We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too much design” 2 of 5 stars
Review of W New York - Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W New York - Times Square to your Saves list
W New York - Times Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #174 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“too much design”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

so much energy is put in the design of....well, pretty much everything. But it doesn't attrack or excite or anything. With the noisy music that follows you everywhere it's almost as if W wants to drive you out of the hotel. The beds were okay though and so is the location. Certainly not worth the 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your candor in regards to your recent stay with us. Rest assured we value all guest feedback and will certainly review your points with the team in order to ensure all of our guests have the best experience possible. We thank you for your visit and please do not hesitate to reach out to our team in future should you wish to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    792
    335
    188
    97
See reviews for
474
871
164
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed at the W TSQ in the past and was satisfied, nothing really stood out. I just stayed there and it seems the hotel has transformed itself to a 5 star rating!! The employees seem to be much more helpful and sincere. The rooms are a great size and clean, and the location cannot be beat. There seems to be a new feeling in this hotel from the past, not sure what has happened here but keep it up! I will be back this summer and already have booked my room here. You will not be disappointed at this W.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your wonderful feedback in regards to our recent Spring refresh! In with the new, out with the old as they say! We will certainly share your comments with our team in order to keep driving our Talent to create the best possible experience for you - our guests. We thank you for the visit and looking forward to many more in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel! Can't beat the location and the view of times square is awesome! It is literally right in the middle of Times Square, which for anyone visiting NYC is the perfect location. Everything from the theaters, to great restaurants and shopping is all right outside the front door. Also, first class service from the entire staff, all are incredibly nice and attentive. The modern and trendy style of the rooms is something that personally I also loved. All in all, a great experience, will be returning as soon as I can!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for sharing your W experience with us. We’re glad our staff took care of you during your stay. That’s definitely the standard that we strive for. Hopefully we’ll see again sometime soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have stayed at several W hotels world wide. This is a nice hotel, but the ambiance of the bar is not so good, actually feels a bit cheesy. It is made up primarily of tourist and not the same vibe as the W bars in London, or Barcelona, Hong Kong or Austin, TX. The rooms are not very big. I was upgraded to a suite and the suite was nice, but most other W hotels have much better suites. The staff is professional but does not smile much and I had a few incidents were I was given attitude for asking a few simple questions. The location is very good, and it is a well known hotel world wide. I liked the rooms inside, great decor and room service was fast and accurate. I stayed at a few other hotels in NYC, and I say this is one of the better hotels in NYC. I am a SPG Platinum member and I truly appreciate that I was upgrade to a suite on the 55th floor.

All in all I would recommend this hotel, but the W hotels in other cities, such as London and Austin and Barcelona, are much better managed than this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your honest and balanced feedback in regards to our property! We truly value your candor and will certainly take into account all points referenced in regards to our Living Room space as we look forward to refreshing the area in the coming months. We thank you for your wonderful praise of our In Room Dining Talent and rest assured all comments will be shared with our team. Thank you for visiting and we would love to have you back with us - until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Of course being in Times Square is great especially when your trip is 'theatre' based but for $500 for a simple room don't expect many bells and whistles. Clean, friendly but a little ragged around the edges. still the 'hipness' you expect from a 'W' and the bar is busy and testosterone-filled but truly it is the location that is it's best feature.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your honest feedback and we are happy to inform you we are currently in the process of refurbishing our rooms and by the end of May we will have new desk chairs and new sparkling white duvets in all rooms in addition to our on-going project of replacing all lounge chairs in the rooms. We truly appreciate your candor and look forward to welcoming you back to Times Square!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel for our "home base" during a shopping trip to NYC. The room was very cool, the bed was so comfortable!! Everyone was super nice. The bar was certainly hopping on the weekend, and had a delicious breakfast at the Blue Fin before checking out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel while shopping in NYC. Our hotel is centrally located to anywhere in Manhattan and we are just a few steps from the subway. The rooms here at the hotel are spacious and the beds are definitely comfortable. One of the best parts of any W Hotel is the vibe in the Living Room. It creates a place that is special for any time of the day. Blue Fin food doesn't disappoint and I am glad that you enjoyed it there too! I hope that you travels bring you back to NYC and to the W Times Square. Please make sure to reach out when you are headed back so that we can welcome you back in style.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Fantastic location to experience the buzz of New York from the perch of your room as it sits on Broadway and Times Square. Rooms are spacious ( especially by New York standards) I had a corner room with uptown views. Only challenge can be the bright lights outside which never stop and even the black out shades cannot completely eliminate the glare.
Check in was super fast and the door men keep an eye out to assist hotel guests battling their way through the street crowds towards the hotel. The gentlemen on departure was particularly helpful getting me a ride to Newark on a Friday evening when the New York taxi drivers were at their recalcitrant best.
Great location, great buzz, my third or fourth stay definitely going back

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better, to avoid the glare from Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi There! Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate the time you took to tell everyone how much you have enjoyed your experiences at the W Times Square. I am very happy to hear that you have found our service delighful when it comes to our ambassadors at the entrance. Sometimes it can be a bit hectic trying to find a cab anywhere in NYC, but they always work their magic! I am also very happy to see that you enjoy our rooms. Our designers did an excellent job maximizing the space! I hope that your travels bring you back to the W Times Square soon; when they do, please reach out so that we can personally welcome you back. Thank you again!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Business Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.