We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and comfy bed!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The GEM Hotel SoHo to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #270 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Morgan
1 review
“Great staff and comfy bed!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had a great stay, my only complaint would be tv trouble with bad weather. It was clean and it was close to the subway! ...................................................................................

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    167
    53
    33
    21
See reviews for
83
133
49
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Well appointed, friendly staff, easy access to the subway across the street. Many great restaurants on the block and a WHOLE FOODS store. We had a great view of the park from our window and couldn't hear any street noise. There were drawers under the platform bed for extra storage which was great since I shared the room with my 2 adult daughters. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A very nice hotel convenient to local attractions and F subway. Staff was very helpful in recommending a restaurant and making a reservation. We were on the fourth floor so it was a little warm and needed to set air conditioning to a very low temperature to keep room comfortable. Hallways are cramped and hot. Price was reasonable to the area. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Clean room, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Lots of little perks that you normally wouldn't find for a hotel in this price range. Room was small as we expected ( It's NYC!!) but we still had plenty of room to be comfortable. Smart use of storage/dresser space. Great value for NYC. Here to visit my daughter ....Will definitely stay here again when we come back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed one night at the GEM Soho, and although we'd asked for a room on the fourth floor or above, we were put in a room on the first floor. The hotel is on the corner of Houston and Forsyth, and enjoys lots of street noise, particularly on a Saturday night. Rooms are without charm, small and very basic (think Comfort Inn), but were clean The desk clerk was friendly and if you're planning on staying there, you probably know what the neighborhood has to offer. This is not the best place to stay if you're going to Broadway shows and the Met. But if you've a reason to be in the East Village, the location is right.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the Forsyth street side, and seek higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
**
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient part of Soho, with many restaurants around and very close to the subway. Hotel personnel is friendly and helpful. There may be occasional noise from outside or the hallways.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The good: Clean and comfortable room in a great location.

The bad: Rooms are small, and my room near reception was very noisy.

I'd probably stay there again, but make sure you get a room that's quieter.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel SoHo

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel SoHo is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide a boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in the neighborhood of SoHo and the Lower East Side. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Spend an afternoon strolling the local neighborhoods and attractions such as Nolita, Chinatown, Little Italy, Canal Street and New York University (NYU). You can admire the art galleries and upscale boutiques within SoHo, or enjoy the East Village's excellent cafes and restaurants. The Lower East Side, once a first stop for poor immigrants and crammed with crowded tenements, small shops and warehouses, is now home to chic restaurants and boutiques, and some of the city's coolest night clubs, bars and music venues.The GEM Hotel SoHo offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and have flat-panel LCD televisions with HD programming, iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at The GEM Hotel SoHo, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The GEM Hotel SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.