We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayahuel

Mayahuel
304 E 6th St, New York City, NY 10003-8701 (East Village)
212-253-5888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,095 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: East Village
Oxford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I am not a fan of Mexican food, but the food at Mayahuel made me a believer! If I lived in NYC, I would frequent this establishment often. I loved the intimate atmosphere as well. If you're into tequila, this is the place for you! They have numerous selections as well as specialty drinks. As for me, I stuck with the Rioja red house wine, which was very good. The salsa and chips are to die for and the steak dish is fabulous. You can't go wrong at Mayahuel!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tequila tequila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I love tequilas & mescal, and it was a delight to sit at the bar and be talked through so many varieties - many of which I had not tried. Complemented by tapas style short eats, it's a must try when in NYC.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great tequila bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A small place which might look closed as you walk by, but definately check it out. Tequila drink options are extensive and staff is friendly. Food was good and portions were just right to compliment the tequila. Very cool building and atmosphere as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Drinks, & Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Actually, we were there in Oct. 2010. I took my sister here for a special birthday dinner & drinks while visiting other family in the city. I have delicious memories full of deep rich velvety art waves around us. Very friendly staff. If you're in the neighborhood, definitely check it out. I'll go again next time I get to go play in NYC.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Go for the tequila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place is one of my favorite places in the city... I should have had a frequent visitor badge when I lived in the neighborhood. Its unassuming outsides (it essentially looks like a shack) are in big contrast to the beautiful decor inside. The drinks are amazing - with a huge range of tequila and very thoughtful and delicious cocktails. I have spent many nights here with friends and family visiting. The food is good for a snack (try the popcorn or the chilaquiles), but the tequila is definitely the star of the show.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayahuel also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mayahuel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayahuel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.