We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience at the Quin Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the Quin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added the Quin to your Saves list
the Quin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Cornwall, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing experience at the Quin Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

As a frequent traveler, I have the opportunity to stay at many wonderful hotels around the world, but as a stranded traveler last night in NYC, I happened to find a room at the Quin. Although I was exhausted and cranky, the atmosphere of the hotel upon entering the lobby was serene and beautifully designed with great artwork and I felt my blood pressure lower just a bit. Things continued to improve with the very attentive and gracious staff who helped with the check in and then total relaxation set in upon entering my room. The rooms are beautifully appointed with Frette robes and linens, Fresh toiletries, Nespresso machine and luxurious Duxiana beds. There is also an excellent restaurant next door ( the Wayfarer ) which I highly reccomend as well... There are many hotels in NYC and the experience at The Quin showed me that they are working very hard to be outstanding in the crowded hotel field and really earn your business! I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
robinsonsummerfield, thank you very much for your amazing review. We are delighted we were able to welcome you to the Quin, where our gracious team and arts program certainly strive to provide the relaxing experience you describe. It's gratifying to have earned your loyalty through our outstanding service. Thank you again. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    133
    48
    16
    9
See reviews for
187
274
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Quin did not disappoint other than the first night where my daughter and I were taken to a room that couldn't even accommodate a room service trolley and on the 4th floor only to be woken by delivery trucks at 5am! We were moved the next day but had to wait all day to be moved. The staff here are delightful and helpful. The hotel has one restaurant The Wayfarer which is great for breakfast. The Quin is situated perfectly from the Park, shops and restaurants in midtown.

It's a smaller hotel but perfectly formed.

One negative is that the aircon is very noisy.

We will definitely return.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Bkemsley, thank you for your delightful review and for allowing us to attend to your concerns during your stay. We are very grateful you gave us the opportunity to introduce you to the Quin and to earn your loyalty. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The location is impeccable.
5 Minutes walk to Carnegie Hall, and
to MOMA, and with subway stop just across the street,
it is wonderful.
The Rooms are well appointed and they have slippers ready for you.

The restaurant is so so,
and nothing to talk about.

The Staff are so efficient that noboy can come close in NYC.

Room Tip: Choose a Room NOT facing 57th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
HongKong1234, thank you for your wonderful review. We are especially honored by your kind words regarding our efficient staff. We are very proud of our team, and as you say, "nobody can come close in NYC." We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel was recommended to me by Magellan Vacations and they really came through. I had not heard of this hotel and was leery because they were just a few months old. No cause for worry. It is a wonderful place and the staff? Well they are beyond wonderful.....could not have been more friendly, upbeat and accommodating. They made us feel so welcome and the concierge booked us into 2 fabulous restaurants. The beds? Perfect!!! The location? Perfect!!!

Room Tip: Accidentally hit pool review and couldn't change it....there was no pool. I prefer a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Sue L, thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us through the recommendation of Magellan Vacations. We're thrilled to read you had a perfect experience, and we are so grateful for your kind words regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quin in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are just checking out - the rooms are nice but the hotel has lots of kinks to work out to be considered a 4 or 5 star hotel. The biggest issue is the staff is not well trained - we had a disappoint experience with check in - as the check in person was not knowledgable at all, no one showed us how to use the high tech room controls and I requested a quiet room far away from garbage and I was awakened by the garbage trucks emptying trash in the middle of the night - the check in person was clueless to any of this and had difficulty explaining and communicating and was not knowledgable - also the concierge was also clueless. We asked for a place to get our hair blown out and were told that everything would be closed due to Easter ... The next day we asked the same question and were told that they couldn't get us an appointment but that there is a blow dry bar across the street (Not sure why the first concierge didn't know about it) we arrived and learned that they had opened at 9 am. The room we requested was not available so they gave us 2 rooms, which was nice although in order to be accessible to my children we had to keep the doors open to a hallway with light streaming in. The cleaning help was lovely .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Opinioned_traveler, thank you for your review and for taking the time to reach out to me via email. Please allow me to apologize again for the inconveniences you encountered. Your experience was indeed not indicative of the level of perfection you should expect from us, and as discussed, we have implemented an internal retraining because of your feedback. I look forward to personally assisting you upon your return and thank you once more for giving us the opportunity to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just returned from a great stay at the Quin. Location is great, one block from Central Park and away from the noisiest parts but I still did need earplugs every night! Room beautifully clean, great beds. Lovely sheets changed daily, towels white and fluffy and changed twice daily. Wonderfully relaxing after the hustle and bustle of NY streets. Staff polite and helpful and any problems quickly rectified. Minor criticism is that the mini bar and "gifts" arrays take up far too much of the precious storage space. Other than that, nothing but praise.

Room Tip: Our double queen was more spacious than those we were travelling with, but the rooms are quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
chocolateyAberdeen, thank you for your fabulous review! We're so pleased you enjoyed a peaceful stay in New York City and are very grateful for your feedback. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the Quin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This trip was business/pleasure. My husband and I had one of the most incredible times with this hotel staff. The concierge's desk was so helpful, friendly, if they didn't know the answer, they found it for you with a click of their keyboard. The doormen, incredible. The room, the bed, everything was perfect. Check in/Checkout service, easy. We would definatley recommend this hotel to anyone! I have had the pleasure of staying at three separate hotels in New York and not one of them compared to our stay at the Quin! D.Rosenblatt

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor and faced the corner of 57th & 6th Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Diana R, thank you very much for your amazing review and recommendation! It was a pleasure to ensure that you and your husband had an incredible and incomparable experience in New York, and we hope to welcome you back to the Quin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to the Quin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the Quin

Address: 101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — the Quin 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quin, New York City's newest luxury lifestyle hotel, is located on the corner of 57th Street and 6th Avenue. At the intersection of art, music, and fashion, the privileged Midtown location of this 208-room hotel provides effortless access to Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and Fifth Avenue couture. Now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your the Quin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel New York City
Buckingham New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Quin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.