We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the "Best" Western” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   522 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #360 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Troy, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the "Best" Western”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

If you want a place to stay in mid town this is one of the better Best Westerns around. I am a Best Western Diamond Club member and highly rate this hotel. The rooms are impeccably clean and the service from check in to check out was great. For business or pleasure this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    199
    143
    57
    46
See reviews for
111
133
46
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I'm surprised this hotel doesn't have tons of positive reviews! Last year I stayed at 'The New Yorker' hotel, and had a horrendous experience (a poor review has been left for them). So this year I decided to try this Best Western after a recommendation from a friend. This hotel is small and narrow (just look at the picture). It has a small breakfast area and one elevator. The building is so small that there are only 2-3 rooms per floor! The rooms are also very small, we could comfortably put 3 people in our room, but any more people and luggage and it would be impossible to move around.

HOWEVER! This place is close to the subway and the Javits, and the staff is AWESOME. By the end of our stay we knew the front desk staff by name (and they knew ours) and they ALWAYS said hello to us when we came and went. Free breakfast every morning, and it's a very generous buffet. Make your own belgium waffle station, yogurt, bagels, eggs....it's a delicious selection. The eating area is small, but the staff had no issue with us taking the food up to our rooms to eat.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. The location is awesome, the staff is genuine and kind, the free breakfast is generous (and appreciated in a very expensive city!). And the room rates were fair. Just know that this place isn't huge, and it's no Waldorf. But it does have a lot of character and heart. I'm looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Overall Experience:

Good!

This hotel is suitable for anyone who wanted to be out at all times and come to the hotel for sleep/breakfast - just like B&B hotel (Bed & Breakfast).

I would state this hotel as 3 star hotel as they clean your bedroom everyday with fresh towels.
The room is less spacious however can fit your items around. The bed is comfortable to sleep on however during the night time, you will have perhaps 1 or 2 roaring trains coming past which woke me up but I've managed to gone back to sleep (which is fine!).

The breakfast was nice especially waffles- my mom & I loved it! The atmosphere is nice but the security guard was very helpful and friendly especially giving my family advices about attractions & etc. The reception were very helpful too as telling me what time is the best to go different places.

This hotel is tiny tower compared to others but the area is O.K. as you have 24 hrs garage opposite you and by the corner of 8th Ave - you have 24/7 shop with all the items you will need to require (personal essentials and food/drinks).

Basically I would come back here again however this is not a luxury hotel - it is suitable for budget or backpackers who wanted to sleep/eat then go out all day around New York skyline/attractions.

The only downside about this hotel is -emailing to the hotel. It was awful. The conversation was not O.K. as I used my simple English to the receptionist to ask about pre-authorisation charge for the hotel. Their standard of conversation and professionalism in emails- were poor - a huge difference compare to my job where-areas I have used the sensible respectful attitude and with a nice paragraph to explain about my situation. I was quite frustrated when they only cared about the money, not customer care! Anyway it was lucky that it turned out fine when we all arrived the hotel.

I wouldn't come back to hotel - I would look for more luxury and professional hotel.

However this is a good hotel for anyone who's looking for all day outings and only stay there for sleep/breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor got the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When I arrived at the Best Western Convention Centre, I was greeted by a cheerful employee and was made to feel welcome right away. After suffering a 2 hour delay (sitting on a plane for 2 hours before taking off) and arriving in a downpour, this was a nice treat. As I was the only traveller, I was given a very small room (but that made no difference to me as it included everything I needed and was quiet). Breakfast, each morning, was wonderful (despite the fact that the breakfast room was tiny - nonetheless, I simply took my breakfast back to my room on the first floor) and the free Wifi was great (at some points, at others it would disconnect randomly... hope they look at their wifi connection, it could use a bit of work). Other than that, I would easily stay at this hotel again. Prompt, courteous service. Walking distance to Times Square and located in a nice quiet area of the city.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. My view on the first floor was limited (i.e. 90% of a brick wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights here & yes the room was small for a family of 4. Strange chair & lamp that were broken & not needed that could have freed up some much needed space. However the room was located at the back of the hotel so quite. Breakfast was busy & always a queue for somewhere to sit, however the food was good. The area never bothered us & felt safe walking home. With only a 10 minute walk or a $10 cab fare to Time Square I think it was good value for money as a base to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The front desk told us ( 9 business people ) that in order to check in, he need to charge each credit card a $10-0 security deposit and also make a scan copy of our drivers license and credit card we were using for the room charge- so that the hotel could "prove that you stayed here, in case you call the credit card company after your stay and dispute the charges. Shows you what type of guests they normally get- obviously not the normal legitimate business traveler. Complete invasion of privacy- its one thing to show your ID upon check in- a completely other thing to scan it and the credit card....Rooms were TINY and overlooked the train tracks. .I will never stay here or at a Best Western again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Really poor hotel, bad welcome by an old BW man who said to move my bike out from the entrance. Really bad breakfast, awfull neighborhood, and unclean bed where it scratches us all night, noisy AC, small room, not good at allfor that all money

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Address: 522 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Best Western Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.