We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and comfy bed!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gatsby Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gatsby Hotel to your Saves list
The Gatsby Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly The GEM Hotel SoHo) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #310 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Morgan
1 review
“Great staff and comfy bed!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had a great stay, my only complaint would be tv trouble with bad weather. It was clean and it was close to the subway! ...................................................................................

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    187
    64
    35
    22
See reviews for
90
150
52
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Well appointed, friendly staff, easy access to the subway across the street. Many great restaurants on the block and a WHOLE FOODS store. We had a great view of the park from our window and couldn't hear any street noise. There were drawers under the platform bed for extra storage which was great since I shared the room with my 2 adult daughters. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A very nice hotel convenient to local attractions and F subway. Staff was very helpful in recommending a restaurant and making a reservation. We were on the fourth floor so it was a little warm and needed to set air conditioning to a very low temperature to keep room comfortable. Hallways are cramped and hot. Price was reasonable to the area. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Clean room, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Lots of little perks that you normally wouldn't find for a hotel in this price range. Room was small as we expected ( It's NYC!!) but we still had plenty of room to be comfortable. Smart use of storage/dresser space. Great value for NYC. Here to visit my daughter ....Will definitely stay here again when we come back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed one night at the GEM Soho, and although we'd asked for a room on the fourth floor or above, we were put in a room on the first floor. The hotel is on the corner of Houston and Forsyth, and enjoys lots of street noise, particularly on a Saturday night. Rooms are without charm, small and very basic (think Comfort Inn), but were clean The desk clerk was friendly and if you're planning on staying there, you probably know what the neighborhood has to offer. This is not the best place to stay if you're going to Broadway shows and the Met. But if you've a reason to be in the East Village, the location is right.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the Forsyth street side, and seek higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
**
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient part of Soho, with many restaurants around and very close to the subway. Hotel personnel is friendly and helpful. There may be occasional noise from outside or the hallways.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The good: Clean and comfortable room in a great location.

The bad: Rooms are small, and my room near reception was very noisy.

I'd probably stay there again, but make sure you get a room that's quieter.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#315 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#211 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#304 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#242 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#260 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#351 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gatsby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gatsby Hotel

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly The GEM Hotel SoHo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#252 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gatsby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your The Gatsby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gatsby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.