We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel SoHo to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #278 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Redington Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One Night Stand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Came in for a wedding, used to live in the building near the hotel. The staff were amazing, going above and beyond (e.g. helping make sure my tux looked sharp before I left). Thanks to Regina, Amy and the other gentleman managing the hotel. My parents used to stay here when they visited me, they always loved it; it's in a thriving area, those looking for a more cushioned and relaxed version of NYC might check out their location in Chelsea. 10/10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear S C,

Thank you for the fantastic 5-Star review and compliments of our staff following your recent stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. As a team, we strive to provide an excellent stay for all of our guests. We sincerely appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    172
    56
    33
    21
See reviews for
83
137
49
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights this past weekend and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. We had made a mistake with our room booking but the staff worked it out for us at no extra charge to us. The rooms were very clean and the staff were great. I highly recommend this hotel. Will definitely stay there on my next visit and also recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Kathy T,

Thank you for the 5 Star review and stellar feedback regarding your recent stay at the GEM SoHo Hotel. Our team strives to ensure each guest has nothing less then an excellent experience with us. We sincerely thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Room was arranged two months before date needed. Check in was at 3PM. Walked around for 3 hours and when 3 PM came, the room was given to someone else. Had to wait two additional hours for mistake to be rectified. The electrical outlets did not work correctly, much dust on lamps and surfaces, no face cloths given to us the second night, bathroom sink cracked, water barely warm in sink, no soda machine, clock radio would not work etc. The staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful. No one could explain why room was given to someone else. I have lots of reasons to come back to NY but I would certainly not go back there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Iris M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. While we understand that you were upset that your room was not ready at 3pm, it certainly was very gracious and incredibly kind of our guest who offered to and did change to another room type so we could honor your requested room type. We were happy to accommodate you with the complimentary coffee certificates for Whole Foods as you most patiently awaited your room to be ready. We certainly are reviewing your additional comments as we take them very seriously. Next time you are in NYC, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Amy S. Herberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sverige
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good hotel with great staff and a really good location!
Easy to actually walk to whatever destination you want!

With no breakfast or restaurant it was a perfect reason to go out early and explore the surrounding and trying out something new every morning!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Tony I,

Thank you for the stellar comments and 4-Star review following your stay with us. We super appreciate you being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back to NYC's best neighborhood.

Sincerely,

Amy S. Herberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while visiting our Son in New York. The rooms are compact but that is what you get in New York. They were spotless with the bath towels etc changed everyday. Staff on reception and chamber maids were all extremely friendly and helpful. There are plenty of eating places all close by, we were unused to The Whole Foods set up and found a lovely place both for breakfast and dinner called Gemma at the Bowery Hotel great food and fantastic wine list. The Gem is a short walk to Broadway.
Michael

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your stellar comments and 5-Star review following your recent stay with us. We super appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you and your wife on your next trip to NYC.

Sincerely,

Amy S. Herberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hotel is small and there is not much to it other than the rooms. However, the rooms are spacious for New York and very clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms had space with granite countertops. The staff was more than accommodating when it came to questions about where to go in the area. They were very friendly and even printed our boarding passes for me at checkout. The location is perfection and I will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Clancy G,

Thank you for your stellar comments and 5-star review following your recent stay with us. We super appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC.

Sincerely,

Amy S. Herberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at Gem SoHo for 2 nights in early August and I have no complaints about this hotel.
The name is a little bit confusing as The Gem isn't really in SoHo (is more on the East Village side, close to Bowery) so maybe if it's your first time in the Big Apple you would prefer a more central place to stay. As I know the city quite well, I found the location perfect for me as everything I needed while in town was walking distance.
Anyway if you're planning a trip to NYC, I would seriously think about The Gem, even if you're never been in town before: there's a metro station a few steps from the hotel, and also a huge Whole Foods store if you wanna grab something to eat/drink. Broadway and the amazing shops and restaurants of SoHo are just a 5-10 minutes walk away.
Check-in was fast and smooth, and the guy at the front desk was super nice and helpful. The only issue was the elevator to the reception that wasn't working.. it's only 1 floor but you have to take your luggage to the top of the stairs, and it's may be a problem if you're not travelling light. The main elevator, while slow, was working.
The hotel and the rooms are quite small.. as I was traveling alone I found my room big enough for me, but if I were traveling with someone else, I would go for a bigger one.
The room was clean, with free WiFi, iPod dock station, complimentary bottled water.. you'll find everything you need while there. My room was facing E. Houston Street. Couldn't hear anything from the road, but on the other side, a/c was a little bit noisy. Anyway, the bed was so comfy I could sleep without any problem.
Compared to other hotels in the area I got a great deal so I would definitely think about staying at the Gem on my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aherberg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Interpol81,

Thank you for the stellar 4-Star review following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to NYC.

Warmest regards,

Amy Herberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel SoHo

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel SoHo is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide a boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in the neighborhood of SoHo and the Lower East Side. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Spend an afternoon strolling the local neighborhoods and attractions such as Nolita, Chinatown, Little Italy, Canal Street and New York University (NYU). You can admire the art galleries and upscale boutiques within SoHo, or enjoy the East Village's excellent cafes and restaurants. The Lower East Side, once a first stop for poor immigrants and crammed with crowded tenements, small shops and warehouses, is now home to chic restaurants and boutiques, and some of the city's coolest night clubs, bars and music venues.The GEM Hotel SoHo offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and have flat-panel LCD televisions with HD programming, iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at The GEM Hotel SoHo, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The GEM Hotel SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.