We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy & quick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gatsby Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gatsby Hotel to your Saves list
The Gatsby Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly The GEM Hotel SoHo) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #306 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Dallas
1 review
“Easy & quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

It is convenient on Houston St. Easy to get taxis & subway. The front desk was nice, helpful and professional. Take a taxi to LaGuardia rather than have front desk get you a flat rate car service - save $15.00.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    180
    62
    33
    22
See reviews for
86
143
52
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mar del Plata, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

the hotel was really nice! Great location, near restaurants and the best places to shop. Very kind staff. Specially Nazib , he was very helpful with our needs.
thank you!!!!
I will recomend to my friends in Argentina

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It is an ok hotel. Only issue was that the bed sheets had black lint on them not sure from what. Bathroom was nice. There was a house cleaning steril glove on the floor when we got in the room. It was an ok stay.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Ignored a fire smoke alarm issue. A hotel is in the business of accommodation - I was never offered another room. Arrived to a room
Where no alarm installed. When installed one a day later, it went off over and over again. Couldn't sleep with it installed so forced to sleep in a room with no smoke detector. At the end of stay, did not appropriately resolve my complaint. Leads me to believe they know it doesn't work but book the room anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This place is perfect! Great staff very attentive, rooms have all you need, even though small I wasn't spending my time in the room while in NYC. Beds very comfy, clean, and the staff is amazingly helpful & cheery! You know how to treat guests, will definitely be returning! Thank you so much !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Denise N;

Thank you for writing the 5-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights after arriving early morning after a long flight from SA and thankfully was allowed an early check in, great start! The room was small but it had everything I needed. I think the staff make this hotel what it is as they really go out of their way to help you and when recommending restaurants etc they are excellent. Being in the hotel industry myself the only negative I picked up was that the housekeepers are overworked or understaffed. They did not make up my room until after 3pm everyday but I saw how busy they were. I would like to mention Ainsley from maintenance as being particularly helpful to me with carrying my heavy bags and sorting out a few things in my room. Nazib was also amazing and is a perfect hotel employee, I did not get to meet the manager but her employees seem to love working for her which is great as that always filters down to a happy team. Location was perfect and I would highly recommend The Gem to anyone wanting to stay in Soho. Thanks for a great holiday!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear sales12345;

Thank you for writing the 4-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel, and agree that Ainsley and Nazib are fantastic!

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

From the cordial greeting upon arrival to our departure three days later, we were delighted with the hotel and its kind, attentive staff. Especially Anthony, who always went out of his way to ask about our stay and our NYC experience. Hotel is convenient to great shopping, restaurants and trendy neighborhoods. Love the place and will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Al T;

Thank you for writing the 5-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel, and agree that Anthony is fantastic!

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Gatsby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gatsby Hotel

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly The GEM Hotel SoHo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#262 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gatsby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your The Gatsby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gatsby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.