We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Asian food anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Kitchen

Hot Kitchen
104 2nd Avenue, New York City, NY 10003-8314
212-228-3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,097 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Vegetarian, Noodle
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Asian food anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was terrific, spicy and delicious. Absolutely one of the best meals I've ever had. The fried little buns were terrific with a sweet sauce. Had szechuan steamed buns and pork dumplings that were awesome and the double cooked pork was the best!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This restaurant was a real find on a recent trip to NYC. We ate a range of dishes, from cold cucumber, to hot beans, spicy pumpkin and bean curd. It was all great. My companion was so impressed he went back with others to try it again another day and it was just as good. Top notch food. Great price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hot Pot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Came here for hot pot with some friends. As with most places, you can choose to get 2 soup bases (USD16) - ranges from spicy hot to chicken soup. We had the bean noodle, mushrooms, bak choi, fatty beef, fish tofu and a side of fried man tou (with condensed milk). The perfect place for a cold NY day. Reasonable prices. USD90 for 3 people.
Would definitely recommend people to come here for hot pot. It was quiet, clean and comfortable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Spicy Asian Food on Lower East Side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The wine was decent and reasonably priced. The food was very good - but spicy MEANS spicy. I normally take "5 stars" at Asian eateries but this place is diabolically spicy. The dish came with chili and fresh jalapeños throughout. It was good but a big overpowering for me. Not complaining - they warned me - but wow! It was an experience. My wife's dish was less spicy and also very tasty. The service was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Nice Place for couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited in November 2013. My girlfriend absolutely loves it. It's a great place for couple. Food is good and the environment is nice.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Kitchen also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hot Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.