We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Mario's Brick Oven Pizza

Uncle Mario's Brick Oven Pizza
739 9th Avenue (At W 50th St), New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
212-459-1234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,590 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Small and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food! Some of the best Italian I've had in awhile. Very fresh tasting. The restaurant was small but we didn't feel rushed at all. The service was good. I highly recommend eating here for real New York/Italian food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    44
    15
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, Kentucky
1 review
“Just been ripped off !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Well what an experience ! The waitress aka manager !!! Ripped us off, she was in your face and down right rude we bought 2 large pizzas and then were charged $47 $ 17 for each pizza then each topping. Was $ 3 this was not stated on the menu anywhere we refused to pay the gratuity ! Which was $ 11 dollars which we refused to pay she told us she was only the waitress and she was blatantly full of poop in all my years as a police woman I have never seen such blatant daylight robbery absolute rubbish way to end the holiday would seriously not recommend .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Nice Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great quality food. There are a variety of meals and snacks offered, all very tasty. Definitely a worthwhile Italian restaurant to try out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“With so much competition you'd expect better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We tried this pizza place as we wanted to stay away from the "big names" for a while. I ordered a Hells Kitchen pizza which was quite good but my wife didn't like hers (can't remember what it was). The lady serving didn't seem to have much "finesse" about her you could say, and just yelled across the restaurant to staff and customers alike. She even called out "God Bless America" as she passed a pitcher of Budweiser between my wife and I to the next table.

If you like the food, just get it "to go".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stumbled in to this great clean little Restaurant on 9th. Was standing outside looking at the menu, when the manager/owner stepped out and said "quit standing out here looking..get in here and eat". It only got better from there. Next trip to NYC will be a stop!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Mario's Brick Oven Pizza also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Uncle Mario's Brick Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Mario's Brick Oven Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.