We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the insanely rude customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dirty Bird To Go

Dirty Bird To Go
204 W 14th St, Frnt 3, New York City, NY 10011-7221
212-620-4836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,794 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the insanely rude customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food is fine, but not so great as to warrant the shockingly rude service. And I'm sorry, but it's not the best fried chicken ever. Not even the best fired chicken in NYC. Don't believe the hype!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Flippin' the bird”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good chicken! I had the rotisserie chicken with the veggie rice and garlic kale. The garlic kale is delish. The corn bread was good...not the best I've ever had, but decent. My girlfriend had the chicken fingers (which were good), and the mac & cheese (which was also good), but the homemade honey dijon sauce is awesome. I'll be going back for more. Pretty cool atmosphere as well. Can't wait to try the fried chicken.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Fried chicken at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have eaten at their 14th Street location about three times. The best fried chicken made with excellent and organic ingredients. The meat is tender and juicy and the outside perfectly crusty and tasty. Has to be one of our favourites anywhere in the world. You can eat at their small place on 14th Street so the chicken doesn't cool off. The side dishes are good as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You gotta do the Bird”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

If you like chicken this is the place for you. Very nice staff, too. The younger folks had the tenders. One (a "connoisseur" of such) stated that they were the best they'd ever eaten. Another in our party had fried chicken and I sampled the roast chicken. Both extremely tasty. Their house made honey-mustard-so good. The mac and cheese was very good also. Great small place to eat in NYC and not break the bank.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“My favorite fried chicken in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

They never disappoint me. Crusty on the outside, hot & juicy on the inside. They have some seats there, but it's really a takeout place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Bird To Go also viewed

 

Been to Dirty Bird To Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirty Bird To Go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.