We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Upper West Side Budget Hotel!"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park 79 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Park 79 Hotel to your Saves list
Park 79 Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #345 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Great Upper West Side Budget Hotel!"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My room was a very basic room. The walls were a dull beige color. In the room, there were a full-size bed & a three-drawer dresser, and a clothes rack (not a closet) to hang my clothes. The room was very small. It reminded me of a dorm room. The mattress was uncomfortable and the carpet was worn. My room, 301, faced a very noisy street.

The private bathroom was extremely tiny and it exuded a moldly smell. The hot water took a very long time to get warm/hot. The cable tv provided a nice variety of channels. There was free internet access in the room.

The hotel did not provide any amenities, such as breakfast. There was not a coffee-maker in the room. Fortunately, the hotel is located in a great neighborhood in the Upper West Side of Manhattan. This area has an abundance of restaurants, coffee houses, wine bars, pharmacy stores,etc. The Museum of Natural History is located across the street from the hotel. The hotel is also in walking distance to the subway trains, such as the B,C on Central Park West on 81st Street, as well as the 1, 2, 3 trains on Broadway & 79th. The metro buses are also accessible as well as cabs/taxis.

The hotel is clean and safe. The staff workers were very friendly. It is a basic budget hotel. It is a very good bargin! I would recommend this hotel to women traveling solo (I felt very safe at the hotel and in the surrounding neighborhood.) I would also recommend it to the budget conscious travel! This is not a hotel for families because the rooms are very small. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms do not have private bath rooms. There are some rooms where you share bathrooms as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Karen Ann:

Thank you for so detailed a review of Park 79 Hotel.

Yes, Room 301 is one of our smaller rooms. We have a good selection of room sizes and at different rates, of course. We are planning a thorough refreshing of our rooms starting early 2014, as we await the start of the quieter winter season.

But we are certainly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found a feeling of safety--that is important! Our staff does take pride in serving our guests!

We hope you'll return to Park 79 Hotel when you next visit New York City--and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    337
    215
    87
    92
See reviews for
130
287
119
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co antrim
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Small reception, and lift, very old worldy..and could do with a renovation, however the staff were friendly and the location is very good, easy walking distance for the price.
the rooms are quite small as is the bathroom, but for a short break, its clean and friendly , and for New York, its inexpensive
No restaurant is avail at this hotel so no breakfast etc but there are plently of places nearby

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you, Liesbeth:

We certainly appreciate your comments. We see that your stay at Park 79 Hotel was a good one--and your NYC visit--well, we are sure it was terrific.

We look forward to your return visit and wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel has a good price Compared to other NY hotels. The rooms are small and a bit old fashioned, but they clean them everyday and the Staff is friendly. Free WiFi is availeble. The location is good, near 2 Subway stations..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Lisabth:

Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay at Park 79 Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to start a room-by-room renewal this coming winter-low season. It will be just what our return guests will appreciate. Hope you'll join them.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked a small room with a single bed. The location was fantastic and Central Park and riverside Park were within a very short walking distance. I expected a high price due to the location and paid approx $185 per night. Being in such a prime location I would expect the hotel to set a very high standard of service and cleanliness. All in all it was decent. The bed was as expected only instead of a valance they just left the sheet untucked. I'm not overly fussy but for the location and price... It was messy and didn't make a lot of sense. The day time staff were accommodating, the night staff were lovely. I would stay again - more for location than anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Amor:

Thank you for your posted review of the Park 79 Hotel, and thank you for letting everyone know you'd choose us again! We appreciate that!

We apologize that perhaps the housekeeper did not do a satisfactory job in making the bed. Sometimes, the rush is on! We have plans to redo the furnishings this coming winter, and ther should be a fresh look throughout.

Come see! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First the good... this hotel is wonderfully situated in a quiet area right on Central Park with excellent access to public transportation. As a single woman I felt safe at all times here. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel and rooms were immaculately clean if somewhat worn. Now the "not so good"...the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable as were the pillows, the lighting was so poor I could not read at night and the rug was worn and grungy looking( a little off-putting.) All in all the hotel was perfectly functional but I am not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Linda:

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us at Park 79 Hotel. We appreciate the details you noted, especially about our staff.

We had hoped to start our refurnishing project this fall, but our occupancy has been truly very full throughout. We now are planning for January 2014, with one floor at a time so we do not disrupt guests. We hope your future travel plans include New York City and you'll let us know.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park 79 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park 79 Hotel

Address: 117 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park 79 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARK 79 brings a true touch of an Old World boutique hotel to the Upper West Side, one of New York's historic, safest and most dynamic neighborhoods.Convenient to everything, the hotel is close to major subway and bus lines bringing you everywhere in the city. We are surrounded by fine restaurants and popular pubs, as well as gourmet shopping emporia. Close by is an amazing choice of museums, shops and entertainment for all, and guests respond to our quiet greeting after sightseeing and shopping or a stressful business day. Park 79 is near many of the city's universities and professional schools, including Columbia, Barnard, Fordham and NY Institute of Technology. Stroll to Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, Broadway, Central Park, Time Warner Center-Columbus Circle. Just across Columbus Avenue, the American Museum of Natural History, while the Metropolitan Museum is a brief x-town bus away through Central Park. Refreshing of rooms continues thrugh mid- and late-2014. Our guests savor a sense of well-being while enjoying the excitement and discovery that is New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Park 79 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park 79
Park 79 Hotel New York
Park 79 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park 79 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.