We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New York - Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added W New York - Times Square to your Saves list
W New York - Times Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #241 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Desert, California
1 review
“Anniversary Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just stayed here with my wife for our anniversary. We've stayed at several W properties. There are always differences between them. First time here at this location however and was SUPER impressed with the service...the staff and concierge went above and Beyond the call of duty. Kristen , Sussane, and Leo made our trip SO memorable and enjoyable..
The hotel is in a great location close to everything.

The bar / lounge area inside feels like its missing something tho. But pther than that we loved it!

Bar area was nic

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello Philip! Thank you for your honest and balanced feedback and our team is truly delighted you and your wife had a great visit overall with us - especiall given the special occasion! We are always happy to be a part of special celebrations and we have gladly thanked Leo and Kristin and of course our Concierge team for their great interactions with you. We truly appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us as we are always looking to improve your experience for future and we look forward to welcoming you back and creating many more special memories. Anything you need, do not hesitate to reach out as we are here for you 24/7!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    923
    402
    214
    123
See reviews for
557
989
184
659
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed in many W hotels in major cities and by far this was the worst. We were "upgraded" to a corner room. Exciting since this is NYC Time Square! However our corner view was just below the scaffolding and bright lights from the large electronic billboard. The lights at night lit up the room. The room was dirty and there was no place to sit other than on the bed.
W hotels are generally pretty nice, however this one was not worth the $500+ per night If you do stay - I would avoid room 3812!
The contenintal breakfast of 2 orange juices, 3 pastries and a pot of hot water for tea was $79.

Totally disappointing for an anniversary get away!

Room Tip: Stay away from 3812 less you want to hear giant billboards rattle in the wind and blind you with meg...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not sure they have any. You could say the cut back on light since there is not too much in the room. The bathroom had better lighting then in the sleeping area
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello and thank you for your honest and balanced feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your candor as we are always looking to improve your experience for future and we have since gladly followed up on your comments with our team to ensure your points are immediately addressed. We have also since gladly reached out to you in order to personally touch base as your comfort is of course our number one priority. Thank you once again for taking the time to reach out to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future for a true W Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

W is located right in Times Square. It is clean and in a great location. The rooms were a tad on the small side and there was not a lot of drawer/closet space, so if you stay here, pack light. The bed was comfortable. Bathroom very modern, however, there is no separate toilet area away from the sink and faucet like at other hotels I've stayed in.

The hotel had a dark feel to it, and when you arrive upstairs at the reception area via elevator the lobby has a night club atmosphere. There is a DJ playing music at happy hour. There are couches, a bar and it is a very live crowd in the evenings on weekends. Kinda cool.

My experience with the front desk was that everyone was helpful and friendly, and I did not have any problem with the hotel staff or my bill. This is my second stay at the hotel.

I like staying here because I can step right outside and I'm in Times Square. You can walk easily to just about anywhere you want to go and there are Broadway shows playing on the same street as the hotel.

There is a small restaurant and bar downstairs, however, not a lot of space, and there are so many options to walk to or Uber you don't have to be limited to the hotel.

W Times Square is a great option if you want a clean, affordable stay right in Times Square and the boutique feel to the place is kinda cool. I recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello Roland! Thank you for your wonderful review and it was our pleasure to welcome you back with us to the heart of Times Square! We are delighted you had a great stay overall and our team is always here to assist with anything you may need. Our concierge team located on the 7th floor will gladly assist with any reservations and specialty requests as we are always here for you for whatever you need, whenever you need it. Thank you once againd and our team looks forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home in the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed in W time square so many times, each time has its great memories.
It is more than a home for me.
I would never stay in any hotel while I'm visiting NYC.
I would like to thank all the staff, specially Mr. LEO ROSSINI.
He made my stay unforgettable and unique.
W hotels are so lucky to have one like Leo working with them.

Thank you every one.
Thanks Leo.
Hatim Mahdli

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello Hatim! Our entire team thanks you for your inspiring words and we all truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to have you with us at your home-away-from-home in the Big Apple and we all look forward to seeing you back with us soon! Anything you need, do not hesitate to ask and we will do Whatever Whenever to ensure you have a special memorable stay each and every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here during a work trip and have to say it is not an establishment I would pay to stay in myself as I prefer smaller, boutique-like hotels but it is generally a 'good' hotel. However I do not think it is particularly good value for money as I've stayed in superior hotels for at least half the price.

When I arrived at the reception I felt as if I was entering a nightclub: the darkness shrouding the desk, staff who looked/behaved as if they were out of work actors or models and spoke in a very fast, low voice (maybe a New York thing?!) and the busy, noisy bar a few feet away. My room was ok albeit a bit on the small side and the bed was very comfortable indeed. One major disappointment was the hotel restaurant which had a very limited menu and served average food. Granted the hotel is in a very central location so you can obviously eat outside but my colleague and I arrived late in the evening after a long plane journey and are not familiar with NY so we were hoping for a decent meal onsite - it wasn't too be.

I'd recommend this hotel if you like a buzzy vibe and the bar is a nice place to meet up with friends etc. However as stated before it is not somewhere i would personally stay through choice and I also hate Times Square so that did not help! A final note: When I checked out I asked for a copy of my bill as the hotel had automatically billed my card. The receptionist rudely said "No , it's already been e-mailed to you" I queried this because as far as I could remember I had not given my e-mail address to the hotel (the booking was made via my company's in-house travel dept) but the receptionist refused point blank to give me a copy of the bill. I subsequently discovered the hotel overcharged me massively by claiming my company's travel department booked a more expensive room which included breakfast for 2 people each day. This was completely false and it took days of back and forth before the reservations team at the W admitted there had been an error. Even after this they only refunded the cost of the 2 x breakfasts but still charged for the room which was not actually booked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your honest and balanced feedback and we truly appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us. Being the W brand, we do indeed embody the fun and flirty vibe – this being said, we of course gladly reviewed your feedback as we appreciate your candor and are always looking to improve your experience for future. In addition, we have since immediately addressed your comments with our entire team to ensure your points are reviewed being your comfort is our number one priority. We thank you once again for taking the time to reach out to us and please do not hesitate to advise our team of anything you may need as we are always happy to assist. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in future for a true W Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Arrived 3PM on Easter Sunday. Had to wait 2 hours for our room (along with a number of others we met in the lobby). Understandably there could be a wait on a Sunday PLUS it being Easter Sunday, but it was a bit too long. Desk staff (Briana) made it better though with comp WiFi for our stay and drinks at the lobby bar.

The hotel itself is all "W". Cool, dark, lots of little personal attentions, and Whatever/whenever service (which is ALWAYS up to it's name). Our only real disappointment was the overall "fatigue" of the suite. The "peaceful chair" was tattered, to say the least. The bathroom fixtures were all loose and wobbly and the area around the sinks and all the storage drawers were sagging and out of alignment. The carpet and couches should really be replaced as they've seen better days and...NEVER lift the mattress cover. The sight underneath was a horror show. (but I wouldn't think this is any different from any other T.S. hotel).

Impeccable service as with all W hotels, but this one needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a recently renovated suite if available?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for your honest and balanced feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your candor as we are always looking to improve your experience for future and we have since gladly followed up on your comments with our team to ensure your points are immediately addressed. We have also since gladly reached out to you in order to personally touch base as your comfort is of course our number one priority. Thank you once again for taking the time to reach out to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future for a true W Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great location in broadway and times square. Hotel is really nice, modern.
Asked for a upgrade to get a higher floor, it was great and heard no noise at night. The bar at the hotel is fantastic.
Beds are super comfy.
One day we arrived at 11pm and room was not clean, talked to the manager and inmediately sent someone. We had a free breakfast for this mistake, manager Jorge Tito made our stay incredible.
The next day we received a complimentary wine bottle and a personal message from the manager. I know that mistakes can happen, what I expect is that they are taken care of, which was made by Jorge.
They always make you feel special, employees are really helpful.
The only thing I didnt like is that when we got there in our taxi the doorman didnt even try to help us with our luggage, but everything else was amazing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at a higher floor to avoid the noisy times square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for your honest and balanced feedback. We are truly glad we were able to ensure you had an enjoyable visit overall and that our team was able to immediately address your concerns and personally follow up to ensure you were taken care of. Your comfort is of course our number one priority and we truly look forward to welcoming you back with us in future. Anything you need, our team is here 24/7 - just ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#165 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,045 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#330 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,134 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#185 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times...
#110 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#123 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#151 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.