We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal in Manhattan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Out NYC to your Saves list
The Out NYC
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Save 25% for NYE
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Deal in Manhattan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My favorite hotel in New York City. Clean, friendly staff, Gay friendly and great location. The only Two things I wish they will change at the hotel is to include Breakfast with the booking and to fix the noisy voice of the AirConditions/Heaters inside rooms!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Second floor with Garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Tareq L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback pertaining to your recent stay!
Our team is reviewing your comments in order to improve guests’ experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    200
    70
    37
    36
See reviews for
33
255
166
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is great, but I booked by hostel247.com and my reservation not was in there and I lost 10 % deposit I already paid for
The reception told me they didn't know if that site www.hostel247.com it's truly or not , I told I paid already for 10% but I have to pay for the full price , I told reception if this web scam they Should try remove your hotel name for this site , but I checked and the name still in there

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is really a nice find. Booked for an anniversary evening and it was close to the pier where the dinner cruise was departing. The hotel looks very cool, and modern and the rooms are really very nice. Everything worked and looked great. Valet service is offered and they took care of my car during our stay. Perfect location also for just walking around NYC. We hit Times Square and really found it hard to pick what to do with all the options that are around. Front desk gave us a nice recommendation for breakfast that was awesome. We are planning to stay again in the summer so we can really take advantage of the walking and experiencing midtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear SmokinBiz,

We appreciate you sharing your experience at THE OUT. Thank you for your feedback for fellow travelers to reference! We appreciate your kind words immensely and look forward to welcoming you back!

Most sincerely,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The staff excel at making you feel welcome. The rooms are nice and the bathroom clean and well lit. The open courtyards, however, allow the wind and snow to blow down the hallways, and that is a drawback. The restaurant is bright and with a wall of glass, very modern and appealing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Frnklw,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a perfect oasis and has features that I've never seen. First off it's a 2 block walk to EVERY subway. Next the rooms are generous for NYC and the courtyard environment is unlike anything I've ever seen in NYC. The staff is uber helpful and of course the police station adjacent always makes you feel safe in the big bad city. If you are a clubber, XL downstairs is unparalleled in NYC. If you don't plan on being out Saturday night, make sure your room is on the North side.. That's my only suggestion. Overall, the hotel is unique and I'd always look forward to staying there. The restaurant and spa services are on par with most other high end hotels I've had the fortune of staying in but at a far better price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear J T,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed all that The OUT has to offer. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when booking your next stay with us and we will take care of any requests you may have.

See you next time!

The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Finding a place to "crash" in NYC is typically either very expensive or at a not so very nice hotel. The OUT NYC offfers shared accomodation (4 to a room) with individual storage rooms and bunked beds that provides a good priced alternative at a great location. But if coming with a friend, get a room - either way is good value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms on 2nd floor all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Sven L,

Thank you for your 5 star review! We appreciate your feedback for others to read when traveling on a budget. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

had a fun time at the out, the food at the restaurant was very good. Staff at front desk was top notch. The rooms are nice size, modern furnished and ample room. Heater AC is a bit on the loud side but being in NY you better get used to the noise. Also the Thermostat was located right at the door frame so the reading was way off since you could feel the cold air are coming in.
Our room was a little bit dirty, the carpets where not vacuumed and with black you could see every piece of dirt on it. Also the maid did not shut the door all the way but luckily nothing was taken.
The spa and gym are fantastic after a busy day in the city, and the steam room was also a welcoming sight since it was only 27 F outside.

Room Tip: our room had a view to one of the couryards, but not sure how much that matters since you are not go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Internationalgotoguy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words concerning our spa facilities and our front office team. We want you to know your comments in regards to your room are being reviewed with our management leaders to improve guest satisfaction.

All the best,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Address: 510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Out NYC is New York City’s first and only urban resort awarded one of Fodor’s top 100 Hotel’s in 2012. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel’s 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Out NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.