We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good simple hotel in NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park 79 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Park 79 Hotel to your Saves list
Park 79 Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 463 Hotels in New York City
co antrim
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a good simple hotel in NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Small reception, and lift, very old worldy..and could do with a renovation, however the staff were friendly and the location is very good, easy walking distance for the price.
the rooms are quite small as is the bathroom, but for a short break, its clean and friendly , and for New York, its inexpensive
No restaurant is avail at this hotel so no breakfast etc but there are plently of places nearby

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you, Liesbeth:

We certainly appreciate your comments. We see that your stay at Park 79 Hotel was a good one--and your NYC visit--well, we are sure it was terrific.

We look forward to your return visit and wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    370
    234
    94
    97
See reviews for
150
321
130
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel has a good price Compared to other NY hotels. The rooms are small and a bit old fashioned, but they clean them everyday and the Staff is friendly. Free WiFi is availeble. The location is good, near 2 Subway stations..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Lisabth:

Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay at Park 79 Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to start a room-by-room renewal this coming winter-low season. It will be just what our return guests will appreciate. Hope you'll join them.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked a small room with a single bed. The location was fantastic and Central Park and riverside Park were within a very short walking distance. I expected a high price due to the location and paid approx $185 per night. Being in such a prime location I would expect the hotel to set a very high standard of service and cleanliness. All in all it was decent. The bed was as expected only instead of a valance they just left the sheet untucked. I'm not overly fussy but for the location and price... It was messy and didn't make a lot of sense. The day time staff were accommodating, the night staff were lovely. I would stay again - more for location than anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Amor:

Thank you for your posted review of the Park 79 Hotel, and thank you for letting everyone know you'd choose us again! We appreciate that!

We apologize that perhaps the housekeeper did not do a satisfactory job in making the bed. Sometimes, the rush is on! We have plans to redo the furnishings this coming winter, and ther should be a fresh look throughout.

Come see! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First the good... this hotel is wonderfully situated in a quiet area right on Central Park with excellent access to public transportation. As a single woman I felt safe at all times here. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel and rooms were immaculately clean if somewhat worn. Now the "not so good"...the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable as were the pillows, the lighting was so poor I could not read at night and the rug was worn and grungy looking( a little off-putting.) All in all the hotel was perfectly functional but I am not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Linda:

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us at Park 79 Hotel. We appreciate the details you noted, especially about our staff.

We had hoped to start our refurnishing project this fall, but our occupancy has been truly very full throughout. We now are planning for January 2014, with one floor at a time so we do not disrupt guests. We hope your future travel plans include New York City and you'll let us know.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent location. Room was small and dark but clean. One thing this hotel should invest in and maybe I will return - comfortable mattresses! Even on the pull out sofa. If your guests don't have a good night's sleep they become cranky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location close to Central Park but a decent walk / subway ride from Times Square , Empire State etc. Columbus avenue is great for shopping, restaurants, bars etc.
Hotel is average, small rooms . Internet access is great in the hall way, not so good in rooms . No tea/ coffee facility. Shared bathrooms - clean with hot water. Staff helpful .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISInteractive, General Manager at Park 79 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jayne:

Thank you for your brief and clear review of Park 79 Hotel. We appreciate your noting that the facilities for the shared-bath accommodations were very good. Of course, you had a sink in your room, with towels, and all our guests note there is almost never a wait for the shared facilities...and they are clean!

We hope you'll return for your next NYC visit. During the lower-season periods, even the private bath accommodations are very affordable!

Stay well and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park 79 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park 79 Hotel

Address: 117 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park 79 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARK 79 brings a true touch of an Old World boutique hotel to the Upper West Side, one of New York's historic, safest and most dynamic neighborhoods.Convenient to everything, the hotel is close to major subway and bus lines bringing you everywhere in the city. We are surrounded by fine restaurants and popular pubs, as well as gourmet shopping emporia. Close by is an amazing choice of museums, shops and entertainment for all, and guests respond to our quiet greeting after sightseeing and shopping or a stressful business day. Park 79 is near many of the city's universities and professional schools, including Columbia, Barnard, Fordham and NY Institute of Technology. Stroll to Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, Broadway, Central Park, Time Warner Center-Columbus Circle. Just across Columbus Avenue, the American Museum of Natural History, while the Metropolitan Museum is a brief x-town bus away through Central Park. Refreshing of rooms continues thrugh mid- and late-2014. Our guests savor a sense of well-being while enjoying the excitement and discovery that is New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Park 79 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park 79
Park 79 Hotel New York
Park 79 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park 79 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.