We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are trying, but…” 3 of 5 stars
Review of the Quin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added the Quin to your Saves list
the Quin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save at least 15%
Ranked #28 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They are trying, but…”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at The Quin for a long weekend and picked it mostly based on its excellent location and decent reviews. Overall we left rather disappointed, although we have been warned by the reviews of some of the deficiencies of the property.

Pros
+Location - very good location on the corner of 57th Street and 6th avenue, close to 3 main underground stations, 2 block from Central Park, lot of restaurants, museum, luxury shopping all there within easy walking distance
+ relatively new - nice, albeit small lobby, modern, but very small rooms
+ steak breakfast - you can have a nice hanger stake with green salad for breakfast which would make my personal trainer very happy

Cons
- small - everything in this hotel is small: the rooms, the bathroom, the gym, the lobby, the bar, etc.
- noisy - windows are not very well noise insulated, you can hear all the street noise throughout the night, even with windows fully shut and the hotel is on a noisy crossing, so be prepared to wake up to sirens and other garbage trucks…
- air-con - extremely noisy and not very effective, couldn't get room temperature below 25C. At low fan is the noise level of a steam engine, at high fan probably a steel making plant… Difficult to sleep with air-con, but need to keep windows shut, so basically you suffocate…
- gym - tiny, no shower, which is really a pity, if you need to check out midday and want to take the shower before you hit the airport or on the way in take a shower before they let you go to your room
- service - room service is horrible. The people on the phone have no idea what is on the menu. You order Norwegian scrambled eggs and you get Mediterranean and when you complain they don't even know that such thing exists. They change it for you in the end, but then forget the toast and when you ask for it, instead of bringing it they call you two times to say that toast is not part of it, whereas it clearly shows on your in-room menu…
- concierge - they call it attaché, but it doesn't really work, no real knowledge of New York, some actually rather arrogant
- lifts - only two lifts for a large hotel, long waiting times at peak times

Overall, we found that most of the service staff on an individual level is trying hard, but somehow the pieces do not want to come together and the whole experience is rather not good. Would I come back here? Probably only if I didn't have any other option in the area.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    162
    55
    19
    10
See reviews for
221
325
37
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was at the Quin Hotel with my family, and it was unique experience. The Hotel interior was simply a masterpiece, service was fantastic and location is prime. However, I would not recommend this hotel for people who is planning to stay in the hotel room for all day. It has a great hotel room (interior was simply awesome) but I feel like its price is more for its location than hotel service and the room. Service was good but it was not the kind of hotel with a lots of things to do. Location is fantastic, I could walk to every luxury clothing stores and department stores near by. If you are shopping lover who is looking for the great location and unique and specially designed room, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I just got home from a five night stay at the Quin and could gush on for pages about my experiences at the hotel - beautiful, stylish, impeccably clean and appointed with the best of everything. The hotel was absolutely lovely and the staff gracious, anticIpating my every need. I would absolutely stay at the Quin again and will recommend it to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Be prepared for construction noise that starts early - right now the jack hammer stage - so even if you are on the opposite end of the hotel, you will hear it. And if you or anyone in your party has a pet allergy, know that they allow pets in ALL rooms. They claim to deep clean after pets - as most hotels do - but we had a bad reaction. Very frustrating especially since we told them about it ahead of time and were assured that the room had been well cleaned. I would agree with other reviewers that this was not a typical 5 star experience - nice enough and new - but not 5 star service or amenities. No evening turndown. The best part of our stay was the nespresso machine, complimentary water, and chocolates for our special occasion celebration.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We called in advance to make sure the property was 'family friendly' and while many say they are, few really mean it. My youngest was turning three and I asked Linda at Concierge to assist with decorations. She found balloons, a Minnie Mouse cake and cookies and milk to be in our room upon our arrival. Our little one was absolutely delighted. We were upgraded to a suite and dinner at the restaurant was casual and accommodating for the children. An unexpected gift arrived after dinner to our room with a card to The birthday girl with signatures from staff on duty. A very special touch. We will stay here again for certain and I would recommend this hotel to anyone for any occasion.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just left the Quin hotel after a long weekend in NYC. Trust me, I don't know why this hotel is listed above 3 stars. My biggest complaint, hotel rooms don't have an individual thermostat. We were a bit cold the first night and the maintenance staff brought us a space heater! Seriously, I've NEVER had to use a space heater in a hotel room, it was pathetic. My second complaint, our hotel room was facing an ugly wall so we were completely without natural light all weekend. Ive stayed in other hotels in NYC where the view wasn't great but I've always been able to see sunlight. Very Depressing. And my third complaint, the entire hotel smells like cheap cologne. The smell is SO overpowering that it makes me think they're hiding something. If you're looking for a 5-star or 4-star hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I are sad to leave after an amazing anniversary weekend at the beautiful Quin hotel in NYC. The people, artwork, decoration, food and overall experience at the quin is exceptional. Roger the hotel manager graciously upgraded us for our special anniversary getaway and the attaché were beyond any concierge we have ever seen -- they arranged dinners, shows, galleries and everything to make it a perfect NYC experience. Can't wait to come back next anniversary!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to the Quin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the Quin

Address: 101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — the Quin 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quin, New York City's newest luxury lifestyle hotel, is located on the corner of 57th Street and 6th Avenue. At the intersection of art, music, and fashion, the privileged Midtown location of this 208-room hotel provides effortless access to Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and Fifth Avenue couture. Now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your the Quin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel New York City
Buckingham New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Quin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.