We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Out NYC

Save Saved
You added The Out NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Out NYC
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kailua-Kona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The term urban resort is right on! Besides a great room with luxurious bedding & great bath amenities there is a nightclub, great restaurant with excellent service and food as well as a spa and even outdoor spaces!

Would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    394
    166
    63
    29
    27
See reviews for
27
227
137
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was in town working New York Comic Con & booked for a handful of people of different genders & orientation. We were overly impressed by how helpful the staff was everyday & extremely friendly. Hotel is very funky, modern & clean. We had several friends from the convention swing by & they ALL were jealous & said they wanted to book here for next time.
I have already spread the word about this fabulous place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If any casual observers were unsure of whether they had been transported to Oz, the Madonna/Lady Gaga mash-up being performed by a pair of drag queens in the adjoining restaurant, and spilling into the lobby, was indication enough as to the orientation of The Out hotel. Billed as a "straight-friendly" establishment, The Out may market itself as a predominantly gay hotel, but the truth is that the clientele I encountered were overwhelmingly a broad, multi-cultural swath of people just looking for a decent hotel, and having a blast with what they found at The Out.

The lobby is outfitted in neutral shades of gray, softened by clean-lined chenille couches and a cozy rug. Mirrors accented by a spattering of frosted bird silhouettes visually expand the space, while a large bank of windows lets in light, and a view of the non-descript parade of vehicles on this portion of W. 42nd Street. A pair of chairs in the form of giant drama masks frames the window, lending a whimsical theatrical air to the entrance. Check in is at 4 PM, and on the Sunday I arrived that meant 4 PM, not an hour or minute sooner.

Unlike some New York hotels, this is much more than just a simple place to rest - there are several "play" areas, especially if the weather is nice, as most are open to the elements in courtyard fashion, surrounded by rooms and curtains. An expansive sitting green features colorful chairs and bean bag lounges, while a bamboo enclosed area features a long central table and a few dozen chairs. By November, the action moves inside, to a bright atrium where two jacuzzis welcome guests amid another tropical seating area. Given this, the hotel has more of a chic Miami vibe than a cold New York feel, and in many ways it works as an oasis in the middle of Times Square. An elegant spa is on site as well, with a steam room, sauna, and showers on hand for every imaginable form of relaxation (including massage and other pampering available for those in the lucky position to splurge). Well-maintained and fully stocked with fluffy towels and attendants readily available, it is a luxurious treat.

My room was quite substantial, especially by New York standards. By all rights, the dark curtains and dark carpet should have been too dim, but the light filtering in through the stand of black bamboo outside the window, coupled with an ample arsenal of additional illumination (both overhead and task-oriented) insured that the space could be made as bright as anyone could want, staving off all chances at gloominess. (The pair of glowing bedside tables made clever double-use of their purpose.) An immense king-size bed decked out minimally in simple white linens and backed by a ceiling-height mirror takes center stage, and rightfully so - this is one of the most comfortable beds in which I've slept in quite some time, as if created specifically to cradle those with difficulty dozing and dreaming.

Though I didn't get the opportunity to try out the restaurant (KTCHN) or the night-club (XL) both looked like a lot of fun. Along with the spa and the expansive outside areas, this is the rare set-up of a New York hotel that offers anything one could want right on the premises. That alone would make it worthy of a visit, but it's the welcoming staff that really sets it apart from others, honoring the guest experience and offering good old-fashioned top-notch support. Each and every guest is treated as if they are the number one priority, (and Hugo at the front desk has certainly earned his reputation as host with the most). Far from giving off an 'exclusive' air, The Out includes everyone in its welcoming way with the world, setting a stylish stage and backing it all up with impeccable service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A couple of weeks ago when the hurricane hit New York I voluntarily evacuated my Chelsea apartment and headed to The Out NYC where I’d had a great dinner the week before. Like everyone else who experienced this storm, my nerves were shot. But as soon as I got to the hotel, I calmed down. Apart from being chic and sophisticated, which the hotel certainly is - the staff at The Out NYC is hands-down amazing. I have never felt so well cared for by hotel staff - not in an obsequious, overdone or scraping way, but in a friendly, straightforward, and genuinely solicitous way. My room was perfect, the gym/spa amenities great, and the restaurant, KITCHN, where I had been before, again served a superb dinner. I’m a New Yorker who by living here, and because of my career, I get to see many amazing places around town. This time I got to experience one from start to finish. I think I have pretty high standards. Bottom line, this experience, and this hotel, completely raised the bar. Tom Cooper, The Corcoran Group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Last month I was looking for a hotel very near to the Javits Convention Center because I have to came to the city for business twice a year and I want something near of everything!! When we arrived to the hotel all the staff was very nice to us from the beginning. Specially his general manager Hugo Yanes, this guy was excellent !! he was on top of every detail that my husband and I need. If you need something just ask for him, he would take care of. We arrived @ 8pm and everything runs fast and easy. When we went to the room everything was perfect, clean and comfy and very trendy, also the room was big and the bathroom too. Something very difficult to find in a good rate in NY. The bar/restaurant in the lobby KTCHN have a great atmosphere and the food was delicious. I think finally I find the hotel that I can consider my second home for my business week in the City. See you on March :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at The OUT NYC this weekend and couldn't be happier with our experience. We showed up at 10am and they immediately gave us a room - no waiting until 3 or 4 like some places. After a long day, we decided to check out the spa. It was so nice to relax in the hot tubs, steam room and sauna. Honestly, the other guests there were also so friendly, you would have thought that someone planted them. We finished our night with cocktails at KTCHN and then hit up the club XL. What a great experience. We will definitely stay there again. Great location and a fantastic night sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Hotel is well situated for a first stay in NYC (close to Times Square, not far from metro station and in Mid Town, allowing you to quickly go to central park and its museum or head to the south.

The hotel is in a nice and hype mood (rooms, decoration, style, restaurant).

All the staff is very kind and helpful. Considering all comments complaining about the noise, we asked for a quiet room wich was no problem. We were then on the third floor, in a calm area of the hotel.

The hotel is gay-friendly (which is indicated on their website), but be sure that straight people are well treated :).

Since we could benefit from a special offer, it has been highly worth its price.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor will be quiet whereas a room on the first floor would be at the epicenter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Address: 510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 182 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Out NYC is New York City’s first and only urban resort awarded one of Fodor’s top 100 Hotel’s in 2012. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel’s 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Out NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.