We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New York - Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added W New York - Times Square to your Saves list
W New York - Times Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #188 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel right in Times Square. Rooms are a good size, security is great, the doormen are great, easy to get a cab, etc. The only criticism I have is that the rooms need lamps on nightstands. I know the hotel is trying to be chic but the lights they have next to the beds are insufficient. Otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Experience_Dir, Director of Guest Experience at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi there Stephheel,

Thank you for your feedback! I'm very pleased you had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future- when returning, be sure to drop me a line at patrick.armano@whotels.com for a heightened experience. Though the W does have a particular style, I can certainly appreciate that it may not cater to every taste, and we can always arrange for additional lighting or anything else you may need to help make you feel at home.

Anything you need, just ask.

All the best,

Patrick Armano
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    870
    364
    201
    104
See reviews for
524
937
174
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at the W for my bachelorette party. Hotel was perfectly placed, quiet, super clean and had an adorable boutique on lobby floor for a girl who forgot a key piece of her evening wardrobe... Loved everything about this W (and so did my company). Oh and I can't forget to mention a key piece of why this hotel really stood out to me...staff couldnt be more pleasant and that is worth a whole lot of mentioning, especially when a lot of my customer service encounters in the city werent as nice!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Experience_Dir, Director of Guest Experience at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi there Angie B,

It was an honor having you ladies celebrate with us! Congrats on your nuptials :-) Please keep in touch at patrick.armano@whotels.com whenever you want to step into the spotlight again...

Anything you need, we're here for you.

All the best,

Patrick Armano
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everything was flawless. If you have been finding it very difficult to make a decision and commit to a hotel in NYC, just choose this one. You can't go wrong--the service was personalized, people remembered my name, the amenities/soft goods/case goods were in great condition, and the location is outstanding. I will for sure be staying at this property whenever I visit the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had a chance to visit New York recently and stayed at the W Times Square. There is an electric feeling being in Times Square, any time of year, but it's important to be able to remove yourself from the hysteria when on vacation. If you are looking for a hotel in Times Square I highly recommend the W - TImes Square. The hotel is unique as it is located in the middle of Times Square but allows you to relax and "get away" from all the action if necessary. The workout facility/spa & bar/night are great and the staff is extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The excellent experience starts at the street level front door being greeted by friendly and helpful staff and the check in desk staff who treat returning customers like family. The staff at this hotel goes out of their way to be friendly but yet very professional. If you need assistance they are also their for you but if you want to just be left alone they know how to make that happen. The facility is spotless and the rooms are excellent and common areas are well maintained and user friendly. I have been coming back to this hotel for years and would never stay at another hotel in New York City. Prior to arriving you will receive e mails welcoming you and asking if you have any special requests. I always look forward to returning. Gary

Room Tip: higher floors have excellent views and corner rooms are large and have great light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I would like to express our sincere thanks to W Times Square New York City team supporting our 30th wedding anniversary celebration that was truly amazing and we appreciate all the special touches they planned for us that words cannot describe how happy and special you made us feel.

A special Note of thanks goes out to the Talent team of Francis and Patrick that made our special celebration so memorable with there kindness, thoughtfulness and professionalism going above and beyond for us and will never be forgotten as we both are looking forward to our next W Times Square visit,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Seriously Times Square is a place you walk through once, not live in. This is a cool hotel with great service but I would prefer to stay in Chelsea, the village or midtown East to experience new york.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Amex and Hotels.com so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.