We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff. Noisy Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel SoHo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel SoHo to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #278 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff. Noisy Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Friendly staff but that it about it. The location is poor. Very noisy. The hotel is run down. Scuffed walls, stained carpets. My room smelt and was cold. Worn dirty towels. After two nights I checked out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sonholusitano,

We appreciate your comments. We want every guest that stays with us to have a positive experience. We had just purchase all brand new bath towels for the rooms, and I want to apologize for the ones that you received during your stay. I would like to speak to you concerning your stay and I can be reached by email soho.gm@thegemhotel.com, or by phone at 212-358-8844. As we take guest satisfaction very serious.

Aaron Kearse
General Manager
The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    172
    56
    33
    21
See reviews for
83
137
49
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had high hopes for this one after some positive reviews around the web. What a mistake and waste of money this was. I'll start off by saying that the location is terrible. It is in Houston rd. which is super loud and super dirty. We got our room on the 4th floor and it smelled so bad (b.o. and humidity) that we had to change rooms. The lady was understanding and gave us another room per our request. The second room was on the second floor and it still smelled bad but we decided to gut it out. Our first night was barely acceptable as the noise from the street was extremely loud. The windows don't shut out the noise at all. The second night was our worst nightmare. There were several young adults screaming and fighting (we could hear every single word) in the room next to us and in the hall. The walls are so thin that you hear the screams as if they were in your room. After that, on the other adjoining room, there was a big party going on, with loud music, laughs and screams. I called the front desk and they told me that they let them party until 11 pm. What hotel allows parties at whatever time? The rooms were tiny, expensive and noisy. Never staying here again even if it was free.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Trotanoy30,

We aplogize about your New York City experience at our hotel. As our guest we want to make a lasting positive impression on them during there stay here with us, and we did not meet your expectation. I would like to discuss this matter in further detail as guest satisfaction is extremely important to us. I can be reach by email Soho.gm@thegemhotel.com or by phone (212) -358-8844.

Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002

212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f

thegemhotel.com

Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great little hotel, comfy room and a good price. It is noisy, on a Saturday night which is to be expected. Perfect location for restaurants, sight seeing etc. No frills but great value.
The bed was really comfortable and the shower although small was powerful and hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear UKtoNJ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.


Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here over a short weekend visiting family. Our room was clean and spacious for NY standards - we had a double/ double. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we loved that we were able to keep our luggage at the hotel after checkout while we walked round the city before leaving for home. The location was perfect for us - walking distance to Soho, Greenwich Village, East Village and the Lower East Side. I will definitely staybhearvagain on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear tigger022,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay and that our service met your expectations. i hope I am able to personally greet you upon your next stay.


Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

decent hotel, rooms were clean but a little small, its loctaion is great, just a heads up to anyone thinking of staying here, my credit card was scammed whilst in new york, the only place i used it was when paying for this hotel, 2 separate charges were made on the card, 1 for 800euro and another for 700euro, both these transactions were made in the states. since the only place i used my credit card in the states was when paying for this hotel and my credit card was with me at all times i can only assume that this hotel is were the fraud took place, although i have no proof.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear bcaims,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It is important for me that every guest is satisfied with their stay. If you feel that any overcharge on your card has occurred, please call us directly at the hotel. It is simple to look at your folio and confirm what was charged at the time of your stay. We look forward to your call.



Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.com
Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My girlfriends and I moved hotels from Midtown to SoHo for a change of scenery. While the Gem Hotel was in a different category than where we had been in midtown, what it lacked in space and little luxuries, it made up in warmth, helpfulness and all around great hospitality. The Gem Soho is really well located--we checked in during a winter storm and could walk a block or two to the nearby Whole Foods, many great restaurants (Momofuku, Lucien) and a subway stop is a minute or two away.
We were three in one double room (two double beds) that is why it was tight for us--if we were just two, it would have been roomier. If you are three, ask for a larger room-they had some, but they were booked when we were there. The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable.
The folks at reception could not have been nicer--they helped with restaurant recommendations for the two nights we stayed--both were exactly what we were looking for.
If you are not planning on spending a lot of time in your room, or are planning a short visit, this is a good, well-priced option.

Room Tip: IF you are more than two adults, request a larger double, they apparently have a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear ChimuChad,

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review about your stay. We welcome you back upon your next trip to SoHo.


Aaron Kearse
General ManagerThe GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.comYour corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great location in Soho and the park across the road it was great for our kids. Rooms were quite small and lower level rooms would have had considerable street noise. Room was clean and tidy though and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel SoHo

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel SoHo is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide a boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in the neighborhood of SoHo and the Lower East Side. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Spend an afternoon strolling the local neighborhoods and attractions such as Nolita, Chinatown, Little Italy, Canal Street and New York University (NYU). You can admire the art galleries and upscale boutiques within SoHo, or enjoy the East Village's excellent cafes and restaurants. The Lower East Side, once a first stop for poor immigrants and crammed with crowded tenements, small shops and warehouses, is now home to chic restaurants and boutiques, and some of the city's coolest night clubs, bars and music venues.The GEM Hotel SoHo offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and have flat-panel LCD televisions with HD programming, iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at The GEM Hotel SoHo, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The GEM Hotel SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.