We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food / bad drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tacombi

Tacombi
267 Elizabeth St, Nolita, New York City, NY 10012 (Nolita)
(917) 727-0179
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tacombi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #500 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nolita
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food / bad drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

amazing tacos! one of the best (try the crispy fish!!) tacos I've had, and the atmosphere is NOT fancy--very "authentic"--great food and fast tacqueria style service. Drinks were not great, so would not recommend the sangria (tasted weird both of the last times i've been there). otherwise the food is awesome and the atmosphere/location are very lively.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    49
    18
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Upon walking through the metal door you are transported to a small town in central or south america. Every detail has been thought of and well executed in the decor and design. The food is just as meticulous in flavor. We had an assortment of tacos - fish and vegetarian options. Some of the best flavored mushrooms I have ever eaten. The corn tortillas are GF. The table sauces were flavorful and quite spicy!
Thank you for a memorable meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is one of my favotites. Have been going there since it opened and I love the simplicity, the decor, the menu, the attitude of the staff and the food itself. They haven't reinvented the wheel, it is not a life changing experience but this place is amazing. I have been gone for a few months and I realized how much I've missed it today that I went

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexican cooked in a combi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This place was a real treat. If you don't want to wait for a table arrive before 7pm - this place is a well known favorite.
The chipotle corn is a definite entree treat everyone needs to try. Trust the wait staffs recommendations (think carefully about the suggestion of a small carafe of mescal however!).
The crispy fish taco was something I will be dreaming of till my next visit.

If you are craving Mexican and some delicious drinks check out Tacombi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still good, but more expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We used to come here every few weeks when it first opened. It's a fun place with good food and the tacos weren't too overpriced. Now, it's table service and the prices are much higher. Tacos are around $5 each! They're good, but not worth that price. The guacamole is ridiculously expensive even for NYC, so we didn't even bother to get it. I don't think we can afford to come back here for a few tacos!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacombi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tacombi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacombi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.