We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adrienne's Pizzabar

Adrienne's Pizzabar
54 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004
212.248.3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #476 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Really good pizza here. I was staying at the DoubleTree Financial District and was fortunate enough to find this restaurant close by. Nice, modern style restaurant. I liked Adrienne's so much that I visited twice during the week I was there. They have neapolitan and "nona" (square) pizza. On my first visit, I had a neapolitan margherita pizza and added meatballs. I think they may use a gas fired oven, which would not have been my first choice, but I found the crust to be quite nice and the meatballs were excellent. On my second visit, I shared a pepperoni, sausage, onion and mushroom square pizza with co-workers. Again, both the crust and toppings were excellent. Everyone in my group (both times) really enjoyed their meals.

That said, there are a couple of issues that stop me from giving it five stars. First the beer list is limited and very average. Additionally, the service was a bit grumpy during my second visit. However, neither of these issues would stop me from heartily recommending Adrienne's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    108
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Just "Wow!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great pizza here. I had a simple margherita pizza but it was fantastic. The crust was perfectly done and I could taste the freshness of the ingredients.

FWIW, I stopped here for lunch after coming off of the Staten Island Ferry one Saturday morning and found it surprisingly uncrowded. I'd come back and stand in line to eat here, though. Try it -- you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never dissapoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

never dissapoints , great local establishment . gets crowded early .................................

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterport, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After waiting in line for broadway tix we found Adrienes. Wow, great surprise. Wide variety. We had white pizza with roasted peppers, spinach, and pancetta AND a saussage, sundried tomatoes with marinara sauce. Fantastic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Manhattan and it's not even close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

OK, so what does a Canadian and Indian know about pizza in order to boldly claim Adrienne's as the best in Manhattan? Well, our taste buds don't care where the pizza is served but they, as well as our stomachs, know when they've had it.

Having a great slice of NY pizza was near the top of our foodie list. We checked out Trip Advisor ahead of time and made note of a few of the higher ranked places, and systematically ticked them off as we were sight seeing. At least, that was the plan, but when we came across this place we kept coming back. :)

Our first visit here we had the old fashioned pizza. It comes as a big rectangle, with sauce and cheese as the only topping. It looked a little wet and started to wonder, but after my first bite I was convinced. I am more accustomed to pizza that comes loaded with toppings, so this was my first 'plain' pizza and I've never had anything so bursting with rich flavour!

And the same enthusiasm and joy we experienced with our first slice, was the same with our last. Normally my first slice is the best, then as you get full the last few are more utilitarian and done just to fill you up. But this pizza required it be enjoyed and savoured to the very end. It was seriously delicious.

We had two more pizza's here (separate visits) and tried to sneak in a third but in a 7 day trip we only had so many meals and didn't want to use them all at one place...although we were regretting that decision later.

You must try this place. :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adrienne's Pizzabar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Adrienne's Pizzabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adrienne's Pizzabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.