We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Credit card used when paid in cash and not completely refunded” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Gatsby Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gatsby Hotel to your Saves list
The Gatsby Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly The GEM Hotel SoHo) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #313 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Credit card used when paid in cash and not completely refunded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very disappointed with the GEM hotel in Soho. I stayed for two nights in October. I paid in full with cash on the day of departure and I had informed the hotel on check in that I would be doing that. The hotel had requested a credit card for security when I checked in which I provided as that is standard. When I returned home from the trip I found that the credit card hah been debited for two nights accomodation and then refunded. Unfortunately the credit card was not fully refunded (exchange rates and international charges were applied) and as a result I was refunded US$40 less than was debited. Three phone calls and several emails to the GEM hotel have not resolved this problem. The hotel says that this is my problem to sort out with the credit card company. But of course the credit card company says that it must stand. So I think that the hotel should refund me the difference. The hotel is refusing.

I would also add that the website is misleading. There are stairs from the road up to the check in desk (lift not working), it is on a busy road and the rooms look smaller than on the website.

Room Tip: not the first floor - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Cindy F;

Thank you for staying at The Gem SoHo Hotel and for your review. Im sorry we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We take customer service very seriously here. I invite you give me a call at (212) 358- 8844 or email me at soho.gm@thegemhotel.com to address any further concerns regarding your folio. I would be more than happy to review any charges with you. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New York City.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    183
    63
    35
    22
See reviews for
87
147
52
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My friends and I stayed at The GEM Hotel SoHo to attend a nearby wedding. We had a choice of 3 hotels and this was the most reasonably priced. The hotel is small but the gals at the desk (especiallyTashana) made checking in and out a fun experience and were so attentive to our needs. I can't say enough about the staff...a wonderful group of people! The rooms were a nice size for a boutique hotel and were also lovely and clean. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Renie M;

Thank you for writing the 5-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Gem SOHO in October. We were in New York to see a show and celebrate his birthday. We were thrilled to see that The GEM is so close to many attractions. There are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. For anything that was a little further away, the subway station was right down the block. The GEM's staff were super friendly, polite, and had great knowledge of the city. Regina, Anthony and Derrick were extremely helpful. The rooms were updated, clean, and quiet. The beds were very comfortable, had plenty of pillows, and soft sheets. I also liked the storage under the bed, it was very helpful. Overall we had an amazing experience at The GEM and New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Nicky M,

Thank you for writing the 5-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is the perfect place to stay on the lower east side of Manhattan. Our room was tiny (it is New York), but clean and quiet, even when there were was a preacher with a loudspeaker in the park our room overlooked. The 2nd St. subway station is literally under the front door of the hotel, the Bowery right around the corner, and NYU and Washington Square park a short walk away.
Another nice thing: our flight arrived very early in the morning, and the front desk staff stored our luggage for free, and we were able to check in a couple of hours early.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear jim_from_sf,

Thank you for writing the 5-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benahavis, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Gem Hotel is a little gem hiding in the lovely SOHO area.
It is strategically located close to many attractive spots and right next to the subway.

The rooms are medium to small, spaces well planned, with storage drawers under the beds. Very comfortable beds dressed in good quality sheets and plenty of pillows to choose from.

The staff is very professional and adorable, offering their best smile and insider tips on what to do. In fact, the hotel offers the possibility to borrow an iPod with different walks and tours around the area.

Although it does not have a restaurant, the area offers planty of fabulous choices of places to eat, including the nearby super WholeFoods market.

A definite repeat!

Room Tip: Top floor and away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear SuCookey,

Thank you for writing the 4-Star review following your recent stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel, and we greatly appreciate your business.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how wonderful out staff was. We are very fortunate to have such incredible people working with us. They really do go out of their way to ensure that everything is always perfect for our guests.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to New York City.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great little gem close to all major attractions in NYC. Loved the place and the reception staff was very helpful. The service provided by Anthony, Amy, Marvellis, and the managers was fantastic. Our room was very clean and well appointed. Will come back again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear srdjan_22,

Thank you for your stellar feedback regarding your recent stay at the GEM Hotel SoHo. We sincerely appreciate the wonderful compliments on our staff and cleanliness. Your business is greatly appreciated ~ we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest Regards,

Staff & Management
GEM Hotel SoHo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was truly a little gem in the eclectic SOHO part of NYC. We lived in NYC years ago and it was like we never missed a beat by staying here. Centrally located, the rooms were clean and the service very good. If you are looking for boutique this is it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The Gatsby Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear anthoncir,

Thank you for the wonderful 5 Star review following your stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC's best neighborhood!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
GEM Hotel SoHo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#318 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#267 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#303 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#264 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#351 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#250 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gatsby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gatsby Hotel

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly The GEM Hotel SoHo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gatsby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Venere, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gatsby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gatsby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.