We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi and sashimi in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jing

Jing
689 9th Ave, (Btwn 47th & 48th St), New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
212-245-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,443 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Baar, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best sushi and sashimi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We were craving for sushi and sashimi and our cousins recommended us this place. The sushi and sashimi were creatively done plus it's tasty and fresh. I have to say we were blown away and definitely recommended highly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aland Island, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had dinner in this restaurant with our family after a recommendation from the hotel we're staying at. We just asked for a good chinese place close to the hotel. And we were really happy to have chosen this place for our dinner! Staff was very friendly, the atmosphere was nice and food was really, really good! Good springrolls for our daughter and prawns and pineapple chicken for the adults. Everyone thought it was the best meal we've had during our stay in N.Y. We're definitely going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good food. Found this after reading from fellow reviewers on TripAdvisor. Sushi was fantastic and the soup was very good. Excellent service too. We went back twice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went here on my last trip to NYC. My group wanted Asian food for the night and wanting to stay away from Times Square I looked up some reviews of other local places. Jing came up and had good reviews so we decided to try it out. I am so happy we did! This place was delicious. The food was so fresh and cooked to perfection. The sushi was good too! I was very impressed with the quality. The service was also awesome. We were greeted immediately and taken to an open table. Though I only had a water to drink they were quick to refill. I highly recommend this place!

The restaurant is small so if you have a large group or show up right before a show you may have a wait. But, if you have the time it is worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Sushi in Hell's Kitchen area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I went to this place for the first time after reviewing various sushi options around the area. I was impressed by their menu, which offered great asian fusion dishes, including Chinese, Thai, Indian, and Japanese. Service was pretty good, and the place looks nicely clean. My friend and I had sushi, which was pretty good. They gave us a mini apetizer and peeled oranges on the house. Overall a great dining experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jing also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Jing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.