We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sh! Do not tell anyone else.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park 79 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park 79 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park 79 Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 451 hotels in New York City
york
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sh! Do not tell anyone else.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My favourite in NYC. Manages to be QUIET, comfortable and relatively affordable. Also love the atmosphere of an old brownstone mansion.

No hotel amenities other than the rooms, but everything you could wish for within one block. Well connected by subway and bus to the rest of New York.

Tempted to keep the secret to myself.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Good evening to our guest from York:

We thank you for your upbeat review of Park 79 Hotel. You know, many of our guests feel as you do, that there is something special here. Great location, helpful staff throughout, comfort, affordable. The holiday season is just ahead, we'll be very busy, and we hope all our guests will love New York City...and Park 79 Hotel.

Lots of plans for 2014...stay tuned!

Best wishes, travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    301
    188
    79
    89
See reviews for
121
255
106
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had a two day stay in New York.
Out for the day and coming to the hotel to sleep. This is an amazingly inexpensive hotel taking into account its prime location. Yes the rooms are small but the bed was comfortable, clean and air-conditioned. Wi-Fi was there all of the time which is not always the case elsewhere.
The reception were friendly and helpful with advice. The crisp clean bedding changed in the mornings. I opted for a shared bathroom that was no problem at all. It was modern with a good shower.
Location is great as I wanted to visit the Central Park museums while downtown access via the Metro is nearby.
I paid $135.00 per night that I thought was great value.
Again I used World Airport Transfer to take me to the hotel directly from JFK. Their return transport was on-time too and we enjoyed an hilarious trip back to the airport. Cost $20.00 each way.
All in all an efficient and pleasant two days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear kind guest from London:

We truly thank you for your positive review of Park 79 Hotel. Your rate reflected a low-occupancy period, and it was a pleasure to offer this. Of course, we are delighted you enjoyed your brief visit. We hope that your next time in New York City will allow you to experience even more of all we are so proud of! And we hope Park 79 will again be your hotel of choice.

Safe travels, Sir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My room was a very basic room. The walls were a dull beige color. In the room, there were a full-size bed & a three-drawer dresser, and a clothes rack (not a closet) to hang my clothes. The room was very small. It reminded me of a dorm room. The mattress was uncomfortable and the carpet was worn. My room, 301, faced a very noisy street.

The private bathroom was extremely tiny and it exuded a moldly smell. The hot water took a very long time to get warm/hot. The cable tv provided a nice variety of channels. There was free internet access in the room.

The hotel did not provide any amenities, such as breakfast. There was not a coffee-maker in the room. Fortunately, the hotel is located in a great neighborhood in the Upper West Side of Manhattan. This area has an abundance of restaurants, coffee houses, wine bars, pharmacy stores,etc. The Museum of Natural History is located across the street from the hotel. The hotel is also in walking distance to the subway trains, such as the B,C on Central Park West on 81st Street, as well as the 1, 2, 3 trains on Broadway & 79th. The metro buses are also accessible as well as cabs/taxis.

The hotel is clean and safe. The staff workers were very friendly. It is a basic budget hotel. It is a very good bargin! I would recommend this hotel to women traveling solo (I felt very safe at the hotel and in the surrounding neighborhood.) I would also recommend it to the budget conscious travel! This is not a hotel for families because the rooms are very small. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms do not have private bath rooms. There are some rooms where you share bathrooms as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Karen Ann:

Thank you for so detailed a review of Park 79 Hotel.

Yes, Room 301 is one of our smaller rooms. We have a good selection of room sizes and at different rates, of course. We are planning a thorough refreshing of our rooms starting early 2014, as we await the start of the quieter winter season.

But we are certainly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found a feeling of safety--that is important! Our staff does take pride in serving our guests!

We hope you'll return to Park 79 Hotel when you next visit New York City--and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co antrim
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Small reception, and lift, very old worldy..and could do with a renovation, however the staff were friendly and the location is very good, easy walking distance for the price.
the rooms are quite small as is the bathroom, but for a short break, its clean and friendly , and for New York, its inexpensive
No restaurant is avail at this hotel so no breakfast etc but there are plently of places nearby

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you, Liesbeth:

We certainly appreciate your comments. We see that your stay at Park 79 Hotel was a good one--and your NYC visit--well, we are sure it was terrific.

We look forward to your return visit and wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel has a good price Compared to other NY hotels. The rooms are small and a bit old fashioned, but they clean them everyday and the Staff is friendly. Free WiFi is availeble. The location is good, near 2 Subway stations..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Lisabth:

Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay at Park 79 Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to start a room-by-room renewal this coming winter-low season. It will be just what our return guests will appreciate. Hope you'll join them.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked a small room with a single bed. The location was fantastic and Central Park and riverside Park were within a very short walking distance. I expected a high price due to the location and paid approx $185 per night. Being in such a prime location I would expect the hotel to set a very high standard of service and cleanliness. All in all it was decent. The bed was as expected only instead of a valance they just left the sheet untucked. I'm not overly fussy but for the location and price... It was messy and didn't make a lot of sense. The day time staff were accommodating, the night staff were lovely. I would stay again - more for location than anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Amor:

Thank you for your posted review of the Park 79 Hotel, and thank you for letting everyone know you'd choose us again! We appreciate that!

We apologize that perhaps the housekeeper did not do a satisfactory job in making the bed. Sometimes, the rush is on! We have plans to redo the furnishings this coming winter, and ther should be a fresh look throughout.

Come see! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park 79 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park 79 Hotel

Address: 117 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park 79 Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARK 79 brings a true touch of an Old World boutique hotel to the Upper West Side, one of New York's historic, safest and most dynamic neighborhoods.Convenient to everything, the hotel is close to major subway and bus lines bringing you everywhere in the city. We are surrounded by fine restaurants and popular pubs, as well as gourmet shopping emporia. Close by is an amazing choice of museums, shops and entertainment for all, and guests respond to our quiet greeting after sightseeing and shopping or a stressful business day. Park 79 is near many of the city's universities and professional schools, including Columbia, Barnard, Fordham and NY Institute of Technology. Stroll to Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, Broadway, Central Park, Time Warner Center-Columbus Circle. Just across Columbus Avenue, the American Museum of Natural History, while the Metropolitan Museum is a brief x-town bus away through Central Park. Refreshing of rooms continues thrugh mid- and late-2014. Our guests savor a sense of well-being while enjoying the excitement and discovery that is New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Park 79 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park 79
Park 79 Hotel New York
Park 79 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park 79 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.