We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Neighborhood Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ze Cafe - CLOSED

Ze Cafe
398 East 52nd Street, New York City, NY
212 758 1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Zé Café is a quaint restaurant located at 398 East 52nd St. far from the distracting hustle and bustle of the busy New York City streets. Our calm and inviting atmosphere is the perfect place for a momentary escape.Our European inspired menu is prepared from scratch in house and made with locally sourced ingredients. Our pastas are handmade and hand cut, our granola is homemade, our salmon is cured in house and much of our produce comes from Zeze's organic upstate farm. Our field-to-fork cuisine truly embodies the modern aesthetic and eco-conscious spirit.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were in the City for 1 night with our daughter and her family and found this restaurant on Yelp. A truly great menu from a small neighborhood gem. Not crowded, even though it was Saturday evening. The menu, service and good were all supreme. Wine list was a bit pricey, but you get used to it in the City.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little pricey but special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's across the street from our apartment so we are in there from time to time. Good three meals a day. Lovely space.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worth a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good food if a bit pricey, but sometimes the waitstaff can have an attitude. Quiet, an chic, if that's important to you,

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A real NYC breakfast experience for the out of town traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We heard about this from a friend and almost didn't find it as the only sign is a dark metal Ze hanging from the brick front. Inside we found a stylish brick room with great decor and comfortable tables. Imaginative incredibly tasty breakfast items consumed by us and nibbled at by young children nearby dining with their parents. I wanted to reach over and clear the table and eat the leftovers after one family left. A furcoated woman at he next table dined alone on her custom omelette. The most expensive breakfast I've ever had (but hey breakfasts are cheap) but one of those experiences that say I'm not in Kansas (or Maine in our case) anymore. Definitely worth the stop on your every few years trip to NYC.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“charm is spelled with a Z?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a smal, very personable, extremely charming cafe. It's small excellent menu, nice (yet efficient) servers, and crisp wine list make it a perfect place for lunch. Go around the corner to ZeZe flower shop after lunch. Take some charm home.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ze Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ze Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.