We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have picked a better hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Out NYC to your Saves list
The Out NYC
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Special
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have picked a better hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

After much searching through the different review websites about which hotels I should stay at while i'm in NYC I decided on staying at The Out NYC. I couldn't have been happier about my decision. The rooms were clean, nice, and modern. The staff was even better - I needed some documents printed in a hurry and they not only took the fax but delivered it to my room! The convenience of this hotel can not be overstated. Its within walking distance of the Javits convention center, there is a 24 hr CVS right on the corner, and it is really safe with a police station being next to the hotel. I have to mention Kenny at the front desk because he was extremely helpful and professional. I wish more staff were like him at the places that I stay at. We will definitely be back to this hotel for our next trip.

Room Tip: 24 CVS at the corner and walking distance to the Javits Convention Center. Double rooms are more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Janis M,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, specifically Kenny at the front office. We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations and Kenny is a big part of that equation- so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
THE OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    218
    83
    38
    39
See reviews for
33
268
179
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in The Out in December for 5 days. It was a a friendly place and had good service.
As it is known to be a gay friendly hotel, me and my boyfriend found the nightclub downstairs a little too noisy, however the staff were nice and they moved us over to another room.
Rooms were nice and comfy and my boyfriend used the gym too. There was a nice cafe/restaurant downstiars where we had breakfast once, it was pretty good.
Nice location about a 10-15 minute walk to Times Square and not far from other places like Macys etc. Also about a dive minute walk is a great diner recommended by staff! that was delicious.
I would say its a great place for students/travellers as although we didnt stay in the hotel shared accomodation part. There is a part of the hotel where you can share rooms and it may be a little more affordable.
Overall lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

stayed off the cuff after our booked accommodation elsewhere was a letdown. staff were very helpful and accommodating we had a room at the front of the building the room was great but it did not have tea or coffee making facilities, the wifi was patchy too. We will go back because overall it was a very pleasing experience.

Room Tip: front of the building or overlooking the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at The Out hotel feb 2013, it was wonderful. From the time we checked in till we checked out, front desk (Mr Katz)and valet was efficient and friendly. The room was modern and quite large for NYC , and clean, which was most important to us. The bed extremely comfortable as we're the linens. The bathroom was modern and very well done with a large shower, the soaps and lotions are excellent.. Close to theaters , restaurants and times square. Starbucks about a block and a half and another 2 blocks, no coffe maker in room. Needed wash clothes, the front desk sent them up in minutes. I would highly recommend staying here if you need to be near theater, restaurants, hells kitchen, port authority, even Chelsea is not a bad walk or short cab ride. Requested a room away from club, so noise was not a factor, if going in the winter request an inside room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Paul J,
On behalf of the entire team here, we thank you for taking time to share your experiences with other travelers. I am glad that you were able to meet our new Director of Front Office, Charlie Katz and that he was able to assist you throughout your stay. We take pride in being able to exceed guests’ expectations and I’m glad we were able to provide you with a room away from XL Nightclub and in the interior as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the big apple and seeing you yet again.

Sincerely,

THE OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here a 2nd time after discovering this hotel last fall. It's my new favorite hotel in NYC....especially if you're a SOLO traveler. The hotel has green space, grounds, spa area free to guests, better than anywhere else I've stayed in NYC and even better than other places I've stayed in other parts of the country. Nice to be able to come back to hotel after shopping and be able to using a Hot Tub in a glass enclosed view of outdoor space, use a Steam Room, , Sauna, or use the gym. Sleep shares are an amazing value. Hotel is VERY WELL LOCATED to Times Square, great restaurants in Hell's kitchen area, tons of great bars (lots of gay ones too), 4 blocks from subway, etc. This place is now itself a destination when I visit NYC. I didn't even want to look at staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you choose a sleep share room, I'd suggest asking for a lower bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed all the amenities in the resort, including The Spa @ THE OUT NYC Resort. Also, most guest find that our sleep share accommodations do provide a great value and are extremely popular. We are glad that you will come back and visit us again and we look forward to seeing you!

Warm regards,
THE OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a good - but not great - hotel. It's a great value however. The rooms are nice but the whole package somehow just doesn't add up. Most of the rooms are arranged around a courtyard exposed to the outside temperature. This turned out to be uncomfortable in February. We had to fully layer up, with sweaters and outerwear, just visit the restaurant for dinner. It sounds like a small thing but it was a bigger deal than one might imagine. The elevator and stairwell were freezing as were the open-sided hallways.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Pwrstr,
While we are pleased to hear that you found our resort to be a great value package, I apologize for any inconvenience caused by the location of your room. Although we do have rooms that face an outdoor Great Lawn, we also have rooms that are located in the interior of the resort near the Spa Atrium that are not exposed to the outside elements. Keeping that in mind, we look forward to seeing you again and please feel free to contact me directly should you have any other questions or need assistance with any future reservations!

Warm regards,
THE OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

1. Rooms are clean with contemporary modern décor.
2. Perfectly located in Hell’s Kitchen; you’re within walking distance to wonderful restaurants, shops and bars.
3. Bathroom and bedding material are soft and luxuries.

Room Tip: Our room was located close to XL but rooms were for the most part quiet. If you're a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Nick95126,
Thank you for taking time to post your review! We are all pleased to read that you had “the best hotel experience” and that you not only enjoyed the resort, but also the location, the resort’s décor, and the luxurious bedding materials. We hope to see you again soon here at THE OUT NYC resort.
Regards,
THE OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Address: 510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the diversity of New York City and in celebration of the rich history embedded within the Manhattan borough, The OUT Hotel delivers a high-energy, full-service experience within the confines of a truly urban resort. Named of the "Top 10 Most Beautiful Hotel Gardens in the World" by Fodor's, The OUT Hotel boasts three dynamic OUTdoor spaces perfect for hanging OUT, laying OUT or chilling OUT. Our abundant OUTdoor space is complimented by a beautiful Spa and Spa Atrium which features a two- story waterfall, plush cabanas and hot tubs with majestic skyward views. Whatever your mood, we have an experience just for you - it's what makes The OUT Hotel the only boutique urban resort in Times Square. As a guest of The OUT Hotel, you can be certain we will go OUT of our way to meet your every need. Experience Manhattan from the inside OUT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Out NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.