We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   522 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #360 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is too expensive for the services provided and its localisation. it is about 20 minutes walk from Times Square and there are no metro nearby. In addition, it is very noisy, there are train tracks all around the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Zaithefirst,

Thank you for posting a comment regarding your experience at the Best Western Convention Center. I'm disappointed to hear that you felt our room rate was too expensive during your stay. Our rates are competitive compared to other hotels in the Time Square area and for the most part far below the average considering our close proximity to the heart of NYC and the theater district. Regarding your comment about noise, please keep in mind that this is NYC and that railroad, subway, traffic, and pedestrian commotion is part of the experience and charm of our great city.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We truly value what our guest have to say about their stay and experience at the Best Western Convention Center.

Warm Regards,

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    199
    143
    57
    46
See reviews for
111
133
46
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek AZ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel should not carry the BW name. It is not customer friendly, extra deposit ($100.00) over and above the cost of the hotel room, breakfast not until 7 am in the morning. the hotel is not quiet and loud from street noises, the room are very small.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
ogroup,

I'm saddened to hear you were not satisfied with your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. The $100 your card was authorized for during your stay was strictly for incidentals. It is standard amongst all hotels at check-in, and should have been explain to you with better clarity. If you contact your credit card company, they will explain to you that the authorized deposit was placed back into your account shortly after check-out.

Regarding your disappointment with the time our breakfast services commence. I will look into possibly starting it a little earlier, so that your next stay is as pleasant as possible.

I do however hope you understand that the sounds of New York City is out of our control. Next time you come in please make us aware of any street noise issues and we will gladly move you to a quieter area in the hotel.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Room was fine and so was the breakfast, however, their practice is to take a copy of your driver's license and your credit card but then they can't tell you where they store it and you get different answers as to for how long and whether it is kept in a secure location. Totally unacceptable in this day and age when identity theft is at an all time high!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Cynthia K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. We truly value all guest comments and opinions. I assure you that all personal and financial information of all our valued guest is treated with the utmost confidentiality and security. The identification information you are referring to, is automatically wiped from our database 120 days after check-out. I truly regret any inconvenience this may have caused and appreciate you taking the time to voice your concerns to us.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

4 blocks from PAT Terminal you'll find an unspectacular hotel with a very friendly staff. Rooms are clean, functionally furnished. The breakfast buffet every day from 7/10 sometimes not easy to find a place as there are so many options of what to get that people tend to stay long. Free newspaper from Mon to Fri in the lobby. Nights are quiet, no street noise as you'll experience round Times Square. So you should really try it as within 5 minutes you have all major subways to reach any place you want

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Heide J,

Thank you, for taking a few minutes of your time to let us know about your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. Our goal is to make sure our guest have a comfortable and pleasurable experience while under our care. Our complimentary hot American breakfast buffet is quite delicious and our top of the line Tempur-pedic mattresses in every room offer incredible comfort.

Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Best Western Convention Center Hotel and found that the Staff went out of their way to be helpful and accomodating. The room (although small) was spotlessly clean and was more than adequate for the two of us. Our first stay was only for two days then we came back a fortnight later and stayed a further week. The rates are quite reasonable for New York and we would gladly return there if we again holiday in New York.

John and Pam Walton

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Wackywalton,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service and affordable room rates. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Overall I was very happy with my stay here. Price is reasonable by Manhattan standards. The rooms are small (again, to be expected in Manhattan), but they are spotless and they do the best they can to make it comfortable. The bed was probably the most comfortable I've experienced in a hotel, no exaggeration. Another great feature of this hotel is that the windows actually open. Nice, helpful people at the front desk. This is the closest hotel to the Javits Center...not the most exciting neighborhood, but great choice if you have business there, and really not too long of a walk to the heart of Midtown.

Only downsides were noise (if you forget to set your alarm, don't worry because the train will wake you up), and the "clean remote" for the TVs don't work right (not just me, other people were complaining about it as well). Apparently using these remotes is a directive from BW corporate and should not be held against the property. This hotel is a very good value for NYC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Joshua M,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, the Best Western Convention Center and thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and our staff. Our rooms are modest, but offer a great deal of comfort and warmth. Each room offers top of the line Tempur-pedic beds, which as you have experienced, provide a blissful sleeping experience. Our proximity to the Javit Center is ideal for guest that have business at the Convention Center or merely plan on attending one of their many great shows.

Unfortunately, the sounds of New York City is something we have no control over. On your next visit, kindly ask our customer service staff to place you in a room on a higher floor to eliminate any noise issues. If we have available occupancies, we will gladly accommodate you.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Staff, cleanliness of the room, breakfast, all great value. Rooms are small but clean. Breakfast was excellent each morning. Ideal if you only need a place to sleep and enjoy the sights of NY. A few blocks from the subway and always a cab nearby if needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Ron F.,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel and the great amenities we offer. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms, our substantial American breakfast buffet, and affordable room rates. Our proximity to the Javit Center, Times Square, and the theater district, makes us an ideal destination for business travelers and families looking for the best rates in New York City. We look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Thank You,

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Address: 522 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Best Western Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.