We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing in nyc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel SoHo

Save Saved
You added The GEM Hotel SoHo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The GEM Hotel SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 451 hotels in New York City
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“relaxing in nyc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great little gem close to all major attractions in NYC. Loved the place and the reception staff was very helpful. The service provided by Anthony, Amy, Marvellis, and the managers was fantastic. Our room was very clean and well appointed. Will come back again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear srdjan_22,

Thank you for your stellar feedback regarding your recent stay at the GEM Hotel SoHo. We sincerely appreciate the wonderful compliments on our staff and cleanliness. Your business is greatly appreciated ~ we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest Regards,

Staff & Management
GEM Hotel SoHo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    174
    54
    35
    19
See reviews for
75
127
42
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was truly a little gem in the eclectic SOHO part of NYC. We lived in NYC years ago and it was like we never missed a beat by staying here. Centrally located, the rooms were clean and the service very good. If you are looking for boutique this is it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear anthoncir,

Thank you for the wonderful 5 Star review following your stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC's best neighborhood!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
GEM Hotel SoHo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I had a wonder experience staying at the GEM in SoHo. The service provided by Anthony, Amy, Marvellis, and the managers was absolutely above reproach. Our room was very clean and well appointed. We used Priceline any didn't get to choose the GEM, but we are very glad that it was chosen for us! We will be back for our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Bruce L,

Thank you for the stellar 5 Star review and your stellar comments following your recent stay with us at the GEM SoHo hotel. We strive to ensure our guests have an excellent stay experience with us. Your business is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a great last minute find for a business trip to NYC. I've stayed at the big hotels near Times Square and Midtown. Done the Jersey City thing etc, but what an AMAZING find! This is one of the coolest areas in NYC. You are right in SoHo / East Village / Lower East Side. Not only are there amazing restaurants, shopping, craft breweries and a Whole Foods in close proximity BUT the hotel is AWESOME. It is super clean, has nice finishes in the rooms, super comfy beds and amazing staff. I've honestly enjoyed every second of staying here. They provide some nice touches like a decent sized NYC hotel rooms that is actually quiet enough for you to get a good night's sleep. It is close to the 6 and B trains so you can get up towards Midtown or south to Wall St for meetings easily. Spacious beds to sleep the night away. Great a/c that keeps the room cold when its muggy outside (it was slightly muggy and warm in early October). All of the staff is super friendly, from the engineering/maintenance, managers and housekeepers; they are always willing to help out with any requests that you may have. I must give an honorable mention to Regina the front desk representative who is amazing! She went out of her way to print some last minute paperwork for a work meeting that I had mentioned in front of her during a conversation that needed to be printed. She went online and found the info on the internet and printed it right out. Also she got some last minute papers printed that I needed paper clipped and helped me get them organized and in order at 10PM the night before my meeting. Definitely a wonderful and very nice lady. In fact the entire staff is wonderful and always willing to go the extra mile. I will DEFINITELY stay here on future trips.

Room Tip: If you want more sleep space definitely book a queen sized bed. If you want more room in your hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Hedgemunkey,

Thank you for the fantastic 5 Star review and the wonderful staff compliments following your recent stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. Our team strives to ensure all of our guests have an excellent stay experience with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC ~ in what we agree is the best neighborhood!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redington Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Came in for a wedding, used to live in the building near the hotel. The staff were amazing, going above and beyond (e.g. helping make sure my tux looked sharp before I left). Thanks to Regina, Amy and the other gentleman managing the hotel. My parents used to stay here when they visited me, they always loved it; it's in a thriving area, those looking for a more cushioned and relaxed version of NYC might check out their location in Chelsea. 10/10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear S C,

Thank you for the fantastic 5-Star review and compliments of our staff following your recent stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. As a team, we strive to provide an excellent stay for all of our guests. We sincerely appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights this past weekend and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. We had made a mistake with our room booking but the staff worked it out for us at no extra charge to us. The rooms were very clean and the staff were great. I highly recommend this hotel. Will definitely stay there on my next visit and also recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Kathy T,

Thank you for the 5 Star review and stellar feedback regarding your recent stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. Our team strives to ensure each guest has nothing less then an excellent experience with us. We sincerely thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Room was arranged two months before date needed. Check in was at 3PM. Walked around for 3 hours and when 3 PM came, the room was given to someone else. Had to wait two additional hours for mistake to be rectified. The electrical outlets did not work correctly, much dust on lamps and surfaces, no face cloths given to us the second night, bathroom sink cracked, water barely warm in sink, no soda machine, clock radio would not work etc. The staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful. No one could explain why room was given to someone else. I have lots of reasons to come back to NY but I would certainly not go back there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Iris M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. While we understand that you were upset that your room was not ready at 3pm, it certainly was very gracious and incredibly kind of our guest who offered to and did change to another room type so we could honor your requested room type. We were happy to accommodate you with the complimentary coffee certificates for Whole Foods as you most patiently awaited your room to be ready. We certainly are reviewing your additional comments as we take them very seriously. Next time you are in NYC, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Amy S. Herberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The GEM Hotel SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel SoHo

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#241 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel SoHo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel SoHo is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide a boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in the neighborhood of SoHo and the Lower East Side. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Spend an afternoon strolling the local neighborhoods and attractions such as Nolita, Chinatown, Little Italy, Canal Street and New York University (NYU). You can admire the art galleries and upscale boutiques within SoHo, or enjoy the East Village's excellent cafes and restaurants. The Lower East Side, once a first stop for poor immigrants and crammed with crowded tenements, small shops and warehouses, is now home to chic restaurants and boutiques, and some of the city's coolest night clubs, bars and music venues.The GEM Hotel SoHo offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and have flat-panel LCD televisions with HD programming, iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at The GEM Hotel SoHo, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The GEM Hotel SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.