We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for NYU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel SoHo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel SoHo to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #282 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Clovis
1 review
“Good location for NYU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Good location if you need to visit NYU, subways are near by so getting around is great. Rooms are small but clean and the staff tries to be friendly and helpful. The price we paid was reasonable, better than some other hotels in the area that we were considering.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Ed Y;

Thank you for writing the 4-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    178
    58
    33
    21
See reviews for
84
141
50
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Assigned a still occupied room. Thankfully, the person wasn't there and it was only their stuff. Think of the drama if the person was still showering or otherwise unready for me to be there. I was reassigned a room quickly enough and it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Setupforfailure B;

Thank you for sharing your review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City.

I sincerely apologize for your experience, and while this appears to be an isolated incident, this is completely unacceptable and we am relieved that the remainder of your stay with us was pleasant.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great stay at a great hotel. Location is amazing. Near the trains, funky neighborhood, great restaurants in the vicinity. The front desk staff was particularly friendly. Anthony stole my heart! Thank you, GEM Hotel! Myra

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Gem is a gem! The staff is outstanding. They are warm, friendly and very knowledgable especially Anthony who recommended 3 amazing restaurants in the neighbourhood. All very different and all excellent food with a great New York vibe.
The location is perfect. Walked everywhere and so close to the subway which was great.
I will definitely return to the Gem!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews before booking and was fairly comfortable with my decision to stay at The GEM. My whole experience was outstanding. I called the week before leaving to change from a single bed to a room with two beds. They were able to make the accommodations. Arriving we got there a little early around noon, they were able to get us checkin to a room rather than holding our luggage. It allowed us to spend the rest of the day with out cares to explore the city. Regina was wonderful not only during the check in but also during our check out process including having a car ready to take us back to the airport. The rooms were small but nice and quiet. The tubes of lavender oil was a nice touch. Having put on 7-8 miles of walking each day, it put me to sleep quickly to get rested for our next day filled with adventures. I will definitely return on my next visit to NYC. They were there to say "Have a great day" and welcome us back. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

the Gem hotel Soho was a nice, clean hotel in a good location, with a friendly staff. Its location is perfect for a city get-away; close to restaurants, shopping streets and the subway.
There is no breakfast at the hotel, which was a disappointment. It said in our booking papers that the room would have a minifridge which there was not. And since there was no breakfast, and I have tons of food allergies we needed somehwhere to store food because I cant eat out (gluten allergies and american breakfasts dont mix) So that was a major disappointment since it said in our booking papers that there was one.
Other than that the front desk service was amazing. Anthony (front desk staff) has great restaurant reccomendations - I promise he will not let you down - no matter what you want for dinner

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

the people were as good as it gets. genuine, helpful, cheerful, enthusiastic. in all other respects the hotel is fine for the price. i like the neighborhood -- good for visiting soho, nolita, bowery. but the whole thing is improved by the excellent staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel SoHo

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel SoHo is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide a boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in the neighborhood of SoHo and the Lower East Side. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Spend an afternoon strolling the local neighborhoods and attractions such as Nolita, Chinatown, Little Italy, Canal Street and New York University (NYU). You can admire the art galleries and upscale boutiques within SoHo, or enjoy the East Village's excellent cafes and restaurants. The Lower East Side, once a first stop for poor immigrants and crammed with crowded tenements, small shops and warehouses, is now home to chic restaurants and boutiques, and some of the city's coolest night clubs, bars and music venues.The GEM Hotel SoHo offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and have flat-panel LCD televisions with HD programming, iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at The GEM Hotel SoHo, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The GEM Hotel SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.