We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas in nyc” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   522 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #339 of 449 hotels in New York City
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“christmas in nyc”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here for 5 day,a little fare to walk each day to Times Sq. about 20min. For seniors not too bad except when it rains for 2 of those days. It was winter so hotel windows etc. were always closed and we didn't hear too much noise at all. wonderful breakfast selections, always well cared for as was our room.The price was right for Christmas time but I would stay closer to TimeSq. any other time. Cabs are always around and our shuttle to take back to JFK was on time. Yes rooms are small but comfortable and a good bed helps.Always felt safe in NYC and we walked everywhere.

Room Tip: Choose are room as high as you can, better view. Less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
allab0utme,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our rooms are modest and cozy, but are impeccably cleaned and our top of the line tempurpedic beds offer incredible comfort. The complimentary American breakfast buffet offers a great assortment of items from homemade scrambled eggs to Belgian Waffles, NY Bagels, and fresh fruits.

Our proximity to Time Square is a short 15 minute walk, but I do understand the strain that would be on seniors during poor weather. On your next stay, please allow us to call a cab for you to make the trip a little more convenient for you and your guest.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    248
    158
    62
    39
See reviews for
83
118
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ponce, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The quality was excellent the the front desk help you much for visiting the tourist site have good presentation in all it was very good overall very good service,my family am very happy and say they will return

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Jose V.,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at the Best Western Convention Center and our staff. We take great pride in making sure our guest have the best experience possible at our hotel. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Robert B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is too expensive for the services provided and its localisation. it is about 20 minutes walk from Times Square and there are no metro nearby. In addition, it is very noisy, there are train tracks all around the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Zaithefirst,

Thank you for posting a comment regarding your experience at the Best Western Convention Center. I'm disappointed to hear that you felt our room rate was too expensive during your stay. Our rates are competitive compared to other hotels in the Time Square area and for the most part far below the average considering our close proximity to the heart of NYC and the theater district. Regarding your comment about noise, please keep in mind that this is NYC and that railroad, subway, traffic, and pedestrian commotion is part of the experience and charm of our great city.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We truly value what our guest have to say about their stay and experience at the Best Western Convention Center.

Warm Regards,

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel should not carry the BW name. It is not customer friendly, extra deposit ($100.00) over and above the cost of the hotel room, breakfast not until 7 am in the morning. the hotel is not quiet and loud from street noises, the room are very small.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
ogroup,

I'm saddened to hear you were not satisfied with your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. The $100 your card was authorized for during your stay was strictly for incidentals. It is standard amongst all hotels at check-in, and should have been explain to you with better clarity. If you contact your credit card company, they will explain to you that the authorized deposit was placed back into your account shortly after check-out.

Regarding your disappointment with the time our breakfast services commence. I will look into possibly starting it a little earlier, so that your next stay is as pleasant as possible.

I do however hope you understand that the sounds of New York City is out of our control. Next time you come in please make us aware of any street noise issues and we will gladly move you to a quieter area in the hotel.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Room was fine and so was the breakfast, however, their practice is to take a copy of your driver's license and your credit card but then they can't tell you where they store it and you get different answers as to for how long and whether it is kept in a secure location. Totally unacceptable in this day and age when identity theft is at an all time high!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Cynthia K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. We truly value all guest comments and opinions. I assure you that all personal and financial information of all our valued guest is treated with the utmost confidentiality and security. The identification information you are referring to, is automatically wiped from our database 120 days after check-out. I truly regret any inconvenience this may have caused and appreciate you taking the time to voice your concerns to us.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

4 blocks from PAT Terminal you'll find an unspectacular hotel with a very friendly staff. Rooms are clean, functionally furnished. The breakfast buffet every day from 7/10 sometimes not easy to find a place as there are so many options of what to get that people tend to stay long. Free newspaper from Mon to Fri in the lobby. Nights are quiet, no street noise as you'll experience round Times Square. So you should really try it as within 5 minutes you have all major subways to reach any place you want

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Heide J,

Thank you, for taking a few minutes of your time to let us know about your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. Our goal is to make sure our guest have a comfortable and pleasurable experience while under our care. Our complimentary hot American breakfast buffet is quite delicious and our top of the line Tempur-pedic mattresses in every room offer incredible comfort.

Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Best Western Convention Center Hotel and found that the Staff went out of their way to be helpful and accomodating. The room (although small) was spotlessly clean and was more than adequate for the two of us. Our first stay was only for two days then we came back a fortnight later and stayed a further week. The rates are quite reasonable for New York and we would gladly return there if we again holiday in New York.

John and Pam Walton

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Wackywalton,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service and affordable room rates. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Address: 522 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently undergoing lobby renovations. Please excuse our appearance as we go through this very exciting phase. (April-June '14) Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center. Short walking distance to Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. We provide our guests with a Complementary American Style Breakfast Buffet, as well as top of the line Tempurpedic Beds in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.