep guyat the desk. I thought about standing over him and yelling "Boo!" but my wife said no. Another time there was a 9 year old at the desk, covering for his dad who was out smoking.

5. Housekeeping. Room clean, bathroom clean, kitchen clean. Be sure you understand your room is not cleaned until you leave unless you pay extra. Empty own trash in bin just outside apt. door, no problem.

6. Summary, we would stay there again if there were four of us.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metro-Home Sutton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro-Home Sutton Place

Address: 310 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 183 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro-Home Sutton Place 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Metro-Home Sutton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro-Home Sutton Place Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro-Home Sutton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.