We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The New Best Hotel in NY !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Out NYC to your Saves list
The Out NYC
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
OUT FOR THE HOLIDAYS!
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
“The New Best Hotel in NY !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Last month I was looking for a hotel very near to the Javits Convention Center because I have to came to the city for business twice a year and I want something near of everything!! When we arrived to the hotel all the staff was very nice to us from the beginning. Specially his general manager Hugo Yanes, this guy was excellent !! he was on top of every detail that my husband and I need. If you need something just ask for him, he would take care of. We arrived @ 8pm and everything runs fast and easy. When we went to the room everything was perfect, clean and comfy and very trendy, also the room was big and the bathroom too. Something very difficult to find in a good rate in NY. The bar/restaurant in the lobby KTCHN have a great atmosphere and the food was delicious. I think finally I find the hotel that I can consider my second home for my business week in the City. See you on March :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    200
    70
    37
    36
See reviews for
33
255
166
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at The OUT NYC this weekend and couldn't be happier with our experience. We showed up at 10am and they immediately gave us a room - no waiting until 3 or 4 like some places. After a long day, we decided to check out the spa. It was so nice to relax in the hot tubs, steam room and sauna. Honestly, the other guests there were also so friendly, you would have thought that someone planted them. We finished our night with cocktails at KTCHN and then hit up the club XL. What a great experience. We will definitely stay there again. Great location and a fantastic night sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Hotel is well situated for a first stay in NYC (close to Times Square, not far from metro station and in Mid Town, allowing you to quickly go to central park and its museum or head to the south.

The hotel is in a nice and hype mood (rooms, decoration, style, restaurant).

All the staff is very kind and helpful. Considering all comments complaining about the noise, we asked for a quiet room wich was no problem. We were then on the third floor, in a calm area of the hotel.

The hotel is gay-friendly (which is indicated on their website), but be sure that straight people are well treated :).

Since we could benefit from a special offer, it has been highly worth its price.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor will be quiet whereas a room on the first floor would be at the epicenter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Room was modern and very clean, all you would want and more for a base to explore NYC. Location was great with theatre town a few blocks away as was The High Line. I manage a bar in Manchester England and can not stop telling anyone who will listen that they MUST STAY at THE OUT NYC!!! when they visit WELL DONE. Hope to see you soon on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a terrible hotel selection. We were deceived by the great website photos and encouraged by The Out being a new hotel and there were no reports on the bed bug Registry yet, which is a rare find for Manhattan. The price was about average however.

Cons

-Check in is not until 4pm, no exceptions. They will be happy to store your bags however and charge you for their retrieval later.
-The hotel staff comes to your room frequently. 1 person to replenish towels, 1 person to check the mini-bar, 3 people to semi-clean, etc.
-The room pricing is random. While the total at the end averages out,one day your room might cost and $200 on another day. In the end, each room averages out to $300 a night. It’s very bizarre.
-Cheap materials were used to build the place and it is already showing wear and tear after only a few months of usage. The shower that sprays all over the bathroom helps in aging everything in there. Telling the front desk results in their not telling the engineer so this very simple to fix problem never gets repaired.
-There is no ice, no in-room coffee, there are a number of snacks for a very high fee. There is also a 24 hour CVS in the same block where one can get the same items much cheaper and stock up.
-Rooms on the east side of the hotel border the dance club next door which is open until 4am so Saturday night sleep is near impossible. After the club lets out, people come back to the courtyard outside of your room and continue their party by seeing who can scream the loudest.
-Getting the TV to work is hit or miss, mostly miss. According to the hotel engineer, this has been an on- going problem since the hotel opened a few months prior.
-While the XL danceclub is connected to the hotel, it is not really part of the hotel. The hotel staff knows nothing about what goes on at the hotel but they do incorrectly advertise events occurring at XL.
-KTCHN is the restaurant at the Out in NYC. The hostesses are rude, the bartenders are rude and the wait staff turns cranky if you came in for drinks and not a full course meal while sitting at the bar. The alcohol is highly overpriced. For example, a glass of Merlot is offered for $11 when this particular brand can be purchased for $14 a bottle at a shop.
-The front desk staff for the most part are dishonest and could care less about your stay. Patronizing and uncaring sum it up well.
-The bed linens are stained as are the towels. Gross.
-The hotel offers a great car (excellent safe, friendly driver) service to the airport and while the front desk staff says you can pay for the $75 ride with credit card, they don’t tell you that by paying with card, you are subject to every fee under the sun (service fee, hotel fee, etc). If you hand over $75 in cash to the driver however, that is the final cost. You learn this when you arrive at the airport.
-Room was not really cleaned daily. Coming in and making the bed and leaving does not constitute cleaning the room.

Pros

-The food in KTCHN is good and fairly priced.


Finally, There was a large event held the last night we were there to promote their business to promoters, event and travel planners. One could see that it was clearly not an overall successful event. There was no attempt to connect these folk with the guests. What were they afraid the guests would tell these folk?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side of the building on the side that is not next to the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I need to thank the staff for accommodated my group of 10 and myself for the week - the service was impeccable - really above and beyond. I had most of the staffs personal numbers and was able to get help from them even on their days off!!!! Very impressive! Even all the quests at the hotel seem to follow suit and were super friendly. I really felt like I was away at a resort with their chic, modern, clean, and crisp style rooms, and their fantastic urban spa - which was my favourite part. Great location - and lots of fun. I have to say it's a relaxing environment for all.

Room Tip: Executive suite - great room and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There is nothing inherently gay about this resort unless you enjoy a modern, clean, cool, tranquil hotel in the middle of the busy city. If gay means a resort where you can unwind, enjoy a great custom cocktail, have a healthy and well prepared dinner, sleep in a lovely designed room with a comfy bed, cool shower, smell good after using the "house" soaps, exercise in great gym, have a sauna, steam, spa all in a unique series of monastic modern courtyards then I must be gay. Oh that's right I am. I know they are straight friendly but I hope too many don't catch on too fast because I already feel this oasis is mine. Just request your room to be away from the nightclub. Unless you plan on going to dance all night. Then you will not care. The nightclub is wow and loud even though the hotel is above and larger.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the nightclub. If you are very light sleeper, this may not be the place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Address: 510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Out NYC is New York City’s first and only urban resort awarded one of Fodor’s top 100 Hotel’s in 2012. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel’s 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Out NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.