We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the Quin

Save Saved
You added the Quin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
the Quin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Special
Ranked #32 of 449 hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Quin is exceptional. The staff, from the doormen to the check in to the housekeeping were fantastic. The rooms are right on trend with bedding that is so comfortable you don't want to get out.
The Quin's proximity to everything was great. ... Central Park around the corner as with subway station.
Have stayed in more expensive hotels in New York City but The Quin is by far the best!!
The staff also make a stay at The Quin one to remember.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    53
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
67
126
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 days in the end of June for Business. Hotel is very conveniently located on 57th st. My welcome at checkin was first class. When arriving at my room (905) I was quite supprised at hwo cramped it was, it was so small that it was impossible to open a normal 24 inch suitcase on the floor anywhere exept right in the passageway. What made matters worse was the window mounted air conditioning units. This was extremely noisy, and absolutely not expected in a 5 star hotel, The window faced an old internal shaft .
I went back down to the lobby and asked for a different room but for that evening they were booked solid but they promised me they would get me a new room the next day. I was moved to 915 the next day, this was a nice room facing 57th st. It was larger, but not large. Some of the same problems here with the airconditioning, very noisy. the hotel also has very old windows that are not double insolated so there is a lot of trafic noise. I am sure this is worse at lower floors.

The hotel interiors are beautiful and the rooms are beutifully appointed, bathrooms as well. A lot of cool tecknical features that I really enjoyed.

All in all, the staff was great, hotel and rooms are beautiful, the reason this hotel only got 3 stars from me is the following:
1. air Conditioning Units that are very noisy
2. Small Rooms
3 Old windows that dont protect against noise from the steet.

This is not a 5 star in my view because of the issues above

I noticed some people are mentioning that NYC hotel rooms are small. I travel to the city several tmes a year and this is absolutely not my impression, usually if you stay in 4 or five star hotels they are quite roomy.

If the hotesl get a New AC solution, Double insulated windows and join and convert some of the smaller rooms to Junior suites I would come back, otherwise not.

Free wifi worked great all over the hotel

Room Tip: Avoid any floor room ending in 05
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I travel to NYC several times a year but this was a special experience. This was my first time staying at the Quin (recommendation from a colleague at work) and will definitely be staying again. I will admit the rooms are small but are spaced well. My only complaint is the air conditioning. Very loud! The Quin itself is immaculate. While many places in NYC seem to stop caring about the presentation of the property in the early mornings, such as room service littering the hallways, the Quin was a pleasant surprise as it seems to pride itself on presentation. But the true highlight of this hotel is the staff. Traveling to top tier hotels in NYC you expect a certain level of service but the staff at the Quin truly takes it to a new level. First, Dolly at the front desk amazing. I had arrived at the Quin after a delayed fight and late for a meeting. Dolly expediated my check-in and had a car for me within 5 minutes! Second, Lauren, the attach, was amazing! My wife arrived the following day and I was lost without a place to dine. "Not a problem, I"ll handle it." she said. Within no time Lauren had set us up at exclusive restaurant for an amazing evening. In short for an individual that travels: comfortable rooms, beautiful hotel and great service. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Michael l, thank you for your great review! I am honored to share your thoughts with Dolly, Lauren, and the entire team, as we do indeed take great pride in our presentation and services. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is perfect, within walking distance of some of the sights, bus tours, and easy access to taxi's and subways. The rooms are very comfortable. Love love love the espresso machine in the rooms, fluffy bath towels, just really comfy. The bed was soooo comfortable....didn't want to get up in the morning! The most impressive aspect was the staff....all staff. No matter who you run into or have an interaction with, that person is friendly, courteous, and very professional. By far, one of the best hotel's I've ever been in. Highly recommend it. They will treat you so well!

Room Tip: Definitely have a meal in their restaurant...fabulous! Room we had had a great view off the main en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 2 days ago
IDA V, thank you for your amazing review and recommendation! I am very proud to read that you were impressed with our staff, above all. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and is was everything you expect in a 5 star hotel. We had the deluxe room and had a good amount of space. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are very nice. We looked at the superior room and I would say don't get anything less than the deluxe because you get added room and you get a city view. The fitness room has the most high tech equipment and weights. The hotel is in a great location, minutes from 5th ave and Central Park. The bellman is always waiting at the door opening it for you. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help. Will stay here again

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Cruisetraveler3, thank you for your excellent review! We're so glad to have exceeded your expectations during your 4 day trip to New York City, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Quin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good afternoon! Staying at The Quin was a superlative hotel experience! I must rave. I have never been treated with greater respect, care and warmth from a team of winning first class people in my life. Luciana was so warm and welcoming upon my arrival. Frankly the entire staff was beyond excellent. I honestly felt they cared about my stay and my welfare here in NY. The beautiful and tasteful surroundings, technology and exquisite artwork only added to the experience. The cleanliness of the room and the service was outstanding. I wish I could somehow extend a gift to all the people who made this unquestionably the finest and most unforgettable stay in all my years of travel. It's clear from leadership to all parties who attend to guest's needs, this is a brilliant, shining example of how a hotel should be run. Thank you so very much!!! I quote the conversation I had with your staff upon leaving, "I am as passionate about your hotel as your staff!" Your hotel is quintessentially the best of the best!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 2 days ago
marygK3747GV, I am deeply honored by your superlative review. It's incredibly inspiring to read such heartfelt thoughts about your experience. Thank you so much for your generous feedback. Your words and patronage are truly a gift to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is well located at 57th and 6th Avenues--two great subway stations each a block away, Central Park 2 blocks away, and all the shops on 5th Avenue nearby, too. We were able to walk to all the midtown New York highlights. The rooms are beautiful and quite comfortable with easy to operate draperies and lights, the hotel staff is very service-oriented, and there is a wonderful restaurant adjacent to the lobby with a very local-feeling atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Martha R, thank you for your great review! We're delighted to read that you were able to fully take advantage of our location and that you appreciated our service-oriented staff. We hope to welcome you back to the Quin during your next visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to the Quin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the Quin

Address: 101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in New York City
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#24 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — the Quin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quin, New York City's newest luxury lifestyle hotel, is located on the corner of 57th Street and 6th Avenue. At the intersection of art, music, and fashion, the privileged Midtown location of this 208-room hotel provides effortless access to Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and Fifth Avenue couture. Now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your the Quin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel New York City
Buckingham New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Quin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.