We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   522 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #342 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Maryland Heights, Missouri
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had a great experience staying over there at BW Convention Center Hotel. All the front desk were friendly and professional and was very helpful with all the questions I had.
The room were not spacious but kept very clean and enough for all my needs. The bed was really comfortable there as well.

I would certainly go back there when I have chance visiting New York City in the future.

Room Tip: Maybe higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    173
    123
    45
    38
See reviews for
89
120
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked for a 5 night stay in this hotel during June, and only stayed for the first night - after being attacked by heaps of bed bugs! A lot of them! The staff not very helpful. They did refund our money - so that was a plus. I am surprised that this hotel is allowed to run under the Best Western banner. I understand that they are owner run, but Best Western should keep up it's standards? Hotel is budget, but using N.Y. prices. Front desk dirty. My advise would be to pay a little more and find a hotel closer to Times Square - and very much nicer! A bad experience for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in May in a room with two double beds. Room compact, but clean with wonderfully comfortable beds! Basic amenities, but just fine, if you need accommodation and don't expect any extras. I was surprised that the continental breakfast included hot items including eggs and waffles, so this was an added bonus in addition to the reasonable rate. We had a room that did not face the street, so we did not experience any of the reported noise mentioned in other reviews. I liked the location as it is away from Times Square and near great restaurants on 9 and 10th avenue - the hidden gems outside of the tourist zone. It is a bit of a walk to the main attractions, but quite doable. We also did not consider the location a problem, nor did we feel unsafe. Having stayed in NYC previously in a hotel closer to Times Square, I definitely prefer this area and would return. We found all of the staff friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel as an affordable place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel was ok, nothing wrong, but nothing spectacular. It was a 15-20 min walk to the nearest metro and there happened to be amtrak tracks right under the hotel. It was nice that there was a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Postive:
Fairly close to the city center (38th st), though it's a bit too far west. Cheap for Manhattan. Clean. Had safe. Free wifi

Negative:
VERY Loud. As other pointed, there's a auto repair shop just opposite to it, but what we didn't know is that it's open 24h/day. Be prepared for some heavy noises at 3am, or get some earplugs. Staff was OK, but lacked engagement, or smth. Breakfast was poor, but what would you expect.

Room Tip: NOT inf front of the street, otherwise you won't sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Location rather good although a 10 min walk to underground is needed. Room very clean but small. Air conditioner operated properly. Staff very welcoming. An issue with chirping smoke detector (empty battery) was handled immediately. A good free breakfast. Surrounding area not nice.
Having nothern room orientation we occasionally heard trains horn, especially when the window was open.

Room Tip: With nothern orientation we occasionally heard trains horn, especially when the window was open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We drove in for a 1 night stay and it was very affordable for New York standards and was in a convenient location. Got free breakfast in the morning and rooms were clean. No frills just a nice simple room. Walking distance to Times Square and theater district as well as the subway all are within 3-4 blocks

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Address: 522 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently undergoing lobby renovations. Please excuse our appearance as we go through this very exciting phase. (April-June '14) Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center. Short walking distance to Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. We provide our guests with a Complementary American Style Breakfast Buffet, as well as top of the line Tempurpedic Beds in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.