We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel SoHo

Save Saved
You added The GEM Hotel SoHo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The GEM Hotel SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 449 hotels in New York City
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great location in Soho and the park across the road it was great for our kids. Rooms were quite small and lower level rooms would have had considerable street noise. Room was clean and tidy though and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    171
    53
    35
    19
See reviews for
71
124
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had read the reviews, and it is NY, so I expected the room to be small. Even with that expectation, I was a bit surprised as to how small the room was... I compare it more to a small bedroom at your parents house, rather than a hotel room. It was not too small, however, it suited my needs perfectly. I was traveling for business, and needed a room merely for laying my head for a couple of nights. The room had a comfortable queen sized bed, a small cabinet for hanging clothes, and a very skinny "table" where I could put my makeup bag and get ready. Just not much room for walking around, that's all :) The bathroom was sufficient, however the toilet seemed a bit high. I'm 5'7" and still, my feet barely touched the floor. Small inconvenience, but worth mentioning for perhaps someone shorter than I am. I noticed the lock on the sliding bathroom door was broken, and mentioned it to the desk (to be sure I wasn't charged for it), and they had already fixed it before I had a chance. I was glad they didn't just leave it when the room was cleaned, so that was a nice touch.

The location was perfect- I had meetings at Chelsea Market, and even in the cold, was able to easily walk there in the morning. The hotel is also walking distance to many good restaurants and bars. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again, when traveling on business. If my husband were along, I would consider it, maybe getting one of the larger rooms (if the price was right).

Don't get dissuaded by the comments of small rooms- give it a shot and stay at the GEM Hotel in SoHo. I mean really, how big of a room do you really need in NYC :).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Tara G,

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you soon on your return to NYC.


Aaron Kearse
General ManagerThe GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.comYour corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed three days over New Years
Arrived at about noon, check in not till three, staff was nice and held luggage
Took a stroll around the neighborhood to check it out
A little different experience than usual as we are use to staying at a little larger and more prestigious settings
What we found was a very pleasant staff who were down to earth and ready to serve
Everyone had a smile on their face and the atmosphere was very nice
When we got into the room it was small,queen size bed and a small desk area
Free wifi and bottled water were nice features
The only downside was we kept hitting our heads on the ac unit and our legs on the side of the bed
We did have some bruises but if that is the only problem you are doing good
We love the lower east side and spend a lot of time at our friends bar Manitoba's on Avenue B
You could walk out the door and be there in 10 minutes walking
Stanton Street behind the hotel had many fine eating establishments and stores that you could get lost in for a long time
the west village was a 10 minute walk the other way
Perfect location to stay and see THE REAL NEW YORK!
If i was coming back just myself i would stay here again no doubt
We did find it just a little small for two people
I would recommend this hotel for single travelers anytime
Jimmy T

Room Tip: We were down in a basement room. You could hear outside noises, but not too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear JIM T,

Thank you for your feedback. Our front desk staff is here at your service to assure your experience in NYC is pleasurable, as well as memorable. I suggest reserving a larger roomtype on your next stay. We also have accommodations with two beds. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.



Aaron Kearse
General ManagerThe GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f
thegemhotel.comYour corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 2 young children. We are from the east coast originally, but have moved to California, so I wanted to spend a few nights in the city with the family for the holidays. This place was great - easy walk to the Subway and restaurants. The staff was really helpful too. One thing that could be better is the 'front desk' service. A few times, over a few different days, I called the front desk and received no answer. I even called once from off site and did not get an answer. Other than that, everyone there was really helpful and friendly, and I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Seth L,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am pleased you had a wonderful stay. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to NYC.


Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002

212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f

thegemhotel.com

Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I landed up at GEM SoHo after booking at what turned out to be a sketchy-looking Comfort Inn nearby, which turned out to have plumbing and electrical problems - I'm glad they sent me over! I was delighted to find GEM right next door to the famous Yonah Schimmel's knishes and on the same block with both Russ & Daughters Appetizers and Katz Delicatessen -- all three unique reminders of the Lower East Side's history as a center of immigrant Jewish life. The rest of the neighborhood is now the site of trendy to funky restaurants, bars, and boutiques, while just a few blocks away is the much pricier but endlessly fascinating SoHo shopping district. GEM also is just a short walk from little Italy, Chinatown, and the Canal Street vendors offering rock-bottom prices on all types of Chinese knock-offs. So what you get at GEM is a great value for the price: a basic clean, decent, safe room with free Wi-fi, working flatscreen TV, modern bath, and no bedbugs or other unwanted creatures as far as I could tell. For NYC and at this price point, that's about as good as it gets. Why would anyone want in-hotel breakfast when you can fall out the door, walk for less than five minutes, and get some of the best food in the entire country if not the world? I just wanted coffee and ended up at Bowery Coffee, where my latte was lovingly prepared and delicious. The desk is staffed around the clock with people who are incredibly helpful - whether mapping out a complicated subway trip for tourists, or - in my case - storing my luggage and then calling a car service that arrived in about two minutes, so much better and quicker (and no more expensive) than trying to hail a cab on the street. For people who hate the NYC subway as much as I do, it's good to know that GEM's location provides easy access to the F Train, which gives you a straight shot uptown to midtown (Broadway, Rockefeller Center, etc.) and points north -- so at least you are spared time-consuming and confusing train changes. GEM provides a great base camp for exploring the most fascinating neighborhoods of NYC - and even provides pre-recorded walking tours on Ipods, although I highly recommend taking some of the free or low-cost guided walking tours such as Big Onion. In a city that often provides unpleasant surprises, GEM was a refreshingly pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear DCFlack,

Wonderful that you had a great experience at our hotel. We were delighted to have you stay with us during your business trip. "Base Camp" is a great way of stating our wonderful location here in the heart of Manhattan. We look forward to accommodate you on your return to the city!



Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002

212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f

thegemhotel.com

Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed for one night at the GEM Soho Hotel on a trip to NYC with a friend.


LOCATION


The GEM Soho is located on Houston, a stone's throw away from Prince street and its neighborhood of trendy bars, restaurants and booking. The subway station is meters from the entrance of the hotel and there is a supermarket right next to the hotel as well. An excellent location for anyone interested to stay in Soho.


AMBIENCE

The hotel is quite small and the lobby is anything but impressive. However, the gentleman at the reception was extremely nice and helpful and there is a homey feeling about the place. We felt very welcome and at home during our stay.

ROOM

We booked a twin room, which was rather large by NY standards. Bedding was really comfortable, there is large TV in the room, a safe, but no fridge. The bathroom is also quite large by the same standards. Decoration is simple, but tasteful. Like many rooms in NY, it is noisy, and you can hear the traffic hum while in the room. However, it is well isolated from the rest of the hotel, or we had no neighbors during our stay? There is free wifi in the room, which works quite well.

BREAKFAST

Not included in our room, therefore I cannot comment.

SERVICE


During our too short stay, our contact with the staff was limited to the receptionist, who was very nice and helpful. It was a pleasure to chat with him and he also had a good sense of humor. Again, it contributed to the general sense of coziness of the place.


VALUE


The price was correct in terms of situation and room size.


IN SUM

A very good choice for Soho! I will probably return on a next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: A room far from traffic would probably be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, General Manager at The GEM Hotel SoHo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Jewels_Gva,

Our staff here takes great pride in providing our guests the upmost service. We thourghly enjoyed having you stay with us, and hope we have made your short stay as smooth and comfortable as possible while you were here. We would be honored if you would choose to stay with us on your future trip to the city.



Aaron Kearse

General Manager

The GEM Hotel SoHo
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002

212.358.8844 p
212.473.3500 f

thegemhotel.com

Your corner of the world

Closest Subways
F Train @ 2nd Ave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The GEM Hotel SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel SoHo

Address: 135 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel SoHo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel SoHo is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide a boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in the neighborhood of SoHo and the Lower East Side. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Spend an afternoon strolling the local neighborhoods and attractions such as Nolita, Chinatown, Little Italy, Canal Street and New York University (NYU). You can admire the art galleries and upscale boutiques within SoHo, or enjoy the East Village's excellent cafes and restaurants. The Lower East Side, once a first stop for poor immigrants and crammed with crowded tenements, small shops and warehouses, is now home to chic restaurants and boutiques, and some of the city's coolest night clubs, bars and music venues.The GEM Hotel SoHo offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and have flat-panel LCD televisions with HD programming, iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at The GEM Hotel SoHo, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The GEM Hotel SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel New York City
Howard Johnson New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.