We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Hotel for Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Out NYC to your Saves list
The Out NYC
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Special
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Great New Hotel for Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Everyone at The Out was absolutely lovely. The staff was genuinely friendly and eagerly helpful. The Out has raised the bar much higher for Manhattan hoteliers. I booked my next trip before I even checked out. I recommend the Out to anyone looking for a non traditional hotel in NYC. A perfect place for a trendy wedding as well. Well done Out!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, the music may be troublesome in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hello Enoblab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us here at THE OUT NYC.

It's always a pleasure to hear the resounding reviews such as yours. And we most definitely have phenomenal outdoor and indoor spaces for wedding opportunities.

Keep us in mind if you or friends are looking to tie the knot anytime soon!

Best,

Keith F
keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    238
    95
    43
    48
See reviews for
37
291
202
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a great place, especially if you go during nice weather. The outdoor common spaces are fantastic. The beds are unbelievably comfortable and the rooms are large for NYC. I would not recommend this place to my older or more conservative friends due to the fact that you can't mind a little noise. I always sleep with earplugs, so it didn't bother me, but it can be a bit noisy. The rooms that overlook the common areas let in some of the lounge music & any chatter from people hanging out there. The rooms above the nightclub let in the club music. If you're there for an event at Javitt's Center - this place is perfect. So close, you can avoid the traffic by walking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi there Stacey B ,

We love welcoming our friends from the Jacob Javitz Center! With so many conventions and trade shows, we want to welcome and encourage as many exhibitors and vendors to experience our new property as possible!

So happy you were pleased with your stay, and hope to host you for future visits to NYC!

Very best,

Keith F
keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Love the OUT!!!
Won't ever stay anywhere else in NYC again. The OUT is amazing! Wonderful staff (and very good looking), hot clients, good music, great vibe, great food. It's rare to see a rooftop hangout in NYC. That was definitely a great bonus.
Two thumbs up!!!
:-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hey there Rocco S,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit while with us here at THE OUT NYC! Our staff is one of the best when it comes to staying in tune to guest needs, as well as maintaining a charming and professional appearance!

Thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy the food as well as we just recently opened KTCHN and are excited for its ever-expanding menu!

Very best,

Keith F
keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Really impressed with Out NYC - funky room with very comfortable bed, soft sheets, cool lighting, beautifully tiled bathroom with almost edible bath products and loved rooms round an open air atrium like a 50s motel. Staff were very friendly and jacuzzi a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi there robpatmore,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at THE OUT NYC!

So happy to hear the room exceeded your expectations and the design suited you! Our beds really are some of the best!

If you are ever interested in purchasing our bath products, feel free to contact us, as they are available to our guests, and can be shipped directly to you! Not to mention they are all organic and very green friendly as well!

All the best, and look forward to hosting you during your next stay in NYC!

Best,

Keith F
Keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was a bit sceptical about booking the share rooms here but hotels in NY are expensive.i dont know what i was worrying about the rooms were quiet,clean and lovely.housekeeping cleaned everyday and my bed was top bunk double bed with large private plasma tv and curtain ( all shares are like this).they provided shower gel,lotion n clean towels eeryday.the facilities are great with 2spas,sun beds and a fully equipped gym.free wifi everywere and 2guest computers.everything is new and chic.you can walk to time sq in 5mns and the nearest tube is 4mns walk at PABT.i loved everything here

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hi there tsvarakadenga,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at THE OUT NYC here on TripAdvisor.

One of the benefits to our luxuyr sleep share rooms is that while you get an unbeatable price on rate, you also get the very best in accommodations, hospitality, and service!

We look forward to hosting you during your next stay in the city!

Very best,

Keith Frey
Keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

An ideal hotel in midtown, close to Times square and Javits convention centre. Its a new property and stylishly built with a very modern decor. Service is good and staff takes care of small things.

Price reasonable for NY. between USD 120 to 160 depending how early you book

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the road, as gets noisy on a saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear AnupamSharan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us here at THE OUT NYC!

We are so pleased to hear we could meet your expectations and look forward to hosting you during your next stay with us!

Best,

Keith F
Keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was my second stay at this new Hells Kitchen property and I have to say it will be my new home in New York. From the moment you enter the very elegant and stylish lobby you feel welcome and the staff goes out of its way for you. The rooms have a great size and the bathrooms offer everything you need. Their own line of spa products is one of the nicest I recently discovered. Highlight of this hotel for sure are the three outdoor courtyards where you can sit, relax after a long day in the city, just read a book or have a drink with friends. Their spa area with the two jacuzzis and the open sundeck let you forget that you are in the middle of New York city. Their inhouse restaurant KTCHN offers excellent modern american fare with great service and was quite busy during my stay. And if you like the club scene, the hotel´s nightclub XL is currently the hottest place for gays to hang out - there is a different party going on every night. Summarizing you get a New York city hotel with all amenities of a hotspot resort

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Basquiat76,

We are so pleased to hear we have not only been able to provide you with the best accommodations, but a "home away from home" in NYC!

Our overall goal is to meet every and all expectations and are thrilled to know our property, staff and amenities have been able to do just that!

Very best,

Keith F
Keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#279 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,903 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,591 reviews
Chelsea
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
#36 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#22 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,790 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#28 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Address: 510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 187 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the diversity of New York City and in celebration of the rich history embedded within the Manhattan borough, The OUT Hotel delivers a high-energy, full-service experience within the confines of a truly urban resort. Named of the "Top 10 Most Beautiful Hotel Gardens in the World" by Fodor's, The OUT Hotel boasts three dynamic OUTdoor spaces perfect for hanging OUT, laying OUT or chilling OUT. Our abundant OUTdoor space is complimented by a beautiful Spa and Spa Atrium which features a two- story waterfall, plush cabanas and hot tubs with majestic skyward views. Whatever your mood, we have an experience just for you - it's what makes The OUT Hotel the only boutique urban resort in Times Square. As a guest of The OUT Hotel, you can be certain we will go OUT of our way to meet your every need. Experience Manhattan from the inside OUT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Out NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.