We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with some exceptions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the Quin

Save Saved
You added the Quin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
the Quin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Special
Ranked #31 of 449 hotels in New York City
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent with some exceptions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This five-star hotel has the best staff in the city and a great location in midtown near Central Park. The lobby and common areas are beautiful, and a new restaurant will be opening soon. We stayed in a "deluxe"-level room on the 11th floor. As everyone else has commented, the linens, towels, pillows, and amenities are all first class, and the in-room technology (remote controlled curtains, lights, etc.) was also excellent. We had no problems with noise from the street or adjacent rooms. The bathroom was particularly nice with beautiful tile, a rain-style shower, and bath products from Fresh.

My main concern with the hotel is that the photos posted online are currently not accurate, perhaps because the website is still new and evolving. Our deluxe room was much smaller than we expected, and considerably smaller than the photo for the cheaper "superior"-level room currently posted online. There was no entry or foyer in our room; the door opened directly into the bedroom less than five feet from the corner of the bed. Fortunately the bathroom was a decent size, but the bedroom was too small to be comfortable for the two of us.

If we returned, we'd try to book a "premier" room which is still a bit smaller than the lowest category room in other similar quality hotels (e.g., the Trump Soho), or we'd splurge on a suite. But in my opinion, the great staff more than makes up for the small rooms.

Room Tip: Pay close attention to square footage in the "details" section online; disregard the photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
David_Boston_MA, thank you for your feedback! We are humbled to read that you found our staff to be the best in the city and that we've earned your loyalty based upon your experience with the team! We are indeed in the process of updating our image library, as we we just completed our official photo shoot last week. I would be pleased to personally assist you with booking Premier rooms or suites upon your next visit as well. Please feel free to contact me at hbreuche@thequinhotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    54
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
69
126
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The newly opened and discretely unveiled Quin Hotel features:

* professional, fresh-faced, attentive hospitality

* distinctly upscale, modern guest rooms, with very sexy bathrooms - everything is controlled from a tablet type touchscreen

* a wonderfully classy and central location. The Quin is just a short walk from The Theater District, Madison Avenue, MOMA, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Columbus Circle, Carnegie Hall, Bergdorfs, The Apple Store, shopping shopping, shopping..........and every midtown subway line is within a block or two, this way or that.

* Unobtrusive, easy to deal with boutique property with class.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Ed S, thank you very much for your thoughtful review! We’re privileged to provide the professional, fresh-faced, attentive, and unobtrusive service you expect. We hope to welcome you back to the Quin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, Surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My Bestie and I spent a few days in NYC, before heading out and chose the Quin.
The staff were lovely and as others have mentioned, the hotel is new, beds are very comfy, sheet and linen quality excellent, bathroom was a good size too.
We booked a twin queen room, (all hotels charge loads more than a standard king etc, which really grinds) however, I felt it was a tad small, no room to put both suitcases and a lack of clothes hangers.
We also specified a tub, and the shower was over the bath but it wasn’t great to honest.
We stayed on the 11th floor, and although they have upgraded the rooms, they certainly hadn’t got round to our windows, the noise was unbelievable, and we all know it’s 24 hour city, what sleep!?
We also had the fun experience of the blinds opening by magic at 3am in the morning, they were obviously faulty, and we did mention this to front desk, so I’m sure it will be rectified.
In conclusion, locale is great, staff amazing, room highly furnished, but I wouldn’t stay again, until they soundproof those windows!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
SaffyPig, thank you for feedback. We’re so glad you enjoyed our location, staff, and furnishings, but we sincerely regret that you were at all inconvenienced by the size and position of your room. We would love to have you stay again, and I’d be happy to personally assist you with some of our larger accommodations suitable for friends traveling together, as well as options located away from the street. Please feel free to contact me at hbreuche@thequinhotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had booked 6 nights at The Quin before it had opened, so there were no reviews. We arrived a few days before Christmas and were greeted by very lovely staff. The kids were given a small gift for Christmas and then we were taken up to our rooms. The rooms were all fitted out with the best of everything and were really nice, however they were tiny (and we had a suite!). In the kids bedroom, there was barely any room to walk around the bed, and the ceilings were low so it's claustrophobic.
We ended up checking out the next day and staying at The Four Seasons instead, we got the suite there too and it was huge (but also costs a lot more too!).
Good location, nice rooms, great service, just a bit claustrophobic. I'd recommend people stay there if you don't mind feeling squashed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Amyeade99, thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding our staff and in-room appointments. We regret that the room did not adequately meet your needs for your family holiday, but earning your loyalty is very important to us. Should you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Quin, I would be delighted to personally show you some of our larger suites and connecting accommodations. I can be reached at your convenience at hbreuche@thequinhotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I would like to thank Parker, who met us at the door, Susy, Larissa, Jordan, James, Xhavit and all the others who helped us with restaurants, a scale to weigh luggage and for other suggestions and locations for things we needed. Everyone went above and beyond to help with whatever our request might be. Staying at the Quin was more like staying with friends. All of the staff, no matter where you ran into them, had a smile and wished you a good day. Hats off to Holly, the general manager. Her care in choosing her staff makes the Quinn the best hotel I have had the pleasure to visit.
Lynn S.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Lynn S, thank you for your fabulous review! I will gladly share your regards with Parker, Susy, Larissa, Jordan, James, Xhavit, and the entire team. Thank you also for the kind compliment. I am indeed very proud of this team and all your new friends at the Quin look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Recently stayed at The Quin for a long weekend with family. The lobby, room, concierge and staff were all incredible. First visit to New York, the location was perfect and will definitely be returning to The Quin in the future. Overall an exceptional hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Kalie O, thank you very much for your fabulous review! We're so happy your first visit to New York was exceptional, and we are excited to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Being someone who's new to the city. The Quinn has made the stay a very pleasant one. The staff were ever so friendly and made the whole trip as smooth as possible, and it also seemed as if every staff tried their very hardest to get to know every one of their guest staying at the hotel. One staff in particular went above and beyond for everything his name is Xhavit I suggest for anyone staying at the hotel to ask for his exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Kevinthai, thank you so much for your gracious review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the city. We strongly believe in getting to know our guests so that we can offer truly personal service. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to the Quin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the Quin

Address: 101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — the Quin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quin, New York City's newest luxury lifestyle hotel, is located on the corner of 57th Street and 6th Avenue. At the intersection of art, music, and fashion, the privileged Midtown location of this 208-room hotel provides effortless access to Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and Fifth Avenue couture. Now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your the Quin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel New York City
Buckingham New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Quin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.