We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Times Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New York - Times Square

Save Saved
You added W New York - Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #165 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Heart of Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at the W for a few days with my family over Christmas. I booked through platinum american express and found the value amazing with the amenities I received with my reservation. The hotel is literally in the middle of Times Square, so when you exit the building, you are amongst the craziness! If you like the location, this is the hotel to choose. The decor is modern and chic. The rooms are small, but adequate. The location lends itself to more noise than somewhere else in midtown, but again, if you love Times Square, this is a great choice. We had an unbelievable view from the 50th floor of the Hudson River. The lights from Times Square were not really an issue as we had black out shades.....they didn't completely cover the window, but it was good enough. Loved being close to Broadway, but get ready for crowds and craziness at this location. Love the W and would go back.

Room Tip: Love the "fabulous rooms" which look out at the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback we are thrilled that you enjoyed your previous experience with us. We hope to see you again soon so that we can help make another memorable experience for you.

All the best

Peter Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,168
    733
    298
    176
    88
See reviews for
415
767
150
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Tragically, I am 61, but claim to be cool. We got a room for two nights over Christmas (full disclosure a family member works in the Starwood system but NOT for W and the rate was insanely low; my review is unbiased). Who is the W for: those who are actually really, really hip; those who pretend and/or are actually wish to be very hip; Euros and Asian upscale visitors; people with 0% body fat. (Feel free to speculate where [and if ] I fit into this matrix.) Having said all that: the bottom line is that this is an exceptional place to stay in Manhattan, subject to the caveats below. First off, the entry is amazing, what can only be described as a waterfall over your head; beautiful. I've seen some negative Trip Advisors reviews. Here is the issue. Did they go overboard in being ultra-mod? Here's how the owners describe the place: "Design guru Yabu Pushelberg has seemlessly paired techno glam elements with W's sleek design aesthetic to re-imagine this luxurious oasis." (this from the in-room magazine and really sums it up.) Yes: the bathroom is behind a semi-see-through wall. If this is a problem this is not your hotel of choice. Ultra-hip bar on 7. Bartender Lauren looks like she was designed to fit the image (who did her hair?) and James at (Blue Fin ~ see separate review) was awesome Bottom line: if you want to be (or are) cutting edge hip [like me] stay here, if not, there are plenty of equal price point places with a more traditional ambience.

Room Tip: Higher the better, view-wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope that you return to our property again soon and have more memorable experiences with us.

All the best

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was impressed by the location of this hotel - 47th avenue. Once you exit the hotel, you are right in the heart of Times Square. Check-in was quick and the host was very friendly. The lobby is on the 7th floor ... probably this way to avoid the tourists who are not staying in the hotel. To get to your hotel room, you will need your keycard and a different set of elevators. We stayed on the 40th floor and it was quiet. Each day the hotel provided a bottled water labelled free and clear. That's a treat already. The room in my opinion was a good size. There is a starbucks directly across from the hotel and a McDonalds one block down. Subway access is convenient. Service was excellent, living up to the standard of the W chain. The W Times Square made my Christmas vacation memorable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking time and providing us positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our property and its location. We're also glad we were able to provide you an excellent service during your stay and made your Christmas memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back and as always, do not hesitate to reach out to us prior to your arrival for any future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Came with my two teenage daughters for Xmas. Wanted to be in the heart of the city and to feel safe sight seeing during the day and at night. Absolutely brilliant location. Right in the middle of time square. The concierges were amazingly knowledgeable. They were able to recommend places for us to go and eat every night. They also booked them for us too. They could direct you to anything and help with itineraries. The atmosphere in the bar was lively and good. Room was quite small but really cosy and perfectly adequate. I would definitely stay here if I came again. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the bar area as it could potentially get quite rowdy late at night. I think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for providing us positive feedback. We're glad you had a great W holiday experience with us. Happy holidays and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you are looking for a Times Square hotel, this one is a great base. It is close to almost everything, theaters, shopping, food, etc. I love staying here and have been doing so for years when my trips are for theater or shopping. I have never had a problem with staff here and they are always professional. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable. You cant go wrong at this W!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hello Debbie!

Thank you for your wonderful review and we do so enjoy all our guest comments and have gladly shared yours with our team. It was truly our pleasure to have you with us and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the heart of Times Square! We look forward to welcoming you back in future and anything you need, our team is always here to assist in ensuring you have a great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deventer, netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very central location. The lobby is at the 7th floor, where is is often a little crowded and noisy because of the presence of the bar at the same place. The hotel rooms are located above the 7th floor which can be reached by a second elevator. Elevators a quick. The rooms are nice, mine had a wonderful view at Times Square. The window can be blinded for the incoming light, so nice view, but als dark if you wish. No noise from the street was heard. The room is not luxurious but all you need is present. It has a modern outfit. Airco was comfortable. Conclusion: a nice hotel, value for money!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hello and thank you for your valued feedback in regards to your recent experience with us. We truly appreciate your comments and have gladly shared them with our team and we also look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home in the Big Apple! Anything you need, do not hesitate to reach out as we are here for you 24/7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My Wife and I opted for a pre Christmas weekend in Manhattan. We chose the W as we had expected the "Typical" W experience; Great Service, Incredibly Clean, and Modern / Chic property while still being cozy.

This W pretty much failed at all of them. It's a good thing the common areas are relatively well unlit, as they are showing there age if you really look at them closely (I.e. behind the check in desk, etc.). The room furnishings are definitely showing their age - the leather chaise lounge in the room was so cracked and used it was not useable, but worked well as a suitcase stand. The accent pillow and blanket in the room were stained and looked very well abused - I've had better furnishings and cleaner items like that in much lower end hotels.

The bathroom had dirt on the ceiling, and was also much more worn than expected. The stainless steel vanity didn't look like it had been properly cleaned in a while, and underneath of it was certainly in need of a good cleaning as opposed to the basic wipe that they likely get on a regular basis.

We had some issues with the air conditioning, which were resolved after 3 calls to the front desk in two days....

The service was average and in now way "wowed" me.

Location is no doubt great, but there are a massive number of hotels within the same area that I have had better experiences at previously. Overall I was pretty disappointed as this stay did not at all live up to my expectations and definitely not worth the amount of points in cost me to stay there for the 3 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, General Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your honest and balanced feedback and we truly appreciate your review. Rest assured your comments have since been reviewed and immediately addressed as we are always looking to improve our guest experience. I have also since personally reached out to you in order to follow up and I look forward to personally addressing your feedback. Thank you once again for your candor and we look forward to welcoming you back in future and ensuring you have a wonderful W Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in New York City
#79 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.