We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel SoHo to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #288 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is the perfect place to stay on the lower east side of Manhattan. Our room was tiny (it is New York), but clean and quiet, even when there were was a preacher with a loudspeaker in the park our room overlooked. The 2nd St. subway station is literally under the front door of the hotel, the Bowery right around the corner, and NYU and Washington Square park a short walk away.
Another nice thing: our flight arrived very early in the morning, and the front desk staff stored our luggage for free, and we were able to check in a couple of hours early.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear jim_from_sf,

Thank you for writing the 5-Star review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the GEM SoHo Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    177
    57
    33
    21
See reviews for
84
140
50
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benahavis, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Gem Hotel is a little gem hiding in the lovely SOHO area.
It is strategically located close to many attractive spots and right next to the subway.

The rooms are medium to small, spaces well planned, with storage drawers under the beds. Very comfortable beds dressed in good quality sheets and plenty of pillows to choose from.

The staff is very professional and adorable, offering their best smile and insider tips on what to do. In fact, the hotel offers the possibility to borrow an iPod with different walks and tours around the area.

Although it does not have a restaurant, the area offers planty of fabulous choices of places to eat, including the nearby super WholeFoods market.

A definite repeat!

Room Tip: Top floor and away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear SuCookey,

Thank you for writing the 4-Star review following your recent stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel, and we greatly appreciate your business.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how wonderful out staff was. We are very fortunate to have such incredible people working with us. They really do go out of their way to ensure that everything is always perfect for our guests.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to New York City.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great little gem close to all major attractions in NYC. Loved the place and the reception staff was very helpful. The service provided by Anthony, Amy, Marvellis, and the managers was fantastic. Our room was very clean and well appointed. Will come back again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear srdjan_22,

Thank you for your stellar feedback regarding your recent stay at the GEM Hotel SoHo. We sincerely appreciate the wonderful compliments on our staff and cleanliness. Your business is greatly appreciated ~ we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest Regards,

Staff & Management
GEM Hotel SoHo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was truly a little gem in the eclectic SOHO part of NYC. We lived in NYC years ago and it was like we never missed a beat by staying here. Centrally located, the rooms were clean and the service very good. If you are looking for boutique this is it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear anthoncir,

Thank you for the wonderful 5 Star review following your stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC's best neighborhood!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
GEM Hotel SoHo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I had a wonder experience staying at the GEM in SoHo. The service provided by Anthony, Amy, Marvellis, and the managers was absolutely above reproach. Our room was very clean and well appointed. We used Priceline any didn't get to choose the GEM, but we are very glad that it was chosen for us! We will be back for our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Bruce L,

Thank you for the stellar 5 Star review and your stellar comments following your recent stay with us at the GEM SoHo hotel. We strive to ensure our guests have an excellent stay experience with us. Your business is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a great last minute find for a business trip to NYC. I've stayed at the big hotels near Times Square and Midtown. Done the Jersey City thing etc, but what an AMAZING find! This is one of the coolest areas in NYC. You are right in SoHo / East Village / Lower East Side. Not only are there amazing restaurants, shopping, craft breweries and a Whole Foods in close proximity BUT the hotel is AWESOME. It is super clean, has nice finishes in the rooms, super comfy beds and amazing staff. I've honestly enjoyed every second of staying here. They provide some nice touches like a decent sized NYC hotel rooms that is actually quiet enough for you to get a good night's sleep. It is close to the 6 and B trains so you can get up towards Midtown or south to Wall St for meetings easily. Spacious beds to sleep the night away. Great a/c that keeps the room cold when its muggy outside (it was slightly muggy and warm in early October). All of the staff is super friendly, from the engineering/maintenance, managers and housekeepers; they are always willing to help out with any requests that you may have. I must give an honorable mention to Regina the front desk representative who is amazing! She went out of her way to print some last minute paperwork for a work meeting that I had mentioned in front of her during a conversation that needed to be printed. She went online and found the info on the internet and printed it right out. Also she got some last minute papers printed that I needed paper clipped and helped me get them organized and in order at 10PM the night before my meeting. Definitely a wonderful and very nice lady. In fact the entire staff is wonderful and always willing to go the extra mile. I will DEFINITELY stay here on future trips.

Room Tip: If you want more sleep space definitely book a queen sized bed. If you want more room in your hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Hedgemunkey,

Thank you for the fantastic 5 Star review and the wonderful staff compliments following your recent stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. Our team strives to ensure all of our guests have an excellent stay experience with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC ~ in what we agree is the best neighborhood!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redington Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Came in for a wedding, used to live in the building near the hotel. The staff were amazing, going above and beyond (e.g. helping make sure my tux looked sharp before I left). Thanks to Regina, Amy and the other gentleman managing the hotel. My parents used to stay here when they visited me, they always loved it; it's in a thriving area, those looking for a more cushioned and relaxed version of NYC might check out their location in Chelsea. 10/10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear S C,

Thank you for the fantastic 5-Star review and compliments of our staff following your recent stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. As a team, we strive to provide an excellent stay for all of our guests. We sincerely appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel SoHo

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel SoHo is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide a boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in the neighborhood of SoHo and the Lower East Side. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Spend an afternoon strolling the local neighborhoods and attractions such as Nolita, Chinatown, Little Italy, Canal Street and New York University (NYU). You can admire the art galleries and upscale boutiques within SoHo, or enjoy the East Village's excellent cafes and restaurants. The Lower East Side, once a first stop for poor immigrants and crammed with crowded tenements, small shops and warehouses, is now home to chic restaurants and boutiques, and some of the city's coolest night clubs, bars and music venues.The GEM Hotel SoHo offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and have flat-panel LCD televisions with HD programming, iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at The GEM Hotel SoHo, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The GEM Hotel SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.