We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a true "gem"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel SoHo

Save Saved
You added The GEM Hotel SoHo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The GEM Hotel SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #257 of 452 hotels in New York City
city of brotherly love and high taxes, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a true "gem"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I were spending a couple of nights in NYC and ended up with this hotel on Hotwire. We couldn't have been more pleased with the result. The room was small, but exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and had obviously been recently upgraded, it even had a Jacuzzi tub! The F train subway was about a block away and there were plenty of cafes, etc around. The staff was extraordinarily polite and friendly. We were on the 3rd floor street side and although it was a bit noisy in the morning it wasn't nearly as loud as it could have been. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaidevg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear VinandTonic,

Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to write a Four Star review of our hotel. Next time you do stay with us I recommend you stay in one of our park side rooms. Just let us know when making the reservation. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you both on your next visit to New York City.

Best Regards,

Amy S. Herberg
General Manager
The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    162
    49
    33
    19
See reviews for
83
129
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, FL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Gem is delightful. Comfortable beds, quiet, view of the park, plenty of storage, micro, fridg and turn down service with essence of lavender. I wanted to move in. The bathrooms were modern and spotless. I could walk to the F train and Whole Foods was down the block. The neighborhood around the Gem Hotel is simply fantastic. Restaurants, cafes, clubs and boutiques are everywhere. The Sara D. Roosevelt park is a cool, serene escape. You can watch basketball, tai chi and skateboarding all at the same time. I especially appreciated the GEM staff Everyone was helpful and welcoming. I can not wait to go back and visit the best neighborhood in NYC.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Sara D. Roosevelt Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaidevg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear nys,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Five Star review of our hotel. We are pleased that you had a stellar experience during your stay and that the service exceeded your expectations. We agree this is NYC's Best neighborhood! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay in New York City!


Sincerely,

Amy S. Herberg

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location is Awesome. Right in the heart of lower Manhattan. Accessible to major landmarks and transportation.
Room was small, but very clean. Beds were quite comfortable.
Staff were very, very welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful.
Awesome bagels right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaidevg, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Renee C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Four Star review of our hotel.I am pleased that you had anstellar experience and we super appreciate your business. We agree you can't get a better bagel anywhere then in NYC's Best neighborhood! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to NYC!


Sincerely,

Amy S. Herberg

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have been to this hotel twice, both times for just one night. It is in a pretty decent locations both for daily and nightly activities. I would not recommend it for a long staying, but for short trips I think is great. I have to say though that both times I really got great deal paying around 150$ that for NYC is great. The rooms were both times pretty clean and the bathroom were clean as well. I had some issues with the room the second time (they gave me 3 different rooms in 30 minutes) because in the first one the AC was broken and there was a weird smell while the second room assigned was not cleaned yet. At the end though the stuff really apologized for the inconvenient and finally gave me the 3rd room that was the good one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear LuluCentro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel as your feedback is valuble. I apologize for the inconvenience during your second stay. We strive to make your experience excellent each time you visit our hotel. I am pleased to hear that our staff was able to move you to a room to your satisfaction. We warmly welcome you back upon your next visit to the city!


Best Regards,

Aaron Kearse
General Manager
The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and the location was really fantastic. There are lots of restaurants within a couple of blocks, a Whole Foods across the street and the subway stop is right across the street as well. I arrived just after noon and was very pleased that I was able to check in early. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit small, not a lot of space to hang clothing but lots of drawer space. Our room faced E. Houston and was a bit noisy at night. Perhaps some of the other rooms further down the hall would be quieter. Our bathroom had a bit of a musty odor so I just closed the door to avoid having it spread throughout the room. Overall an nice place and a good rate and a fantastic location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear SKWorldTravelers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that overall, you had a great experience during your stay and that the service met your expectations. Next time you do stay with us I recommend you stay in one of our park side rooms. Just let us know when making the reservation and we can make sure to give you those accommodations. We warmly welcome you back!


Sincerely,

Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wonderful staff (offering info, a map of the fabulous High Line, tips on travel time, and booking a private car to the airport upon departure). The room was well-appointed and very comfortable. The perfect spot for quick healthy food (Whole Foods is 1 block away) and a healthy body (YMCA Bowery is 2 blocks away). The room was quiet and we were able to find a great Japanese Restaurant nearby. Exceptional value for the money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Splynch49,

I am grateful that you had a wonderful stay and that you felt "right at home." It is wonderful to hear the staff was able to help you know the area and assist you with all of your needs. We are always at your service and we welcome you back on your next visit!


Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Friendly staff, very convenient check-in and check-out. VERY small room, but clean and quiet. Someone stole my mascara though...
Once we found our way around the neighbourhood, we realised we were close to many nice spots, althought East Houston is not the most charming street in town. A morning jogg over the Brooklyn Bridge seeing the sun rises above the city was a nice experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Asa_1607

I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel and you were able to explore the neighbourhood. The staff works hard to make sure you have a memorable experience and they are appreciative of your comments. We welcome you back to our hotel the next time you visit New York.


Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel SoHo

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#242 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel SoHo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel SoHo is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide a boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in the neighborhood of SoHo and the Lower East Side. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Spend an afternoon strolling the local neighborhoods and attractions such as Nolita, Chinatown, Little Italy, Canal Street and New York University (NYU). You can admire the art galleries and upscale boutiques within SoHo, or enjoy the East Village's excellent cafes and restaurants. The Lower East Side, once a first stop for poor immigrants and crammed with crowded tenements, small shops and warehouses, is now home to chic restaurants and boutiques, and some of the city's coolest night clubs, bars and music venues.The GEM Hotel SoHo offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and have flat-panel LCD televisions with HD programming, iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at The GEM Hotel SoHo, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The GEM Hotel SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.