We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel SoHo

Save Saved
You added The GEM Hotel SoHo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The GEM Hotel SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #258 of 452 hotels in New York City
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Price and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in downtown Manhattan. Easy access to all that Soho has to offer. Nazib welcomed us and was very friendly and helpful. The room and common areas are clean and well maintained. When we had one rainy day, I called down to the reception to see where is the nearest place to purchase an umbrella and they had umbrellas ready for us to take with us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Ankoo;

Thank you for writing the 4-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We certainly agree that Nazib is fantastic!!

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    161
    49
    33
    19
See reviews for
82
129
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My stay at the gem hotel was average. The rooms were overall clean but the size was on the smaller side. The beds could have been more comfortable. The only thing that annoyed me was the the trolley elevator was broken so carrying the bags was a hassle

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Kevin G;

Thank you for reviewing us following your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. We strive to ensure all of our guests have an excellent experience at the Gem SoHo.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a week and used a friend's points to stay at the hotel. They had no problems with our room being under another person's name.The staff was very helpful and offered great advice on where to eat in the neighborhood. Anthony, one of the front desk people became like a friend to us during our stay. He was always interested in what kind of excursions we had gone on that day.The room was small by any other city's standard but for New York it wasn't bad. The beds were comfortable and it was great that they had drawers to but your stuff in underneath the bed since the room was small. There isn't much in the way of closet space. Other than that it was an enjoyable experience. It was also very close to the F train which was great for getting us to midtown Manhattan. There is no fitness center and the room service is from a restaurant just down the street. The hotel is also within walking distance to the Broadway shopping which is very popular in SoHo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Megan G;

Thank you for writing the 4-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We certainly agree that Anthony is fantastic!

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerwah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Gem Hotel SoHo for 4 nights from the 14th-18th of May 2014 as it was close to where our daughter was living in New York. We knew the rooms were small from previous reviews but liked the location which was fantastic. Opposite a subway station and Whole Foods which is perfect for any meal and free Internet. On arriving at 2pm we were told our room wasn't ready so we left and came back at 4pm. The room still wasn't ready, which always surprises me as check-out is 11 am. After much apologising we finally were shown to the worst room in the hotel half an hour later. It is right next to the reception, opposite the lift and outside workmen were jack hammering and could actually see into the room! We asked to change and was given a room upstairs which was better with a smaller bed. That room was ready so why make us wait. The next problem came 2 days later when we came back to our room which had been cleaned but the door had not been pulled shut properly. unlocked and ajar with all our belongings inside.We called Lisa from housekeeping and she was most apologetic and said it would be discussed at the meeting the next day. The final straw was the next day when we got back from a show at 1 am and the room had been cleaned but not a towel, washer or hand towel in sight. Just a pair of used rubber gloves on the sink. We were so tired and wanted a shower but couldn't be bothered at that late hour to try and get towels. The following morning my we rang the desk but no-one answered so physically had to go and get two towels from reception. At all times the staff were friendly and courteous but I can't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room to avoid noise from reception and a room away from the lift but it is such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Susan N;

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. We strive to ensure our guests have an excellent experience Your issues have been addressed, and I assure you your experience was extremely isolated.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Not the ideal spot for light sleepers with the constancy of street noise plus being able to hear people come and go, slamming their doors, at every hour. Some issues with the tv and phone, but bedding was suitable, plenty of towels and hot water, and nice toiletries. Every staff member encountered was most accommodating, especially Anthony, who can give plenty of tips on dining and anything else one needs. A decent size room by NYC standards because so little time is spent in there. Needs updating as the noise alone in the bathroom can be deafening, along with the a/c unit, not to mention what goes on outside your window or in the halls.
Good locale for the lower East side at reasonable prices for NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear IdaMaeSlade;

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that your stay was disappointing. We strive to provide a perfect experience for all of our guests. We certainly agree that Anthony is fantastic!

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location is perfect, close to restaurants, subway, shops (especially supermarket Whole Foods).
The rooms are small (it is NY) but cosy and well equipped; the bathroom has a decent size and foreseen of good towels and toiletries.
But above all, the staff is excellent : always friendly, willing to help...
GEM hotel SOHO is highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Annelies B;

Thank you for writing the 4-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

First, let me say that this hotel has several things going for it. The location is fantastic for touring the lower east side - especially since it is just yards away from both a Whole Foods and a subway station, as well as many small restaurants. The rooms are tiny, but to be expected of a boutique hotel in NYC, and they are generally clean. (We had to book two since there were no double rooms available and we were traveling with our teenage children.) Also, the front desk staff are very personable and willing to help out in any way they can. When we could not manage to make our TV work, the front desk clerk very quickly made it up to our room to address and fix the situation. The hotel is just a few short blocks from both the Tenement House Museum (a great place to visit) and the Essex market. Furthermore, it is around the corner from the # 10 stop on the orange Skyline Tours downtown loop bus route, making it a convenient location for using the Skyline tour if you plan ahead and take into consideration the start times of tours and the delays that traffic may cause to the bus schedule. (Tours begin at Rock Center at 8, but it took until nearly 9:45 for the bus to reach that stop - at about that point we gave up and hailed a cab to the boat ride dock, but our cab passed the bus just a few blocks later. Knowing this would have allowed us to sleep a bit later and still make good use of the tour bus without resorting to a cab fare. However, on our way back to the hotel later in the day, we hopped off right at the Bleeker Street/Houston stop - #6 - and found to our delight that we were just two blocks from the hotel).

There were a few issues that some folks might find unacceptable. First of all, I found a few stray hairs in our bedding. I did not address this with the front desk because it was late at night, our room had been prepaid by a third party, and I honestly don't think it was a sanitary issue - the sheets otherwise looked very clean. I am thinking that the hairs went through the wash with the sheets and were therefore "clean"...this has happened when I do laundry at home...but it was a bit disconcerting and I imagine other folks might balk at finding this in their $300/night hotel room bed.

Another issue was the fact that both the elevator from the street level to the lobby ( short flight of stairs) and the ice machine were out of order. The clerk assured me that the ice machine was being replaced this week, however, and he was also quick to tell me that if I desired ice I could purchase some at the Whole Foods and I would be reimbursed in cash. As it turned out, I did not need the ice since we had a fridge in our room to keep drinks cold (a huge plus on a hot city day). But be aware that not all rooms have a fridge; our room (405) did, but our girls' room (604) did not. The clerk made us aware of this before we checked in to the rooms.

Finally, the bathroom fan and light are on the same switch, so that you have to hear the fan running loudly if you want the light on in the bathroom. This makes it impossible to watch TV while someone is using the bathroom unless you shut the door...and then the shower fogs up the mirror terribly. A hair dryer is provided, but it has only one setting - high and loud. If you are choosy about your styling products and require a dryer that can be adjusted for your hairstyling needs, then pack your own.

While the property is clearly aging (wallpaper in the bathroom was starting to peel off the wall near the floor), it is well-kept for the most part and it is located in a fairly safe and vibrant neighborhood on the lower east side. The hotel is very small, and this is reflected in the room size...but if you are just looking for a comfortable bed to return to after a long day out sightseeing, then this is not a bad choice. A complimentary bottle of water and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries are a nice added touch, as well.

I would return to this property if the price was right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge, if possible. Try to stay on the top floor (6) if you would like a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Lynda B;

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that your experience was less then perfect. We strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy a perfect experience with us.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel SoHo

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Family Hotel in New York City
#242 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel SoHo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel SoHo is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide a boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in the neighborhood of SoHo and the Lower East Side. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Spend an afternoon strolling the local neighborhoods and attractions such as Nolita, Chinatown, Little Italy, Canal Street and New York University (NYU). You can admire the art galleries and upscale boutiques within SoHo, or enjoy the East Village's excellent cafes and restaurants. The Lower East Side, once a first stop for poor immigrants and crammed with crowded tenements, small shops and warehouses, is now home to chic restaurants and boutiques, and some of the city's coolest night clubs, bars and music venues.The GEM Hotel SoHo offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and have flat-panel LCD televisions with HD programming, iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at The GEM Hotel SoHo, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The GEM Hotel SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.